We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Alpenglo Lodge

Visit hotel website
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (6)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Pool
Business Centre with Internet Access
Golf Course
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:BOOK DIRECT & SAVE
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
68Somewhat walkable
Grade: 68 out of 100
33Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
3Attractionswithin 0.5 km
615Reviews
100Photos
8Q+A
77Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 259
  • 243
  • 85
  • 15
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
It was a good hotel at a good price. And just a short drive down from Winter Park Ski Resort. It had a hot breakfast with eggs and sausage. My only complaint was there wasn't enough room for seating and we had to take our food back to the room and eat.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Hotel's Favourite
My family and I spent a few nights in Winter Park last ski season. We left behind my favorite down jacket (at the time) and contacted the front desk to ask hem if they could send it. They did not, but this weekend, months after our last visit Carol looked for it in the L&F and
Read more
Response from BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Responded Dec. 10, 2018
Thank you for letting us add yet another exemplary "customer service" example to our records. There are so many examples of how our staff goes the extra mile - - - your acknowledgement of their efforts is very much appreciated. When will we be seeing you next?
Read more
A great place if your planning on skiing, only 5 minutes to Winter Park base, a couple of good restaurants close (highly recommend Smokey's BBQ and Randi's Pub). Front desk staff very friendly and helpful and the rooms very well done, clean and comfortable. The free breakfast
Read more
This hotel benefits from being convenient and pet friendly - they must have a lot of first time visitors and very few return guests. The initial reception was friendly, helpful and proud of the hotel and everything else was awful. Rooms are very small, dated and not practical
Read more
Response from BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Whew- really sorry you did not have a pleasant experience as so many of our guests do (a high percentage of them "returning"). Breakfast the day of your stay was a challenge as a team member called in sick -- hard to control that. Otherwise, your review is inaccurate in a several ways, but want to point out the most glaring. All guest rooms were fully updated 12 months ago (new furniture, art, other decor, etc.). If not to your taste, that is understood, but they are certainly not dated and intentionally not "any airport hotel USA" but more in the theme of our Alpine environment. We are always making accommodations for our guests if we can, but a sold out weekend is very difficult to do so, as a late check-out may jeopardize a future guest's on-time check-in. That said, your comments about an arguing staff will absolutely be investigated. Finally the Link (properly called the Lift) does not have named stops, rather a number of "color identified" routes that circulate the valley. There is a route map at the front desk and our knowledgeable staff would gladly assist identifying which color route one should take - - - a function of where you want to end up. Doesn't sound like you'll be staying with us again, but would encourage the reader to investigate other traveler reviews.
Read more
Keith at Alpenglo in Winter Park Colo was the best. Checked us in, made accommodations and changes, made our trip and stay to ski the Stagecoach Nordic ski race the absolute best. We will be back...all 6 of us! And we will bring friends!!! Thank you! KjMcD
Read more
Response from BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
What a fun review to read! We work hard to make all the standard things above average (cleanliness, decor, breakfast) - - - but it is the staff that truly makes a difference. Look forward to seeing you and your "friends" soon!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Nice
Two Queen
AC
PreviousNext
1234569
Yes -- you are welcome to take your ski/board equipment to the rooms. There is a "holder/pegs" immediately inside the door for this use. Easier for unit to hold skis than boards, but you can find a location elsewhere in the room for those. Let us know of any other questions you might have!
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello- Yes - - - - there is a free shuttle which you pick up right outside the hotel. It is called "the Lift". Schedules and routes can be found searching "The Lift Winter Park" on-line. I'm unable to include a link here (TripAdvisor rule). Other ways to move around the area (for a fee): 1) Valley Taxi - (Search that name, adding Winter Park). You should call in advance, (970) 726-4940, as they request a 24 hour notice (but not required). 2) Uber - We've had service on and off for a while, so believe it is a good option during the winter. I would strongly suggest you verify it's availability in advance of your visit. Hope that helps!
0 votes
Yes! There are many restaurants in the area and some shopping too!
0 votes
Show all answers
The most direct route to the hotel from DIA is using Home James (Search Google for Home James Transportation - can't post websites on TripAdvisor) or call 800-359-7503. They have a frequent schedule to our area and drop you off/pick up right at the hotel. Many of our guests find our central downtown location (on Free shuttle route to ski area, walking distance to 25 various restaurants & clubs, ski shop on site) makes a personal vehicle unnecessary. For discounted lift tickets, I'd suggest calling King Soopers (area grocery store chain) at their Applewood Store: 3400 Youngfield St., Wheat Ridge, CO 80033, (303) 238-6486. You'll need to ask them what their prices are since I'm unable to reference that information. This location is just off I-70 on your way to the Resort (unfortunately, Home James can not stop there). You can also search for Get Ski Tickets who offer discounted ticket rates on select dates. Hope that helps!
2 votes
Show all answers
Hello- Unfortunately we do not have a shuttle van, but there are a few easy ways to get to our property from the Fraser train station: 1) Take "the Lift", our community transit system (no charge). From the train station you'll need the "Black line". Schedules and routes can be found searching "The Lift Winter Park" on-line. I'm unable to include a link here (TripAdvisor rule). 2) Valley Taxi - (Search that name, adding Winter Park). I checked their website which still has summer information on it, but you should call in advance anyway as they request a 24 hour notice. 3) Uber - We've had service on and off for a while, so believe it is a good option during the winter. Not being a client or "app user", not sure how to verify it's availability during your visit. Hope that helps!
1 vote
PreviousNext
12
"We were on the 3rd floor at the end of the hallway, very quiet."
"I don't have a tip to offer"
"top floor is the quietest"
"Great location and transport nearby"
"We were on the first floor and had more noise than I prefer from outside (like cars in the parking lot)"
PreviousNext
12345616
PRICE RANGE
US$119 - US$254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western alpenglo hotel winter parkbest western winter parkwinter park best western
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoWinter Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
54
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing