We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
78665 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Traveluro
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20-11-06 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20-11-06 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 14 in Winter Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located in Winter Park,CO, the Best Western Alpenglo Lodge is sure to provide a peaceful and comforting home away from home for any traveler. Each Best Western hotel provides free internet access, giving guests the opportunity to check emails and surf the web, all from the comforts of their room or the business center. With cleanliness and value being our top priority, we ensure a restful and productive stay. On top of that, our superior customer service will ensure that we meet all your needs and go beyond your expectations.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Ski rentals
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
709Reviews9Q+A79Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 310
  • 266
  • 97
  • 19
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
laincynthiaj wrote a review Jun. 18
Golden, Colorado1 contribution
Our visit was extremely good. The staff was exemplary. They were able to accommodate our need for an early check-in, which was greatly appreciated. The room was just right, as requested. We would certainly return to this location, as well as other Best Western hotels.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
tknopf wrote a review Aug. 2021
Weston, Wisconsin91 contributions68 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Nancy, the manager of the hotel, provided a group of 18 of us with 7 rooms at the last minute. We had been displaced from our Airbnb at 380 Moose Trail, a home provided by winterparkhouse.com. The unclean environment at the Airbnb, was a great disappointment, but the way were treated by Nancy the manager at this hotel was fantastic. She even offered us a late checkout the next day and was professional and efficient in getting all 18 of us in our rooms. Lesson learned here is sometimes smaller motels offer more than expensive Airbnb homes run by dishonest and unprofessional hosts. Thanks Best Western!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nancy Price, General Manager at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Responded Aug. 12, 2021
Bless you heart, thank you Mr. Knopf, for this wonderful review! I was so happy I could accommodate your group at the last minute and hope that the Airbnb you went to the next day was more to your liking and standards. It can be scary when the lodging facilities you reserved are substandard especially when you pay higher prices for the unit. With Best Western you know you will always receive clean, sanitized accommodations, up to the CDC standards for cleaning now, after COVID. And, at Alpenglo Lodge we treat everyone like family with professional services, and helpful, happy associates to see to all of your needs. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We enjoyed having you and your group stay with us and hope you will consider us for any future trips. Nancy N Price General Manager Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Read more
Eric W wrote a review Jun. 8
Manhattan, KS225 contributions96 helpful votes
Room was clean and comfortable, staff friendly, facility looks to be in good shape. Pricey, but that's to be expected in a resort town. The only real drawback was parking. We were pulling a 20' trailer and there was literally no place we could park. The main lot was closed for refurbishing, but even if it were open, it's pretty small, and the overflow lot is such that larger vehicles or trailers will be very challenging to get in and out, so if you're traveling with a trailer, very large RV, semi, etc, this may not be your best choice. Otherwise though, without a trailer, I'd sure stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
MakatiJoe wrote a review Apr. 2022
Pembroke Pines, Florida997 contributions275 helpful votes
Room was clean and comfortable but cleaning crew were new and did not know what a face or hand towel was. Breakfast was good. All in all a good place yo stay in Winter Park not far from the ski slopes. Also enjoyed snowmobiling and snowshoe hiking!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David T, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Responded Apr. 9, 2022
Sounds like you had some fun on your trip and sorry we missed a couple items in the bathroom. Please know for a future visit that our front desk is attended 24/7 and an agent would have been happy to facilitate getting those items to you. We also stock a variety of "items easy to forget" at the front desk (razors, shave cream, toothbrush, toothpaste, etc.) so feel free to contact them on items of this type during your next stay - - - which hopefully won't be too long from now ;-)
Read more
Misty M wrote a review Apr. 2022
colorado36 contributions12 helpful votes
Nice room, great staff! Nancy Price the manager was great to work with. My husband asked for a room on the first floor and she was glad to accommodate. I got home and had an email from Nancy that I had left my toiletry kit in the room, I was so upset. I called and she was so nice and she is going to ship it to my home. Excellent customer service! We will definitely stay at the Best Western Alpenglow when we are in Winter Park again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from David T, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Responded Apr. 9, 2022
Thank you for such an excellent review. Nancy is a great leader and sets the stage for the overall attitude we try to maintain at the property. We're glad we were able to get your toiletry kit back to you. We look forward to your next visit!
Read more
canyondance6 wrote a review Apr. 2022
Boulder, Colorado1 contribution
Wardrobe door wouldn't stay closed(no closet in room). There was water standing in the tub and sink when we arrived. Did not like that the hot tub required going outside in the cold to a different building. Could hear footsteps and doors opening/closing from other rooms, waking us up. Loud heating system, whose on and off blower woke us up.Hot breakfast had OK sausage and potatoes, poor "scrambled" eggs, bad watered down coffee and hot chocolate , and bad prepackaged pastry. The door to our room had a broken lock. Liked that there was an extra shelf in the bathroom for toiletries. Bed was comfotable. Nice guy at the front desk. A low average room quality overall. For the price, I expected more.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from David T, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Responded Apr. 9, 2022
Please accept our collective apology for not living up to your expectations. The maintenance issues you note have been addressed. It appears you did not appreciate our breakfast offerings but would encourage the reader to see other reviews on this topic. It appears you are from Colorado, where more than half of all hot tubs are located outside, so a short walk in the cool mountain air hopefully wasn't too uncomfortable to you. We'd love for you to give us another try!
Read more
mlynmatt wrote a review Mar. 2022
1 contribution
This was a nice hotel, breakfast was great. It is a little pricey for what we have paid for other hotels on our monthlong road trip but it was due to the location- a beautiful ski town in the Rocky Mountains.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from David T, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Responded Apr. 9, 2022
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts on our property. While price is an important consideration when choosing a hotel, our focus is on providing value. We are in a popular resort area during spring break, so rates are a little higher than normal. Come see us in the middle of May or October for the lowest prices of the year ;-) Stay safe in your travels!
Read more
Nicococure wrote a review Mar. 2022
Bedford, Texas287 contributions67 helpful votes
The Best Western Alpenglow was family and budget friendly for our spring break ski trip. It’s a short drive from Winter Park resort, a one block walk to Hideaway Park sledding hill, and a block or two to nearby restaurants. At our check-in, the clerk made a mistake with our card, and after several minutes of trying to get us to use a different card, needed help from another clerk to fix his mistake. Other than this, the front desk staff during our stay was responsive and nice. We didn’t use room cleaning by housekeeping, but they provided fresh towels and soap when we needed them. The lobby and rooms are adequate for a budget lodge, but not luxurious or deluxe as described online. There was a ceiling leak in the lobby with a bucket for a few days. Beds and pillows were clean. Unfortunately, the mattresses were not supportive and the rooms were small. The microwave and mini fridge worked fine. Breakfast was included and convenient, and it was nice to be able to enjoy a hot cup of tea or cocoa in the evenings. Overall, this hotel was suitable for our needs. With rooms going at a premium on spring break, we were glad to have found a place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from David T, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Responded Apr. 9, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased the hotel met your needs, but our goal is to exceed guest expectations. While the word "deluxe" is indeed used to describe different room types, we do not use the word "luxurious" in any of our marketing or promotional material. I apologize for any misunderstanding there. The leak in the ceiling was an unfortunate incident which has now been addressed. Please come see us again soon!
Read more
ILoveBourbon wrote a review Mar. 2022
Frankfort, Kentucky867 contributions122 helpful votes
I base my stars on the price paid, location, etc. I felt we had a terrific hotel for the price we paid, and had an all around great experience. While housekeeping didn't even entertain that idea of checking us in to a room a couple hours early, the manager did. I understand, but if a room is ready............. anyway, I cannot remember the manager's name, but she was SO sweet and accommodating. I am going to touch on something that I did not find information on before our trip, and that is the included breakfast. It really was a GREAT breakfast for no additional cost. First of all, terrific hot chocolate, coffee and tea available all day. In the morning, they always had waffle station, bread & pastries, yogurts, granola bars, and fruits & juices. Then, they had additional items such as eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy. So, plenty to eat. We enjoyed the access to the ski resort, just walked across the street to the station to catch a bus. Walking distance to multiple restaurants. Clean room with fridge and microwave. We would stay here again for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from David T, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Responded Apr. 9, 2022
What a great review - - - thanks! Your statement about housekeeping not checking you into a room early is a little confusing, since our housekeepers are not the ones checking in our guests. One reason for the possible delay is that all rooms are inspected prior to being cleared for "check-in". The manager mentioned was able to locate a clean and inspected room, allowing you to get settled in a little early. Regardless, we really appreciate your kind comments and the compliments about our breakfast, as we work to exceed the Best Western brand standard in this area. Come see us again soon!
Read more
nicoleornelas9384 wrote a review Mar. 2022
Strasburg, Colorado1 contribution
I would definitely be staying here again. Hot tub is nice and staff is very helpful. Only bad thing is no kids pool. So if you have little kids like me that want to swim you’ll have to find somewhere to swim. But over all great hote comfortable beds. EVEN HAVE ROLL AWAY BEDS!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from David T, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Responded Apr. 9, 2022
Thank you for such a nice review. So happy you enjoyed our beds, as all have been replaced within the last 18 months. While it is true we have a large hot tub and no pool, we do offer complimentary passes to the local recreation center for guests that are interested in that amenity. We look forward to you coming back soon and checking out that facility if the kids still need to take a dip.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$139 - US$210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western alpenglo hotel winter park, best western winter park, winter park best western
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoGrand CountyWinter Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Alpenglo Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Foundry Cinema & Bowl (0.09 km), Hideaway Park (0.5 km), and Ullrs Tavern (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Alpenglo Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pepe Osaka's Fishtaco, Deno's Mountain Bistro, and Randi's Irish Grill & Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Best Western Alpenglo Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Winter Park.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Best Western Alpenglo Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Best Western Alpenglo Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.