We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-11-05 2017-11-06
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Algoa Guest House

    87 Brighton Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    -- / -- / --Check In -- / -- / --Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    US$58
    US$58
    Traveller (39)
    Room & Suite (24)
    Dining (6)
    Overview
    • Excellent68%
    • Very good26%
    • Average4%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “calm area” (2 reviews)
    “guest house” (14 reviews)
    “basset hound” (2 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Beachfront
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Airport Transportation
    Suites
    Kitchenette
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    Nov 5Nov 6
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$58
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$58
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$58
      View Deal
    View all 11 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (192)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 170 reviews

    Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

    The food is great in the morning. Place for the car to stand inside. Nice staff. Comfortable bed. Full kitchenette in the room with snacks, wine and beer. Internet not to good but might be weather dependent.More

    Thank Ania B
    Response from Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest HouseResponded 3 days ago

    Hello Ania, Thanks for your nice review. We are glad that you were comfortable and enjoyed your breakfast! Not sure what was going on with the internet when you were here because we do have a permanent fixed line which is the fastest available (as...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    This guest house was the perfect place for our week in Port Elizabeth. Excellent, kind, engaging and helpful owners; wonderful breakfast; family friendly; great location near the beach, shopping and restaurants; neat and clean self-catering rooms- it was our home away from home. Can't say...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Karene B
    Response from Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest HouseResponded 4 days ago

    Hello Karene, Wow, thank you for such a fabulous review! It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your family and we are glad that everything fitted in with your expectations. We are looking forward to your next visit to AGH! Best regards, Roger, Lisa...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    We had the best stay and will recommend this Guest house to anyone. Our room was spotless and the owners were very kind and helpful! Breakfast was also amazing! We will definitely stay at Algoa Guest House every time we go to Summerstrand.More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank sunelled2017
    Response from Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest HouseResponded 5 days ago

    Dear Sunelle, Thanks for your lovely review! We are glad you had a good stay here and that you enjoyed your breakfast (must be something to do with those yummy eggs we get from a farm in Port Alfred - I will be sure to...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Super close to the beach front, WiFi access (good speed). Rooms neat as a pin with everything you'll need for a night or two.Good options for breakfast and a OK selection of TV channels. A comfortable night's stay.

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Z1624RYanony
    Response from Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest HouseResponded 5 days ago

    Thanks so much for the super review! We are so glad you had a comfortable stay at Algoa Guest House and we look forward to your next visit! Best regards, Roger and Lisa

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    The area around Algoa Guesthouse is very tranquil and only 5mins away from the beach. The hosts were great as well. I liked the idea of their 'honesty bar' because it shows just the kind the kind of people they are: very honest to their...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank atangtlali
    Response from Lisa and Roger L, Owner at Algoa Guest HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

    Hello Atang, We are so glad that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your stay. Best regards, Lisa and Roger

    Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
    981 reviews
    #4 of 13 hotels in Summerstrand
     
    Paxton Hotel
    338 reviews
    #8 of 33 hotels in Port Elizabeth
     
    Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
    275 reviews
    #7 of 13 hotels in Summerstrand
     
    No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
    286 reviews
    #1 of 13 hotels in Summerstrand
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Beachfront
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Airport Transportation
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Microwave
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$61 - US$82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 8
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Algoa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Eastern Cape >
    • Port Elizabeth >
    • Summerstrand
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (39)
    Room & Suite (24)
    Dining (6)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (22)
    Bathroom (9)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Paxton Hotel
    338 reviews
    4.67 km away
     
    Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
    275 reviews
    1.12 km away
     
    No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
    286 reviews
    1.34 km away
     
    Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
    981 reviews
    .60 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    De Kelder
    620 reviews
    1.10 km away
    Charlies Pizza & Pasta Summerstrand
    346 reviews
    .78 km away
    Angelo's
    34 reviews
    1.20 km away
    Simply Asia
    11 reviews
    .83 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    The Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment World
    853 reviews
    1.74 km away
    Nu Metro Boardwalk
    13 reviews
    1.76 km away
    Nu Metro Walmer Park
    11 reviews
    1.76 km away
    South African Marine Rehabilitation and Education Centre
    136 reviews
    2.30 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Algoa Guest House staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Upstairs rooms - accessibility, location, quiet"
    Read review
    "choose upstairs or ground level"
    Read review
    "The rooms around the back are quiet and private."
    Read review
    "The room I had was ideal for one person - smaller than the other rooms."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing