We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

973 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 912: English reviews
Ronkonkoma, New York
Reviewed 30 November 2015

TROPICAL WINDS is a clean but dated hotel with a very good location on Daytona Beach and a very friendly staff. We had an ocean front room with a kitchenette. Our room was clean and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The view from our view was Spectacular!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PLfromLI
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms and the spectacular view from you oceanfront balcony. Although we are an older property we continuously work on upgrading our facility and our friendly staff is a tremendous asset. We hope to see you again in the...

Stuart
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Our 2nd year staying here for the Rod Run. We had 3 king rooms and they were all wonderful! the rooms are very clean and comfy. Great view of the ocean. Wifi worked great in our room. Nice and friendly staff. Love the pool side cafe for breakfast every morning. Great service and the food is always good and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MAMADUKES62
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us again for Biketoberfest this year and for posting such a nice review. Glad to hear that you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms as well as the comfortable beds and the food and service at our Poolside Café. We look forward to seeing you same time next year. Christine Lane - General...

Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Outstanding repeat visit. The rates were a good value for a beachfront property. Great location with a friendly and helpful staff - We will be returning in a little over a month and are looking forward to that visit. The room was updated and well maintained.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us again and for your kind words. It is nice to hear that we continue to be your choice of hotel in the Daytona Area and are looking forward to your next visit, Christine Lane - General Manager

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 25 November 2015

We arrived to celebrate my b'day for a couple of days. Ms. Gwen was most gracious and helped us move right on up to the penthouse. Amazing views, comfortable and great location. We will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DerekMaryV
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for spending your birthday with us and for your kind words. Happy to hear that the "amazing Gwen" was able to upgrade you to the penthouse for an extra-special experience. We look forward to your next visit. Christine Lane - General Manager

Clarenville, Canada
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We just ended another month long stay, our eighth, with our good friends, actually more like family, at Tropical Winds. We can't wait 'till next October when we will come back to enjoy our beautiful oceanfront room again! Thanks to Chris, Miss Gwen, Tonja, Brandy, Bea, Hannah, Sarah, Ehab, Robert, and all the rest of the staff for making this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for being such loyal guests and for leaving such a kind review. It is always such a pleasure to have you and the rest of your group here for the month of October. It is like a big family reunion. Thank you for recognizing all of our staff for doing a great job. It means a...

Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Great place, great people! We had a great view of the ocean (from our side view room) and this picture was taken from our balcony. The staff was extremely nice and helpful and we got a great tip on where to get new tires from one of the ladies. Affordable Tire Outlet at Daytona Beach Fleamarket is awesome and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LauraB22862
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review. Sounds like our facilities as well as our friendly and helpful staff exceeded your expectations and we provided you with a very enjoyable vacation experience. Our oceanfront as well as our sideview rooms offer a beautiful view of the beach and on the...

Middlesex, Vermont
Reviewed 19 November 2015

This is our 8th return to Tropical Winds. Stayed 11 nights but wish it could have been more. I recommend this hotel to friends who are visiting the Daytona Beach area. Just up from the busy center yet near to shopping and restaurants, also close to Ormond Beach. Hotel is very clean, employees are so helpful, cafe was great, good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine L
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your continued patronage and for your kind words. Repeat guests are our best advertisement and we greatly appreciate you recommending us to friends and family. Our staff all work very hard to provide a clean and friendly atmosphere to our customers and it is nice to hear that it is noticed. We look forward to...

Goodrich
Reviewed 17 November 2015

This place is paradise on a budget. We were welcomed from Gwen the minute we walked in the door to a very friendly and comfortable place. We spent a total of 7 days. Our very comfortable king room had a sofa, table & chairs, a apartment size kitchen with a balcony overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The oceanview and sunrise is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George/ Betty B
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice compliment of being "paradise on a budget". Sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your vacation and appreciated the "homelike" atmosphere we aim to provide. We want our guests to feel like members of the Tropical Winds family and all of our staff work very hard to achieve this. We hope to see you again...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 16 November 2015

My wife and I just spent the weekend at Tropical Winds and had a great time. The front desk person (Gwen) was friendly, helpful and a pleasure to be around. The ocean front rooms had an outstanding view and we got a good deal on Hotels.com. Ask for a room on the 7th or 8th floors. The room was comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JimBengtson
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind words. It is nice to hear how much you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and the comfort and cleanliness of your accommodations. We look forward to your next visit. Christine Lane - General Manager

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

Bad experience. Check in and check out took longer than expected because the front desk ladies were speaking on the phone. As regard to the room, it seems like it is stuck sometime in the 90s. Poor quality sheets, towels and dated furniture. I am still surprised that this hotel got an 8.6 score. Breakfast should be included for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karla M
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that we did not meet our expectations. As can be seen on the majority of our other reviews our customers are usually highly satisfied with their stay. We do not claim to be a 4 or 5 star property, but pride ourselves in providing our guests with clean and comfortable accommodations as well as outstanding customer service....

538 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (419)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
View from Room (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (154)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (117)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Standard Room (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
7.2 km away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 102 in Daytona Beach
771 reviews
2.0 km away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#21 of 102 in Daytona Beach
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
10.7 km away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
11.7 km away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#14 of 102 in Daytona Beach
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 North Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32018
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Price Range: $136 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
Indianapolis, Indiana
Indianapolis, Indiana
Greenwich, Connecticut

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would recommend an ocean front room on the 6th, 7th or 8th floor.”
pauldN8063JZ, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“book early”
mskaptoo, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front”
j0hns0nbbb, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ocean View higher floor.”
635tanyam, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My 3rd floor ocean front was perfect for ocean views and sounds”
770judiths, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5