We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for GulfView Hotel - On The Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 284: English reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2014

We were on a road trip and decided to stay in clearwater so we could enjoy the beach etc. Its very hard when your traveling and dont know the area and just want to get a place and go do things. This was our 2nd stop and the price was better than the one before so we looked at a...

1Thank h0ckeygirl36
Spring Mills, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 17 October 2014

Ok, I read lots of reviews about this place before booking and judging by the bad ones, I was very leery to book here but I decided to take a leap of faith!! This place is very dated and can use some upgrading BUT, for the price and location you can't beat it!! The entire staff was very friendly and...

1Thank mmlhpa
Reviewed 17 October 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 7 days totaling a bill of 910$, I paid day by day, the last day I stayed I was in my room for a hour after paying and had a family emergency and had to left the guy at the front desk told me I could get a 50% refund and that I would...

Thank jayme h
GM625, General Manager at GulfView Hotel - On The Beach, responded to this review

A full night's payment in cash was received on Sun Aug 30 at 7:30 am by our front desk manager and posted on your account. Your stay was extended another night, to reflect a Mon departure. Our records show you having checked out at 11pm Sun night. On October 17, almost 7 weeks later, you requested a refund/discount which was...

Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 15 October 2014

This hotel is nothing fancy--but for the price difference between other beachfront properties--it is FANTASTIC! As others have mentioned it sits between another hotel and a 'party' resort--but our opinion is that we get the free music whether relaxing poolside or right on the beach! The beach that the hotel sits on is a bit rockier than the public beach...

1Thank Salina M
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Stayed here in March over spring break with my boyfriend. We had a great stay. We paid for a city room but got put in an ocean room! The hotel needs updates ASAP but for the price and location we didn't mind. Also helped that we were hardly in the room besides to go to sleep. You can basically walk...

1Thank Lauren M
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 11 October 2014

Reasonable rates, on Clearwater Beach. I would have given this hotel an excellent rating for location, cost, friendliness of staff and cleanliness. However, we were there on a Thursday night and right next door, right outside the sliding glass doors at the next door hotel's outside bar was a band that played at maximum decibels until midnight. Really a distraction....

1Thank Wombat6405
Keene, New Hampshire
Reviewed 8 October 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel- could use some updating and dusting around the pictures in the rooms. Carpet needs replacing and balcony needs cleaning very sticky. Pool area was okay and beach access was good. Yes the hotel next door was very loud, a perk if you like music a negative if you want to hear tv or sleep.

Thank Dandygirl41
Reviewed 11 September 2014

I feel as if the reviews before mine are a bit misleading...Don't get me wrong, I didn't expect anything special, but most of my stay here was just not worth the money. I don't mind the loud music into the late night, and even though my glass sliding door was broken (wouldn't lock properly) I just couldn't get over the...

4Thank Yonna G
Safety Harbor, Florida
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Don't stay at this place unless you don't mind loud music blaring through your broken patio door till 3 am. Went down to management to complain and asked for a different room, to which he refused to accommodate at first. Before booking, I was not made aware that Shepards, the beach resort next door would be playing extremely loud and...

5Thank Suzan S
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I can't believe the reviews I read were so good of this place.definitely run down. Old. Glass sliding door did not lock. Squeeky beds and very small rooms. Unfriendly, uninformative staff. Do not feel like it is worth one hundred and sixty per night.

1Thank jan2014mar

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (106)
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Room/Suite (19)
View from Room (14)
Bathroom (4)
Dining (1)
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (21)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Room/Suite (2)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
View from Room (1)
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.6 km away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
0.7 km away
Beachview Hotel
Beachview Hotel
#50 of 95 in Clearwater
416 reviews
0.6 km away
Seaside Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Pelican Pointe Hotel and Resort
0.1 km away
Quality Hotel On the Beach
Quality Hotel On the Beach
#34 of 95 in Clearwater
764 reviews
0.2 km away
DreamView Beachfront Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about GulfView Hotel - On The Beach

Address: 625 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater, FL 33767 (Formerly Econo Lodge Beachfront Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Price Range: $151 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — GulfView Hotel - On The Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your GulfView Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beachfront Hotel Clearwater
Econo Lodge Clearwater
Clearwater Econo Lodge
GulfView Hotel - On The Beach Clearwater, Florida
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Clearwater
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from GulfView Hotel - On The Beach staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
New York
2 months ago
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
16 days ago
2 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from GulfView Hotel - On The Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for beach view.”
 of 5 bubbles 641PAMELAB641, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the bottom floor is easy access to the pool area, The young desk person very rude, a clean room but smells weird,”
  • Hallway to the rooms and elevator access to the beach and pool
 of 5 bubbles DebbieRagooNYC, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the side with the band was great”
 of 5 bubbles SLATS333, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You get what you pay for, if you just want a place to sleep, this will do”
 of 5 bubbles Sumrgirl, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go to hotel next door the music echoes up until the early morning”
 of 5 bubbles sheba5001, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5