We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 487: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Dated Motel with minimal amenities, and a serious design issue force a generous "two-star" rating. Rooms have unwelcoming tile floors, beds have a single sheet and thin blanket, soft/small pillows, and one 60-watt equivalent overhead light (no table or floor lamps). No tv directory. On the positive side, a/c units are latest Amanas that shut off completely when target temperatures...

Thank Ronald J B
Waverly, Iowa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel from December 31st - January 3rd. I'll start with a reality check. This isn't high end, fancy, nor does it have a ton of amenities. If you are looking for that, look elsewhere.(and pay a whole lot more) Its also not super close to the beach, although it was in the middle of everything we...

1Thank Wanger1969
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What do you expect for under 60$ a night? You get free breakfast,wifi,and parking. About 30 minutes from the beach that's with traffic. Would stay again. If you want something nicer you might not want to be so cheap and stay somewhere over 100$

Thank jim122990
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'll admit it, I made a huge mistake thinking that I was going to get a great deal and it would be a nice place. We got to the hotel and from the front, and in the lobby, it looks ok, nothing fancy. The front desk clerk was very nice and he gave us a room on the second floor,...

Thank Jeff B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Based on reviews I was expecting more. Pros: it was clean, it was affordable, lots of places to eat nearby. Cons: sketchy at night, shower water smelt like sulfur (yuck), bed was rock hard, ants on the bedside table, and breakfast was only so so. We decided to go to the chick fil a down the street. I would not...

Thank Jean W
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

hello Meh. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay here. We are also working on improving. I do you hope you will give us another try. Thank you, Dayna

Pinellas Park, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here while waiting for our house to be ready to move in. Room was clean, staff friendly and helpful but the towels and beds being made everyday seemed a hassle. For the price I would stay again... just not much to do so make sure you are driving.

Thank Tannura
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we appreciate your taking time out to right one. We hope you return again sometime soon. Thanks, Dayna

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I am not sure what people expect for a $50 per night hotel. This was perfect for me. Great location, average hotel room. TV worked, shower worked, WiFi worked, had a fridge and a microwave. Pool was FREEZING, not sure if they had just filled it or what. But it was clean and comfortable. I came for a weekend and...

Thank mylenes326
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great review. We do hope you come back soon. sorry about the pool maybe the heater was not on ,thank you for telling me I will go check it out know. Thanks again Dayna

Lakeland, Florida
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

I ended up with this hotel by going with a Priceline express deal. Based on price and description, I thought I knew which hotel I'd get, and it was a different one. When I found out I would be at the Magnuson, I checked TripAdvisor and I was a little worried at first. But then I realized newer reviews were...

1Thank UCF_EdD_2006
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

Thank you so much, We do have a lot of different reviews on the beds. I just had some call wanting to know where we buy them he has slept good since he left. If you let us know we would be glad to do what ever we can to make it more comfortable for you. Thanks again, Dayna

Stanfordville, New York
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

What a great hotel for the price. Everything was clean and tidy. Staff was all incredibly friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful stay , couldn't find anything to complain about! Thank you Magnuson Hotel for making our trip that much better!

Thank cbanary
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review, I am very glad your stay was good ,and truly hope you come back again soon. Dayna

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Staff was nice. Our 1st room smelled. Accommodating staff switched n New room much better. Nothing fancy but remodeled bathroom nice n clean. Was quite in back. Good value. Loved close parking to the room.

Thank Kurt E
MagnusonClearwater, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review, We hope you return soon. Dayna

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (94)
Bathroom (10)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Room/Suite (25)
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Dining (5)
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (57)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Room/Suite (5)
Dining (1)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Bathroom (2)
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.4 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#60 of 94 in Clearwater
327 reviews
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn Clearwater Central
9.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Bay Clearwater AP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
Candlewood Suites Clearwater
#59 of 94 in Clearwater
182 reviews
9.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#20 of 94 in Clearwater
292 reviews
9.0 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#39 of 94 in Clearwater
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the MAGNUSON HOTEL CLEARWATER CENTRAL, located just a .5 Mile from the Phillies Spring Training Camp. Start out your day with our complimentary HOT continental breakfast. Take advantage of our beautiful weather and take the free shuttle from our Hotel to the Beach. After the game, throw some steaks or burgers onto the barbecue, located in one of the picnic kiosks surrounding our tropical outdoor pool. Enjoy our free WiFi, Beautiful resort pool and outdoor sitting area. And to help keep you in touch, we offer a complimentary Business Center right off the lobby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central

Address: 21252 US Hwy19 North, Clearwater, FL 33765 (Formerly Travelodge Clearwater)
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Price Range: $88 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Clearwater Hotel Clearwater
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Motel
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central Florida
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Buffalo, New York
3 months ago
6 months ago
Grand Rapids, Michigan

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try the Lenny's Restaurant next door, its fantastic!”
 of 5 bubbles Wanger1969, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are a few rooms over looking the pool”
  • on the wall in the room
  • ceiling in shower
  • stains like this were all over the carpet
  • TV would not shut off, glowed all night
  • water damge and carper was wet, room smelled of must and cigarette
 of 5 bubbles CristQT, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Compare with other hotels where you can find more options and services”
 of 5 bubbles kmentink4him, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go some where else because they don't cater to you in any way shape or form!!!!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles angelsnauni, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Bottom floor rooms are a little noisy, but then, you can't choose your hotel room neighbors.”
 of 5 bubbles brendaflynn, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay