We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-10-29 2017-10-30
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University

    1119 S College Ave, I-95 & SR 896, Newark, DE 19713-2307
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    -- / -- / --Check In -- / -- / --Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    US$62
    US$62
    US$62
    Traveller (24)
    Room & Suite (39)
    Dining (7)
    Overview
    • Excellent55%
    • Very good23%
    • Average9%
    • Poor6%
    • Terrible7%
    Travellers talk about
    “red roof” (50 reviews)
    “front desk” (65 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Suites
    Fitness centre
    Multilingual Staff
    Pets Allowed
    Wheelchair Access
    Business Centre
    Laundry Service
    Housekeeping
    Self-Serve Laundry
    2.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    Oct 29Oct 30
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$62
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$62
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$62
      View Deal
    View all 49 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (379)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 360 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Hotel is Clean and well managed. Rooms are Comfortable I sleep well in the bed (I like the extra pillows) Amenities include with Cable TV, Internet (Free Wi-Fi), a Refrigerator , Microwave & a Coffee Pot. Rate is very affordable, Excellent Value for the money!!!!...More

    Thank Rositas_Cowboy
    Response from Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - UniversityResponded 3 days ago

    Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel. We value our guests and try to remember you when you come back to stay with us. Sushma is a valued team member and of course will share your kind words. See you next...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    Were traveling and this is easy off/on the highway.friendly check in and inexpensive for the night especially with pets.The room and property are ok...outdated and mostly clean.For the price for a pet friendly room it is good for the night...

    Thank JonandBob
    Response from Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - UniversityResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you for staying with our hotel and leaving your review. We are proud to be pet-friendly and glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you will stay with us again your next time through.

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    I need to stay an extended time for a job opportunity. The weeekly rates save money for longer stays. Very comfortable accommodations. Neil, the night auditor was very friendly and gracious his smile makes me happy too. There is a free breakfast that makes for...More

    Thank Mark P
    Response from Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - UniversityResponded 3 weeks ago

    Thank you very much for staying with our hotel while working in the area. Glad you enjoyed and hope you'll come back again soon.

    Reviewed 12 September 2017

    If looking for a clean room with a friendly staff not to mention a . Exceptional location right off of 95, accessible to University of DE and amenities near by. This was my second stay and not disappointed. I would recommend staying there.

    Thank smcddc
    Response from Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - UniversityResponded 3 weeks ago

    Thank you very much for sharing your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you next time!

    Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

    Stay in this hotel in July with my 4 kids.... check in and went to our assigned room where we were greated with a broken bed well spread.... room smelled funky.... ants crawling all around on furniture.... bought a box of pizza rest it on...More

    1  Thank jagensd
    Response from Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - UniversityResponded 11 September 2017

    We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and are very sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Our number one priority is our guests' experience. Our team is meeting to discuss your stay and how to prevent this from happening in the...More

    Comfort Inn and Suites
    276 reviews
    #3 of 24 hotels in Newark
     
    Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
    248 reviews
    #6 of 24 hotels in Newark
     
    Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
    772 reviews
    #4 of 24 hotels in Newark
     
    La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
    449 reviews
    #2 of 8 hotels in Elkton
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Breakfast included
    • Laundry Service
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Banquet Room
    • Conference Facilities
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Microwave
    • Things to do
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$44 - US$89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
    • #7 Business Hotel in Newark
    • #9 Family Hotel in Newark
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 134
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Delaware >
    • Newark
    • Also Known As
    • Howard Johnson Inn & Hotel Newark ,
    • Howard Johnson Inn And Suites And Conference Center ,
    • Howard Johnson Hotel Newark ,
    • Howard Johnson Newark ,
    • Newark Howard Johnson
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (24)
    Room & Suite (39)
    Dining (7)
    Hotel & Grounds (28)
    Bathroom (4)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
    772 reviews
    1.05 km away
     
    La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
    449 reviews
    4.98 km away
     
    Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
    248 reviews
    6.43 km away
     
    Comfort Inn and Suites
    276 reviews
    6.32 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Malin's Deli
    59 reviews
    .53 km away
    Olive Tree Cafe
    39 reviews
    .60 km away
    Mario's Pizza
    22 reviews
    .24 km away
    Mad Macs
    111 reviews
    .59 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Newark Reservoir
    68 reviews
    4.58 km away
    Bob Carpenter Center
    47 reviews
    .94 km away
    REP Theatre, University of Delaware
    37 reviews
    3.30 km away
    Iron Hill Park
    22 reviews
    1.49 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Stan T
    13 December 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from stevengp99 | Reviewed this property |
    Its quite possible as the management seemed more interested in profits than the customers comfort or concerns. At the time of my stay (summer), they were doing some major construction. Perhaps this is a way they are... More
    0
    Votes
    Brandy F
    26 August 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from fdirisaglik | Reviewed this property |
    We arrived ~midnight and no problem
    1
    Vote
    Brandy F
    26 August 2016|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from javarunner1962 | Reviewed this property |
    We had pre-paid the room and were going to be late, but I called ahead and was told there was no problem.
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "Only stayed on one side of motel and not sure which is better."
    Read review
    "Rooms on the lobby level are easier access."
    Read review
    "Quiet Floors, Accessibility"
    Read review
    "Choose another hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing