We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Meris Gardens

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Meris Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Showed up about 4pm, in hopes of getting a room. When attempting to access Lobby, found note on door to "Call Sue" for room. When I call the number provided, rang a cell phone of someone who did not answer. Call main number and received same. Not a professional establishment!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keely H
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Nice find since we planned our Columbus Day weekend trip quite late. Rooms were clean and adequate, nothing fancy, but price wasn't fancy either. Sue was lovely. Breakfast was good. Other guests were very pleasant. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francesca B
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Thanks for the support and review. Off-season is an amazing time at the beach, and definitely cheaper too! Hope we get to see you again.

Gloucester, Virginia
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Clean, cozy, comfortable. Sue was MARVELOUS host, prepared wonderful breakfasts. Gardens and boardwalks were enjoyable to stroll thru with our DOG. Can't wait to go back in spring when all is in bloom. IRISES GALORE!!!! NOTHING BUT 'PROS' ON THIS REVIEW, THANKYOU!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Windydawg
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

We always appreciate reading that guests were happy, and I certainly agree that Sue is the best (based on MANY reviews that single her out!!). We think we have a little hidden gem here and enjoy knowing that you agree and, yes, we love seeing folks that can enjoy us, and Bethany, with their furry friends. Thanks for taking the...

Sparta, New Jersey
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Quaint, comfortable, and close to the beach and town; Sue and staff are friendly and accommodating; daily breakfasts are varied and excellent; nice bonus to have refrigerator and microwave in the room. We enjoyed our stay at Meris Gardens!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fraufrei
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Thanks for making the trip to visit us. So pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we really hope to see you again soon!!!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We had a really nice stay at Meris Gardens. Our room was comfortable and clean. The staff were incredibly kind and friendly, especially the inn keeper, Sue. She fixed a lovely breakfast every morning and was there if we ever needed anything. We look forward to going back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Thanks Christina for the review. We enjoyed having you guys (and Riley!!) at Meris Gardens. Always nice when folks can enjoy the property, Sue's amazing hospitality and Bethany Beach. I am glad the weather was so nice during your stay, which always helps. We look forward to seeing you all again.

Frederick MarylAND
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We unexpectedly found ourselves at the Meris Gardens Motel after problems were found in a house we had rented. What a wonderful surprise. The motel is no more than a five minute ride to the beach- and not a difficult walk. The rooms were comfortable and spotless. The grounds were lovely. Our grandchildren and our dogs were most content. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sCHER12345
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed your stay with us and that we were a good replacement for the lost rental home! We pride ourselves on making guests feel like family and Sue is certainly great at that (pretty good breakfast cook too!!). Looks like you had great weather, which always helps. Thank you for taking...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Ridiculously expensive motel with small rooms, out dated furniture, no basic amenities like a water glass or shampoo and our toilet was completely broken. We were moved to a much better room when the toilet couldn't be fixed and of course wondered for the high price why we didn't have the better room in the first place as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank penguinsandlions
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Thanks for your response. I hate to read of your problems, and appreciate your feedback. It is unfortunate that the toilet broke in your room, and I do know that Sue juggled, during a busy time, to move you. That said, I know it was an inconvenience. Regarding pricing, I am sure, if you shopped other Bethany motels, you saw...

Setauket, New York
Reviewed 14 August 2016

This is a former roadside family run motel that is now a roadside family motel with a fresh coat of paint. It is clean and quiet but does not merit the price it charges except for it's proximity to the beach- which still requires a brief car ride. Rooms are very small(Microtel small) with a plain(but clean) bathroom which affords...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank naugaman
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our goal, during the off-season, is to do the final room upgrades/decorating to put the icing on the cake for the other work done over the past few years, such as landscaping the grounds, new room flooring, new bedding, linens, etc. Please do come back and visit!

Reviewed 6 August 2016

Because of the price and brochure, we were expecting a lovely Bed & Breakfast. Arrived at Meris Gardens with NO summer blooms. Outside picnic area tables covered in pine needles and dirt. Opened door to room and was overcome with an overwhelming musty odor. Discovered room humidifier was full and black mold running up walls in bathroom. Definitely NOT a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caryn A
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

I am sorry your visit was not acceptable to you. We do have a large percentage of happy customers and we don't like to hear of any bad visits. Our verbal, and written, comments are almost all positive. We take pride in our one-acre grounds and, yes, there are less blooming plants in August. We checked out the room and...

Timbuktu, Mali
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We had just a night with our two teenage girls so we were looking for close to the beach, economical, and comfortable. We got that and more- good breakfast and incredibly friendly service. We will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank portpaint
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens, responded to this review

Thanks for coming to beautiful Bethany Beach and we are thrilled that your experience was a good one. We constantly try to come up with new breakfast goodies for all. Come back and see us soon!

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethany Beach
1.2 km away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
21.2 km away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
107 reviews
9.5 km away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#21 of 108 in Ocean City
801 reviews
17.9 km away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 12 in Dewey Beach
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast is located in Bethany Beach, Delaware. Hailed as Bethany Beach’s “Best Kept Secret”, families have made Meris Gardens a yearly tradition. Stop by year-round to see exactly why you’ll want to make Meris Gardens your new home away from home. After a day on the beach and boardwalk, please enjoy a complementary late afternoon break with us on the veranda. We will provide snacks as well as cold drinks, while you are welcome to bring your own adult beverages. We offer discounts for military personnel as well as those seeking an extended stay. Our staff all share the mantra, “Our home is your home.” During your stay, it is our priority to have you feel as “at home” as we can – we truly treat ourselves as a family and would love to have you stay with us. Meris Gardens is Bethany Beach’s only Bed & Breakfast that features both privacy and accessibility. Nestled in the woods, there is a real sense of peace; coupled with it being just a stone’s throw from Bethany’s beach, boardwalk, shops, and restaurants, it is an ideal spot to getaway. Dogs are more than welcome ($20/day) in our special pet friendly rooms. All 14 of our private rooms include: Full ensuite bathroom Complementary breakfast Complementary mocktail & hors d’oeuvre hour Refrigerator Coffee maker Hotel amenities Hairdryer Complementary Wi-Fi Flat screen HDTV Daily housekeeping Complementary guest parking Complementary bicycles for guest use Pet friendly rooms Extended stays are also more than welcome ... more   less 

Additional Information about Meris Gardens

Address: 33309 Kent Ave, Next to Sea Colony, Bethany Beach, DE 19930-3730 (Formerly Westward Pines)
Region: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Price Range: $140 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meris Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Meris Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westward Pines Hotel Bethany Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Meris Gardens staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Baltimore, Maryland
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Meris Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only about a dozen rooms so ask for the most recently updated room-if there is one”
 of 5 bubbles naugaman, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the larger rooms in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles SCJL, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room adjoining office has no neighbors and is very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles OldGuy4033, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
“End rooms are great for those with dogs, because of porches and grass area :)”
 of 5 bubbles Kyersten, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
“For pet owners, Room 1 lends to pets having easy access to areas that would not disrupt other guess. Also remember to clean up after your pet. Thank you.”
  • Room 1 inside
 of 5 bubbles sarab539, 27 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay