We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beach Hotel

1.0 km from Summerstrand centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 343: English reviews
Start your review of The Beach Hotel
 Click to rate
Bristol
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It would be unfair to rate this well located comfortable and friendly hotel as average but we stayed here twice - first on the Monday when we had a very average room on the ground floor at the far end of the quadrangle; dark and without a sea view and second on the Saturday when we were allocated a much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alpinahed
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family, Thank you kindly for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us. Hope you enjoy your time in the Eastern Cape. Wishing you a wonderful and safe holiday ahead. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A well situated hotel, right on the beach, opposite shark pier, and next to the Boardwalk shopping centre and casino. The hotel was nice but not outstanding, it is the oldest hotel in Port Elizabeth and the décor reflects the age it was built.The room was fine and breakfast was good. We were on the first floor and had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vap88
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from The Beach Hotel Family, Thank you for your review and support. It is greatly appreciated. Wishing you safe travels. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Midrand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful & quaint hotel with good colonial heritage & age old grace , on the PE boardwalk, walking distance from well maintained & safe beaches. Added bonus, for those who indulge, is the Casino next door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FamiliaMaxicana
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, Thank you for your review and valued insight. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your experience here with us. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here 5 nights at the end of our holiday, Feb 2017. The location is just right, being 5 minutes to a lovely beach and 3 minutes from The Boardwalk for a few shops and some eateries. Some reviewers have said it needs a refurbish but we liked the "shabby chic" decor and didn't see it as in need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, Thank you for your feedback and support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Paris, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here one night to be close to the airport for an early flight. Room was at the back of the hotel and was tired and needed modernising. Staff seemed to be going through the motions without enthusiasm. Must be better options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, Thank you for your feedback. It will certainly be used constructively and is noted. Sorry to have let you down on this occasion. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel very dated, could do with a complete overall, swimming pool was far from clean, cigarette butts every wear. Looked really tried. Evening meal worst of our trip, breakfast average. Its a shame because the hotel building and a lot of character from the 20's, needs a bit of TLC, and a good clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fionanorman
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family, Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that we did not meet your exceptions. Your concerns have been seriously noted and investigation followed by corrective action will see to it that these concerns are met. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a one night stop over as we wanted to watch the first test in Port Elizabeth. I prefer to use bed and breakfasts but due to the fact that they were all booked up I booked the Beach hotel because of its location to the beach. We arrived early and the staff were more than happy to look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family, We are absolutely thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time here with us and really appreciate the support and your review. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Oxford
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed 1 night, but it was the most comfortable out of all our hotels on this trip. The room was fairly large with a good side sea view. The bathroom contained everything you could need, & the shower was enormous. I had a peep into one of the front facing rooms, which seemed to have a larger seating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GwenCOxford
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family, Thank you for your review and insight. It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your time here with us. Wishing you safe travels. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 20 January 2017

I was very impressed with the efficiency of the reservations team when I had made the booking. Checkin was smooth and all staff were extremely friendly. I chose this hotel because my grandparents used to stay here in the 1980's during our christmas holidays in PE. I was impressed then, I am impressed now. Thanks you Beach hotel for keeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family, Thank you for your support and review. It is absolutely amazing to be able to keep such a tradition going though the years. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Here's to cherishing memories and making new ones. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed 9 January 2017

It is a colonial design hotel. Probably one one of the best in past. Service and the meals are perfect but the rooms are really old and needs renovation. We had a nice stay and it was only for one night. If it was longer, I would prefer to stay in another place. There is a very nice shopping mall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murat B
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family, Thank you for your review and support. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
1:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
1.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.3 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
439 reviews
0.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
148 reviews
0.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
105 reviews
1.5 km away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beach Hotel is one Port Elizabeth's finest family hotels, situated on Port Elizabeth's magnificent beachfront, directly opposite Hobie Beach and next to the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Center. The Beach Hotel combines splendid service with quality accommodation, stylish cuisine and facilities for a perfect family holiday, business trip or relaxing getaway. The stunning four-star hotel offers homely comfort in its 58 spacious, en-suite bedrooms, some with stunning sea-views and others opening onto the tranquil courtyard. Guests are spoilt with choice, offering 3 onsite restaurants to suit everyone's palate. Enjoy a relaxing environment, sipping a cocktail white overlooking the ocean at The Verandah restaurant, or indulge in our famous buffets at The Crest. Resident foodies will love the fine dining cuisine at Ginger, voted one of the best restaurants in Port Elizabeth; it is definitely a must. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Price Range: $150 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#8 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner rooms”
 of 5 bubbles alpinahed, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles vap88, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with patios are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles 173danielj, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are great.”
 of 5 bubbles GuluPrivateResort, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room.”
 of 5 bubbles Petesunshine, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5