We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 204: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I really like this hotel. The front desk staff is always accommodating and friendly. What stands out at this hotel to me is the service that the bartender (Terry) gives. She is always so nice to everyone that she is serving and knows everybody's name....whether they are there once a year or once a month. Overall, the top notch service...

Thank Michael D
Salem, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room smelled like mold. It took two hours to get a burger because there was only one chef yet the hotel was fully booked. My children went to the desk to get candy bars 3. Different times, the same candy bars were a different price each time. The pool was full but there were no towels. My husband gave...

1Thank Jadtino
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very well received at the reception by smiling and happy speaking receptionists. We got a nice room, but missing a few things in the room, including soap and toilet paper. It was obviously delivered with a great excuse. The hotel is well and centrally located, and it's easy to get to and from the hotel and on highways.

Thank ReenFri
Reviewed 2 November 2016

When we arrived at the hotel, all seemed well and good. Arrived to our room (801) and we were hit with the overwhelming smell of smoke and mildew. We were on our way out to dinner and let the girl at the front desk know that we would be back in a couple hours and that we would like for...

1Thank Karlene W
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear Karlene W, Thank you for choosing our brand and we are grateful for the time you've invested in posting an informative feedback. We are sorry to hear that the room allocated was not to your liking and that you were met with disappointments with our front desk and restaurant staff. We strive to live up to our brand standards...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Booking claimed 3.5 stars, but definitely not more than 2.5. Clean enough, but nothing special. Broken frame on the art in the bathroom, coffee maker cord had to be run across the desk to plug in, only decaf provided, tissue box empty, one key card doesn't work. All were remedied on request by the friendly front desk staff, but that...

1Thank Daniel H
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear Daniel H, Your insights are important to us and we appreciate your visit at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, CT. It is good to know that our front desk staff was able to assist you promptly and that you found your room to be well-kept. However, we are sorry to hear that the bathroom was unexceptional and that the...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We were so pleased to find the staff of the Holiday Inn in Hartford so remarkably kind and helpful. From the check-in staff to the dining room staff, everyone was more than happy to help and quick to offer a smile. The room was large and, for the most part, clean. My partner noticed that the rug could have used...

Thank Sue W
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The receptionist was great, she explained to us where everything was. She was friendly, but professional. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable and spacious. I would definitely stay there again if I needed a hotel room in the Hartford area.

Thank Holly L
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Very nice hotel with friendly restaurant and bar staff Room is comfortable. No fridge or microwave in the room. Shower was nice with full flow adjustment and lots of hot water. Location was convenient to route two and a nice location setting

Thank Turbinator223456
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The published check in time is 3:00pm but we were informed our room was not ready. We were eventually allowed into our room well after 4:00pm. There was a similar problem for several other visitors who also had lengthy waits, and several of them were getting very agitated. It would seem that staffing levels, and /or management, need a drastic...

1Thank IAN B
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear IAN B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for the level of service you received from our staff. Your feedback is...

Hicksville, New York
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

To start i will say that i am a spire elite member with years of business travel. Ive stayed at numerous IHG branded hotels in my career . I will try to be honest yet fair in my assessment of this - the worst holiday inn ive ever stayed at. Everything was okay upon arrival and i was greeted by...

1Thank Rob K
Bryanna R, Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Thank you for contacting the hotel Holiday Inn regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologize for the experienced you had. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (18)
Bathroom (3)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (39)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Room/Suite (18)
Dining (6)
Bathroom (1)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hartford
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
1.2 km away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
989 reviews
1.0 km away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#6 of 11 in Hartford
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
1.7 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
3.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Easily accessible from Interstates 91 and 84 and located only 12 miles from Bradley International Airport, Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area features 215 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites. Additionally, there is more than 7,200 square feet of meeting and event spaces. Plus a restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area

Address: 100 E River Dr, East Hartford, CT 06108-3233 (Formerly Hartford Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > Connecticut > East Hartford
Price Range: $132 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel East Hartford
Sheraton East Hartford
East Hartford Sheraton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I will not stay here again and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I will be sending a letter stating this.”
 of 5 bubbles Jadtino, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles karlenew2014, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Extra Nice pillows”
 of 5 bubbles Turbinator223456, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the drink / ice machines”
 of 5 bubbles Eupms, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on second floor, so you don't have to wait for an elevator. Use the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Explorer100, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay