We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 481: English reviews
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I am not sure what people expect for a $50 per night hotel. This was perfect for me. Great location, average hotel room. TV worked, shower worked, WiFi worked, had a fridge and a microwave. Pool was FREEZING, not sure if they had just filled it or what. But it was clean and comfortable. I came for a weekend and... More 

Helpful?
Thank mylenes326
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great review. We do hope you come back soon. sorry about the pool maybe the heater was not on ,thank you for telling me I will go check it out know. Thanks again Dayna More 

Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I ended up with this hotel by going with a Priceline express deal. Based on price and description, I thought I knew which hotel I'd get, and it was a different one. When I found out I would be at the Magnuson, I checked TripAdvisor and I was a little worried at first. But then I realized newer reviews were... More 

Helpful?
Thank UCF_EdD_2006
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

Thank you so much, We do have a lot of different reviews on the beds. I just had some call wanting to know where we buy them he has slept good since he left. If you let us know we would be glad to do what ever we can to make it more comfortable for you. Thanks again, Dayna More 

Stanfordville, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

What a great hotel for the price. Everything was clean and tidy. Staff was all incredibly friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful stay , couldn't find anything to complain about! Thank you Magnuson Hotel for making our trip that much better!

Helpful?
Thank cbanary
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review, I am very glad your stay was good ,and truly hope you come back again soon. Dayna More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Staff was nice. Our 1st room smelled. Accommodating staff switched n New room much better. Nothing fancy but remodeled bathroom nice n clean. Was quite in back. Good value. Loved close parking to the room.

Helpful?
Thank Kurt E
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review, We hope you return soon. Dayna More 

Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Yesterday I booked rooms for my daughter and her in-laws as they prepared to evacuate from Florida's east coast in advance of Hurricane Matthew. This morning my daughter saw this sign in the lobby. Sometimes it's those little things that make all the difference in a guest's hotel experience. Kudos to the Magnuson for extending such a warm welcome to... More 

Helpful?
Thank jdw66
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

thank you for the review. We appreciate you. We sincerely hope all is well with your family. Dayna More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Not much to expect, but at least, it is clean and has free breakfast. Needs a better WIFI and some good pillows, my husband liked it, it was too soft for my neck. Otherwise, will come back for an overnight stay!

Helpful?
Thank gc416
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

Thank you, For taking time out to write a review We hope you come back again. Please ask us about pillows we will see if we can find some that are harder for you. Thanks again, Dayna More 

Flushing,NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days in late June. I had no complaints other than a little roach crawling up the wall. Other than that, everything was clean and well maintained. There was plenty of parking. Very close to the highways and there was a restaurant within walking distance (Lenny's) which was pretty good.

Helpful?
Thank Iris M
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, We regret you had a visitor. We do what we can to in sure we do not have this problem. I am glad everything else was good. thanks again, Dayna More 

Circleville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The nightmare of this hotel continues to haunt me. I checked in to the hotel on Aug 7th and left the hotel on August 8th after having too many problems and the last straw was seeing a cockroach in my room. They gave me receipt to confirm my refund but then, on August 10th (2 days after I checked out)... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CristQT
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

I am very sorry your stay was not adequate. I am personally checking into to all of your concerns. We are an older hotel but, we try very hard to keep it up. and give are customers a good experience. Do have rooms spayed once a month and have a bug sniffing dog come in every three months. We just... More 

Travellers are raving about these Clearwater hotels

Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
228 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my parents who would be here for a week. They arrived late Friday evening and were horribly disappointed in the room. It was dark, dingy, loud and reeked of smoke. There is also no parking because it shares a lot with a very busy restaurant. This used to be a travelodge years ago. It has... More 

Helpful?
Thank J G
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

We are very sorry you did not have a pleasant stay. We have just put in all new mattresses, new furniture, and new floors. Paint inside and outside of building. We are now working on pool area. I really wish would have given me your name or room # and date so I could look into all your concerns. I... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night mid July, just to visit Tampa and Clearwater/Dunedin coming from Orlando. It was the perfect midway distance between Busch Garden (which is what we did during the day) and the breweries in Dunedin (which is what we did during the evening). Our room was large and the bed was massive and comfy.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole N
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to write a review, we appreciate all good and bad. However I am very glad your stay was a good one and hope you come back soon. Lenny's is wonderful ! they do not do dinner though. Thanks again, Dayna More 

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.4 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#61 of 96 in Clearwater
315 reviews
9.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
9.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 96 in Clearwater
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
9.0 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#40 of 96 in Clearwater
296 reviews
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Clearwater Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the MAGNUSON HOTEL CLEARWATER CENTRAL, located just a .5 Mile from the Phillies Spring Training Camp. Start out your day with our complimentary HOT continental breakfast. Take advantage of our beautiful weather and take the free shuttle from our Hotel to the Beach. After the game, throw some steaks or burgers onto the barbecue, located in one of the picnic kiosks surrounding our tropical outdoor pool. Enjoy our free WiFi, Beautiful resort pool and outdoor sitting area. And to help keep you in touch, we offer a complimentary Business Center right off the lobby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central

Address: 21252 US Hwy19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765 (Formerly Travelodge Clearwater)
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Price Range: $83 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central Florida
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Buffalo, New York
2 months ago
5 months ago
Grand Rapids, Michigan

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are a few rooms over looking the pool”
  • on the wall in the room
  • ceiling in shower
  • stains like this were all over the carpet
  • TV would not shut off, glowed all night
  • water damge and carper was wet, room smelled of must and cigarette
 of 5 bubbles CristQT, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Compare with other hotels where you can find more options and services”
 of 5 bubbles kmentink4him, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go some where else because they don't cater to you in any way shape or form!!!!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles angelsnauni, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Bottom floor rooms are a little noisy, but then, you can't choose your hotel room neighbors.”
 of 5 bubbles brendaflynn, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Quiet, clean and comfortable. Improvements are being made on a regular basis!”
 of 5 bubbles catman261, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay