We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel \/ Gateway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

701 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 633: English reviews
Valle Crucis, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is a "get what you pay for" hotel. I guess if you aren't looking for any frills, then you won't be disappointed when you don't find them here. This hotel has a convenient location. If you are in town for business it is probably just fine. But if you are on vacation, while convenient to the beaches and restaurants,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NCWineTrail
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Let me first take the opportunity to apologize for any issues that you experienced during your most recent stay with us. I can honestly assure you that this is not the norm for our property. I also appreciate that you had some good comments about our property. Yes, the Candlewood brand offers room service only once a week but certainly...

Reviewed 10 January 2014

The front desk staff could not figure out how to find my information. The lady at the back desk, apparently, figured it out by the time we checked out of the hotel. As opposed to other comments, my husband and I have never stayed in a hotel where the front desk was as unprofessional as at this particular property. In...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cynthia L
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

We at Team Candlewood apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us, and I can assure you this is not the norm for our property. We take great pride in providing customer service to our guests, as seen in past trip reviews. I personally apologize that we fell short of your service expectations and also any...

Balfour, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The best part of this hotel is the price, followed by the location, which is very convenient to the I75. The building is new, suites are clean and include a small kitchenette with some bare essentials. The beds are comfortable and overall we found it very quiet especially given we were there over Christmas and New Years. You don't get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to write such a good review about our property. We at Team Candlewood work hard to show case our property. So when we read such nice reviews, it makes it all worth while! We appreciate it and hope you come back soon.

Edison, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed here in December. A charge of $5.30 from this hotel appeared on my credit card several days after I had checked out, which was not on the original bill. When I called the hotel to inquire about the charge, I was told this was for spoons I took from the hotel, which I did not take. I explained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P F B
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We at Team Candlewood apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced at our property. It is the policy of the Hotel to charge for any missing items after a guest or group checks out, which is standard in any Hotel. I do apologize that at the time of this charge, i (Dan Berben) was on holiday and was...

Normal, Illinois
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very accommodating friendly staff. Rooms are clean, all are indicated as suites but are just regular rooms with a kitchenette. Very dated, could use upgrades & housekeeping should come more than 1x a week.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TK S
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

We at Team Candlewood thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for the compliment of how clean the property was, we take pride in that. I am sorry you found the property dated for it is not quite five years old and was a new construction build. We do appreciate that you liked the staff...

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here for a week. The location is great...minutes to the beaches and Sanibel. There are numerous restaurants, grocery stores and drug stores within a mile or two. We stayed over Christmas and the hotel put on a Christmas Eve dinner for the guests. Free laundry facilities are great. WiFi worked flawlessly. Plus we got a spectacular weekly rate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

The Best kept secret in Fort Myers, Great location, Great staff, & great Hotel. We thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope you can come back soon!! Thank You! Team Candlewood

SPRING HILL FLORIDA
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for just one night. If you want to visit either Sanibel Island or Captiva Island this is one of the best-located hotels to stay at if you don't feel like paying island prices. We arrived early and proceeded out to the beach at Captiva on the advice of the maintenance staff member. What a treat!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve34609
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Wow, what a nice review. We at Team Candlewood really appreciate the kind words regarding our staff, its the best in town!! As you mentioned in detail, we have it all. Thank you for taking the time and we welcome you back as soon as you can!! Thank YOu Dan Berben

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for over two weeks. We have stayed here before and were completely satisfied with our stay. However we noticed this time that the hotel is looking very 'tired' the walls in our room were stained and dirty looking. The carpets were also looking soiled. We spoke to the general manager who assured...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pauldee50
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Dear pauldee50, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at our hotel again. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over the property's condition. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very...

NJTraveler100
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I was pleasantly surprised that the staff at the Candlewood cooked a homemade dinner for the hotel guests on Thanksgiving. That shows the kindness and appreciation of the staff. If you plan on staying at this location, call them directly as you can secure a significantly lower weekly rate direct vs any other online service. Note, this is a sparsely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NJTraveler100
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, the staff wanted to feed everyone a complimentary Thanksgiving feast for guests away from home. This is the outstanding ways our Team at Candlewood strive to please our guests. You wrote how much you enjoyed all of the Hotels complimentary amenties, free Laundry facility, great workout room, heated pool with complimentary grills for all to...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is an excellent place to stay while visiting relatives who live on Sanibel island. It is conveniently located near the causeway for easy access to and from the island. The rooms are comfortably sized. Our had a separate bedroom as well as a large room with sleeper couch and a kitchen. A kitchen that was well stocked with utensils...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 306Trish
TeamCandlewood, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway, responded to this review

Above and Beyond in service is what we at Team Candlewood strive for, thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and recognize our Teams efforts. Our Candlewood has the best service in Fort Myers, thanks for spreading the word!! Come back soon!! Dan Berben

451 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (92)
Viewed
Double Room (52)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Suite (87)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
13.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
5.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Myers - Sanibel Gateway
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Residence Inn Fort Myers Sanibel
12.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fort Myers Airport / FGCU
16.9 km away
Candlewood Suites Ft Myers - I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway hotel conveniently located at Summerlin and Bass Roads, near Lee Memorial HealthPark and Lexington Country Club. This extended stay, all suite property is located near Fort Myers Beach and Sanibel-Captiva Island and is minutes from Everglades National Park, Manatee State Park, Tarpon Tournaments and just a short drive to Naples and Marco Island. At Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and free high-speed and wireless Internet. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel Gateway is located nearby to many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream.Earn more with each night's stay! Priority Club Members earn points and rewards every day at the Candlewood Suites Fort Myers/Sanibel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway

Address: 9740 Commerce Center Ct, Fort Myers, FL 33908-3624
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Price Range: $98 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Hotel Fort Myers
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway Florida
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Myers
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Muskegon, Michigan
1 month ago
Chicago, Illinois
Englewood, Florida
over a year ago
Centerville, Massachusetts

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room was a suite with kitchen living room and bedroom. ”
susanlD5627QC, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“air conditioner was a little noisy.”
paulaT5126YY, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bath room needed some minor repairs that were attended to same day as we notified the front desk.”
philipk970, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay at another hotel”
ChapelRacine, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Queen suite was a fine room.”
karlaneb, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5