Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (96)
Guest Room
Room & Suite (51)
Restaurant
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#2 of 5 hotels in New London
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Holiday Inn-New London has expertly managed facilities and staff offering 100% guest satisfaction.Located just one mile off I-95 in New London, midway between Boston & New York, 2 blocks from the Amtrak Station, Orient Point, Long Island & Block Island Ferries, 15 minutes from the Groton-New London Airport, 45 minutes from T.F. Green Airport & Bradley Airport.The Holiday Inn-New London offers 120 well-appointed guestrooms, including four deluxe suites. Rooms are available with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and iron boards. We have an elegant Grand Ballroom with flexible meeting and banquet space for up to 300 people. La Luna handles up to 150 for cocktail parties, also our Eagle Room or Board Room for more intimate meetings or private dinners. Enjoy our indoor heated pool and Fitness Center. La Luna Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner in an atmosphere conducive to both business and casual dining.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

35 Governor Winthrop Boulevard, New London, CT 06320
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 83 out of 100
83
New Haven Airport
66.9 km
See all flights
Brainard Airport
62.5 km
See all flights
New London Station
6 min
307Reviews10Q+A56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 78
  • 102
  • 58
  • 36
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
mkatelong wrote a review Oct 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very surprised by other reviews we read on TripAdvisor. We did stay on the fifth floor. One room had no noise during the evening, the other room could hear trains passing at night. The rooms were large, clean, and had everything you would need. Towels and linens were in excellent shape. I would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert L wrote a review Jun 2021
Muncie, Indiana
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Okay. Let’s start off with the positive. The bed was clean.

Understaffed ( just wait until you try to get breakfast). Dirty carpets and corners. Brutalist cross between a bomb shelter and WWII pillbox. Weird stuff floating in pool (as a former whaling town, maybe it was blubber?). Vending machines empty or broken on 5th AND 4th floors. And this place isn’t cheap, but looks cheap.

This is the only real choice downtown. Near city hall, next door to the Salvation Army (vintage clothes shopping?) and close to Tony D’s restaurant—so you may leave Tony’s too drunk to care about the hotel.
Soooo, do the happy hour downstairs, get the bottled water from vending machines on a floor that works, and close the blackout curtains on your tiny porthole of a window. Good night mateys!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Bring a car—it makes it easier to leave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jul 3, 2021
Hello, Bellearti100! Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It's disappointing that we did not live up to your expectations because of the hotel upkeep, staff service, and hotel amenities. The situations you have described are not what we expect from any of our properties, or the experience we want you to have. I'm so sorry for all the trouble. I'll share your thoughts with our hotel management team as a reference for improvements. I hope we get the chance to serve you again and create a better experience for you in the future. Warm thoughts, Deborah R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mikadalia wrote a review Jun 2020
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Check in was smooth and the receptionist was extremely helpful and friendly. When we checked into our room, it had a faint cigarette smell (the hotel is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel). When I called the front desk, the agent immediately switched our rooms for us. The 2nd room was clean, and on the same floor, so we didn’t need to travel far to switch rooms. We didn’t have any other issues that first night there. The 2nd night was a completely different story. I took my son to the beach that day for his first time and we were gone for most of the day. and when we got back to the hotel, we just wanted to shower, eat, relax and hopefully go to sleep. I got my son to bed around 830pm and it wasn’t long after that that a party bus full of loud drunk people showed up to the property, dropping these guests back off. And just as luck would have it, one of their rooms was right next door. From the time until they got back until 1230am, they had their music in their room on full blast, and were yelling to each other talking...this woke us up multiple times. I called the Front Desk who had stated they were going to go up to the room to tell them they needed to keep it down. Throughout the loud music, I could hear the phone ringing in the room multiple times, which makes me assume that I was not the only person complaining. After the first few complaints, I would have simply refunded these guests and asked them to find other accommodations (I’ve worked in the hospitality industry and know this can be done), especially since their quiet hours begin at 10pm and this was violated. It’s clear that this policy is not enforced. It all came to a head when some of the guests decided to leave that room and go to their separate rooms, and one of the drunk guests stood in the hallway with another guest and was screaming lines from South Park, and was yelling about how he was told he and the other guests were being too loud. Another guest went in the hallway and told him to go to his room because their child was also woken up, and he argued. Someone from the front desk finally came upstairs again at this point. Due to all of the noise, we had such an awful night of sleep, and my son was miserable the following day, which made for an unpleasant experience. The hotel did apologize for the noise, and gave us 2 breakfast vouchers because of it. Was it enough? No. But it was a nice gesture.

We had another reservation booked here, and I’m hoping that quiet hours and hotel policy are enforced this time around, so that everyone can pleasantly enjoy their stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jul 13, 2020
Good Day mikadalia! It’s great to receive feedback from our visitors. Thank you for your time and effort to give yours and for staying in our hotel. I’m sorry to hear that you found the stench of the first room off-putting and that you were bothered by the noise from other guest rooms. We’re all about giving a combined sense of comfort and happiness. I’m worried that you have a different impression on us. The review of our guests helps us in creating action plans for improvement. I relayed yours to our management team, and you can trust that they won't take your concerns lightly. We're excited about your return so we can turn the table around and give you the joy of travel. Stay safe, Leni C. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mike s wrote a review Jun 2021
endicott
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was very clean and well stocked. Masks are required inside. Housekeeping will clean your room if staying 4 days or longer because of covid restrictions. The staff are very friendly and will get you anything you need due to the reduced housekeeping. The restaurant inside the hotel is excellent, a little on the high side regarding prices, but I suppose, expected.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HeleneDC wrote a review Oct 2020
DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Large rooms, high ceilings in lobby and rooms, cleanliness, and “resting rooms” between guests make this hotel comfortable for guests during COVID.

The large pool is great for arthritic seniors and families with kids.

We enjoyed an excellent meal from the colocated restaurant which we ate in our room - Italian.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Skip B wrote a review Jan 2020
Green Valley, Arizona
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s conveniently located in downtown New London, walking distance to the train station. The Italian restaurant inside is actually pretty good for a Hotel restaurant. The hotel however is in desperate need of maintenance. Poorly patched holes in the walls, drains run slow, all faucets leak, the shower is nearly impossible to turn on, the Heating system keep switching to cooling mode. They advertise that in 2008 they won a remodeling award, but it looks like they haven’t done any maintenance since. They sent a maintenance guy up to our room, but since he couldn’t speak English, the staff couldn’t tell him what needed to be done.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded Feb 1, 2020
Hello 33skipb, Thank you for your stay. We aim to keep on improving to serve you better, so I appreciate your feedback about your recent lodging experience. I am sorry to learn about the issues encountered with the bathroom and in-room heating system. I have shared your comments with the hotel management, and I trust that the steps taken will make your future stays with us better than the last. I hope you stay with us again! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Evelyn G wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is very clean. They are taking various COVID measures like plexi glass at the check in counter and hand sanitizer in the lobby. The manager was very friendly during check out! The rooms are spacious and clean. The pool is open from 830am to 830pm!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking lot available
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew B wrote a review Aug 2020
Somerville, Massachusetts
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This property is conveniently located to New London's downtown / waterfront area, including the train station. The staff is professional, helpful and friendly. I had a room with one queen sized bed. The room was spacious; even if I had someone with me, we would have had plenty of space to rest, spread out, etc. The bed was very comfortable. The water got hot quickly and stayed hot throughout bathing. The water pressure was good as well. The property is well maintained. This hotel is not a five star location. Yet, it is a very good three star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FastForward1 wrote a review Jul 3
Ballston Spa, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I reserved three night stays (two rooms) June 14 - June 16. The total rate paid for each room; $327. X’s 3.

Nobody, absolutely nobody, is paying $327 for a room at this hotel. I am a points member and have stayed at Holiday Inn’s nearly
I have never been scammed to this level,ever. I often, including this time, ask where the better rate is with online resellers or directly with the hotel and they confirmed that I should reserve directly with the hotel. Well that prove to be a horrible mistake! Apparently, the phrase “Best Price Guarantee
when you book with us”
Is just more BS!!
Aside from the fee issue; if the fee was $188. the online publish fee my review would be the same.
The room had one small window overlooking a black tarred roof.
The body wash dispensers did not function.
There was no literature, absolutely none … take out food delivery… restaurant hours.. pool hours… Church options, etc.
At 6:00 pm a family occupied the settees near the front desk…. A child was screaming continuously, his Mother was laughing exclaiming “Isn’t he cute”. No one interjected … the kid just kept it up.
I occupied a room on the second floor. After 10:15 pm several youngsters raced up and down the hall yelling and laughing loudly. Several calls to the front desk went unanswered. We endured.
Lastly, breakfast was mostly not edible. Eggs were really tasty… synthetic ham, pancakes, potatoes, were all horrendous.
The one woman working buffet was doing a great job but was seriously overworked. We skipped breakfast the second day.

The statement below that Holiday Inn broadcasts apparently it’s just fluff..

Best Price
Guarantee
when you book with us.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Schneider wrote a review Jul 2021
Summit, New Jersey
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I made a reservation for June 14 which I canceled two days later. The hotel charged me and denied refunding me the money. Whoever took my call at the reservation desk obviously did not do their job so they refused to refund the money.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jul 28, 2021
Dear Michael S, Some rates are non-flexible, which means that they have higher cancellation penalties. I have sent you a private message to help you find out what happened with the cancellation of your booking. I'm sorry to see you had this bad experience with us. Thank you for choosing our establishment as your first option. We strive to provide the safest and most enjoyable experience for everyone. I hope we can regain your trust in the future and show you we can do better. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from oncearoundtwice
Summerville, South Carolina260 contributions79 helpful votes
There are two elevators, at our time of stay one was out of order and between two of us I took elevator and other person took stairs - they made it to floor before me. Either Staff was holding it up or it is very, very ~s l o w ~ .. Did not use restaurant , but it did seem to be quiet full during our stay. 5th floor for us so it was pretty quiet. It is conveniently located to area events and attractions does not charge for parking and the staff is friendly .
hrandon asked a question Feb 2017
Bakewell, United Kingdom1 contribution
What time is breakfast served? Thanks for your response.
Answer from JeanYves1962
Figueres, Spain533 contributions70 helpful votes
If I remember well, breakfast is from 6h30 to 9h30 during the week.
hrandon asked a question Nov 2016
Bakewell, United Kingdom1 contribution
Do the rooms have a safe?
Answer from Brenda B
Westerly, Rhode Island, United States
We do not have safes in our rooms but we do have safe deposit boxes at front desk.
tom n asked a question Oct 2016
are pets allowed
Answer from danburymama
Danbury, Connecticut15 contributions6 helpful votes
Not sure, I didn't see any when we stayed there. I think it's better to call the hotel directly.
Virginiatraveler3620 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Hawaii32 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beds were comfortable; staff are friendly and very helpful; food and drinks were delicious"
Read full review
Susesuse wrote a tip May 2024
Cape Elizabeth, Maine349 contributions66 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid rooms at the front of the building"
Read full review
Robin S wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Terrible customer service!!! Can’t even keep the room your booked!!!"
Read full review
Virginia O wrote a tip Nov 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t make requests thinking you’ll be accommodated they don’t care!"
Read full review
ADKWoman wrote a tip Sep 2023
Adirondacks, NY State39 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is totally fine - but the restaurant is strange. I would skip breakfast."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New London area.
PRICE RANGE
C$194 - C$346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
new london radisson, radisson new london
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
New London Plaza Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesConnecticutMystic CountryNew London
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cross Sound Ferry Lighthouse Cruises (0.4 km), Garde Arts Center (0.1 km), and Whaling Wall (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Muddy Waters Cafe, Tony D's, and Hot Rod Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of New London.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Trumbull State Park (1.4 km), Thames River Heritage Park (0.6 km), and Nathan Hale Schoolhouse (0.4 km).
All New London HotelsNew London Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in New LondonHotels near Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars