We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
See the most recent reviews
Showing 254: English reviews
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Place is nasty and seems to house derelicts. Large group of unsavory gentlemen drinking in the parking lot. We stayed one night, but we abandoned our money spent on the planned second night to stay anywhere else. Internet was terrible as well. We ended up with a smoking room and housekeeping put a woolen comforter under the sheet, it was...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank williammT4270GG
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry that you unintentionally booked a smoking room and wished for a non-smoking room. There are times that we have the ability to room change. Occasionally, we don't have the ability to do a similar room change with the same rates. I'm sorry that you didn't get a room that was comfortable to you. I do believe...

Port Orange, Florida
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joancD1383RG
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The hotel was not close to beach. The floor and step outside of room can be dangerous. Parking is not very convenient.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank soniabI8683HW
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and filling out a survey. We appreciate your comments and take them into consideration. I'm sorry that the parking was inconvenient. When we are busy, it is not always possible to park directly outside of your room. We do have a larger parking lot towards the east side of the hotel...

A
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Live Oak
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Room was roomy and clean. Front desk person pleasant. Great price with my AARP discount. Downsides for me were breakfast left alot to be desired...fruit overripe, not much to choose from, and the bathtub had nothing to keep someone from slipping.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal L
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Crystal L, Thank your for responding and filling out a survey regarding your stay with us. We value that you stayed with us as a guest. We value any and all comments regarding your stay for other guests and for any improvements we can make for your future stays with us. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed...

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth G
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Saint Petersburg
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2GAYLE2
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Auburn, Georgia
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The room was really clean and the staff was very nice. The bed was very comfortable. The pool and spa was very clean. Just wish they were open later. Will be staying there again

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Dennis K, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found it comfortable, clean, and relaxing. The pool and spa closing "early" is not a favorite of ours either; it is a City ordinance that determines the time for pools to be opened (which is Dawn...

Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Good location near shopping, restaurants even bowling. The price is fair and the rooms are pretty clean. I like the outdoor pool. I enjoy the rewards points. I just wish they had free breakfast. I'm uncertain about smoking rooms, as I do not smoke. I'm sure they have them. The parking on the sides are limited but plenty of parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber G
Howard J, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL, responded to this review

Dear Amber G, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do actually have a free continental breakfast we serve daily from 6:30am until 9:30am in the office. I'm sorry you missed it. Yes, we do have smoking rooms on the property still, but most rooms are non-smoking. And its great that you found the shopping areas that are...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearwater
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
7.2 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#61 of 95 in Clearwater
333 reviews
6.8 km away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#44 of 95 in Clearwater
206 reviews
15.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Clearwater
5.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL

Address: 27988 US Highway 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33761
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Price Range: $101 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Howard Johnson Clearwater
Howard Johnson Hotel Clearwater
Clearwater Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Clearwater FL Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Business rooms are larger and more comfortable but regular rooms are not too small-they are standard size which is more than adequate”
 of 5 bubbles forrestgroup, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay in back to avoid highway noise”
 of 5 bubbles loperp17, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not bother to go to this place!”
 of 5 bubbles marymM6344CR, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Find another place to stay...”
 of 5 bubbles JimI_13, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from Hwy. 19”
 of 5 bubbles gomexico, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5