We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crowne Plaza Wilmington North

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
See the most recent reviews
Showing 185: English reviews
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Our room was tastefully appointed, pretty spacious even with a king-sized bed, well-lit, and clean. Wi-fi is free. The hotel itself is newly built (as of 2016), so it doesn't show any signs of wear yet. Service is helpful, efficient, and seems well-trained. The prices are a bit upscale, but worth it in our opinion. There's a convenient restaurant on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robtlinda
tzezu871, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear Crowne Plaza Guest Thank you choosing the Crowne Plaza Wilmington for your accommodations while visiting the area. I was happy to review that your room was clean and that you received helpful service. I do apologize for the missing grab bar. All the guest rooms should have grab bars. I will immediately have maintenance staff install. Also will survey...

Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 27 March 2016

We have stayed @ this Crowne Plaza numerous times over the last few years. Frayed carpet, stained & paint peel are becoming noticeable. Paid extra for breakfast buffet. Could not eat the odd tasting eggs. Stayed Easter weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
tzezu871, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear David M I thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza when visiting the area. I do apologize for the condition issues you have encountered. I do understand these areas may need attention and will review with the maintenance staff. Also sorry about the issue with the breakfast buffet. I appreciate your time to provide feedback about he hotel...

Exton, PA
Reviewed 20 March 2016

I was there for an indoor bluegrass festival. We had a great time. The rooms were fine. They were clean and comfortable, I was on the 6th floor. The 6th & 7th are the "executive" floors and have (I believe), larger rooms. Interestingly, their website says that the rooms are not equipped with refrigerators or microwaves although refrigerators can be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank epollak
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear epollak, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am pleased that you have rated our service to be high. However, we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay most especially with the mishaps in the room that was assigned to you at check in and the lack...

Canton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 March 2016

So our usual hotel had no vacancies so we chose the Crowne Plaza partially out of convenience, partially based on our experiences at the Crowne in NYC. Starting with the minute we walked through the front door (Stefan welcomed us) all the way through to our checkout we had such a great experience. A special shout-out to Dave our bartender,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
tzezu871, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear Crowne Plaza Guest Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Wilmington. I was happy to hear that you had a great experience during your visit. I will be sure to share your comments with Stefan and Dave concerning the customer service they provided. Also glad your room was clean and comfortable. I appreciate your time to provide feedback...

McKinney, Texas
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

Back into town for a quick visit to see friends. Not that I didn't think the hotel would be OK, it was actually better than I thought. Lobby is very nice and the elongated fireplace was a welcome sight because it was windy and cold when I checked in. Liked the security of the elevator to access the rooms because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LFisher1717
tzezu871, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear Crowne Plaza Guest Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Wilmington for your visit with friends. From the review of your stay it appears that you found the hotel clean and that the services and amenities met your expectations. I apologize for a few of the missing items. I will review with the staff as a reminder. Hope to...

Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

We booked a room after finding out that our hockey playoff games were charged to early in the morning. Booking was easy and the price was reasonable. Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Bathroom was clean but showed recent work was done to change the position of the exhaust fan....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John K
tzezu871, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear Crowne Plaza Guest I appreciate your time to complete a review about the hotel. I was great to hear that your stay at the hotel for the hockey playoff was good and the room clean. I will share with the staff that they were pleasant and helpful. Also I will review the items mentioned concerning the bathroom to assure...

Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

The Embers restaurant is a place that I am promising myself and hubby never to visit again. Crab cake sandwich was full of filler and little crab. The fries that came with the "fried too long" fish and chips were an insult. We sent the fish back. Very disappointing. Wish we had chosen a different place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlew2121
tzezu871, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear Embers guest I apologize that your visit to the Embers Restaurant was disappointing. I am sorry to hear that your dinner did not meet your expectations. I will review the menu items you have mentioned with the chef to see what we can improve. We want assure every guest has an enjoyable experience at our restaurant. If I can...

Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

Hotel was nice staff is very unpleasant, the hostess in the restaurant omg no hospitality ... I don't normally write but this is just me saying do better because crappy service can really ruin someone trip, don't know if it's because they were older folks or what

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terisa123
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear terisa123, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to note that you liked the hotel facility. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guests. It is truly regrettable to hear that you were disappointed with the level of service that you received from the staff....

Bristol, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 December 2015

My boyfriend and I have stayed at this hotel a few times now. The staff is usually pretty nice and helpful. Our room usually comes with a mini-fridge which is very nice. The bedroom is large and clean, the bed is very comfortable; the bathroom is a bit small but clean. It's always a nice stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AmazingPitaPan
tzezu871, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza and I appreciate that you have taken the time to complete a review. I am happy that your room was clean and that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff. We always strive to provide exceptional service with a great room. I look forward...

Reviewed 15 December 2015

The entire hotel smelled awful !! Ballroom, public restrooms, hallways, elevators, and rooms. All carpet in entire hotel needs to bee replaced. Staff unhelpful. The Banquet food was inedible, and the breakfast food wasn't any better.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 331abdulz
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review

Dear 331abdulz, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory dining experience you had and for falling short of your expectations regarding our facilities and staff. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claymont
7.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
8.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
7.9 km away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
11.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
14.3 km away
Wyndham Garden Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boasting spacious rooms with deluxe bedding and free Wi-Fi, plus full-service amenities including a restaurant and lounge, the Crowne Plaza Wilmington North provides guests with the complete package. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Wilmington North

Address: 630 Naamans Rd, Claymont, DE 19703-2310 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine)
Region: United States > Delaware > Claymont
Price Range: $153 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Wilmington North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Wilmington North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine Hotel Claymont
Holiday Inn Claymont
Claymont Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza Wilmington North Claymont, Delaware
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Wilmington North staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Wilmington North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I am not sure there is such a thing as a good room.”
 of 5 bubbles ShannaM976, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room not near elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles isaacg89, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“"Executive Floor" has the same room as other floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 730alfredc, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Be careful of being placed on floors with party guests or sports teams!”
 of 5 bubbles holidaylover0, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Do not book this hotel based on the Crowne Plaza name.”
 of 5 bubbles 331abdulz, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay