We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Edison at Midtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Edison at Midtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Edison at Midtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 270: English reviews
Tampa
Reviewed 29 March 2015

As I located this hotel not downtown, but outside the downtown area across from a page park and the hospital, I became disappointed. When looking on line, I thought this was like other downtown locations, really downtown! A couple of the front desk staff were excellent, but when I told them of the wet smell in the room as they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cacolemanjohnson
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Dear cacolemanjohnson, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We are truly sorry for the condition of the room you received and for the oversight of our housekeeping team regarding the towels. Please be...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Stayed at this hotel in March, 2015. Room was adequate,nothing special. Parking lot was full when we checked in so we had to park in the rear lot on the grass. Very dark area, could have used more security lighting. Probably will stay at someplace a little more welcoming & secure next time I visit Ft. Myers.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SF-Legend
FourPoints_Mgmt, Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We pride ourselves on providing quality service. We look forward to your return visit so we can show you that we do provide and card about our guests stay.

Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed 8 March 2015

We stayed 3 nights. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant provided excellent food and service. It was nice to have Tina catering to our breakfast needs. We WILL be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy2663
jessica c, Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing such a great review with us! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that Tina went above and beyond to ensure your breakfast was awesome. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Lancashire
Reviewed 25 February 2015

We stayed for one night as part of an organized group touring Florida. Our room was a typical Holiday Inn room - plenty of space, good table and seating etc. The staff at the restaurant had not been told of a tour group's arrival but they coped admirable. Food quality, quantity and price were all good as was the choice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LightAleCavalier
jessica c, Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with us! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the bar/restaurant area. We certainly strive to ensure an unmatched guest experience for everyone. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 25 February 2015

Carpet dirty, dining room too crowded. Two story with no elevator. All doors outside. Keep looking! Front desk helpful and maid service good. Nice outside pool. Close to attractions and restaurants. Would not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geri H
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Dear Geri H, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with the hotel location, nice pool, front office and housekeeping services. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. It is regrettable that you were let down by the untidy carpet,...

Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Had a chance to stay here on my vacation while I was waiting to move into a condo that I had rented in cape coral.The front front desk staff were very friendly and helpful telling us about all the things to do in the area,but we had arrived late and decided to settle in for the evening,They had nice restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Woodro H
jessica c, Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We certainly hope to see you again in the future.

Easton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 February 2015

This facility is poorly managed. Upon arrival we were told our room (that was reserved months in advance) was given away. (The room we were given had a broken glass window). Two days later, an unannounced fire inspection kept us prisoners in our own room until 2 p.m. due to yellow water. We ran the water in the tub and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandybeach54
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Dear sandybeach54, Thank you for taking the time to post a candid review of our property. We are pleased to know that our location was convenient for your needs and regarded our staff to be very friendly and rooms to be clean. However, we do apologize for the room that was provided to you at check-in. We have sent you...

Tolkamer, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 February 2015

Arriving at the hotel we drove through the small streets on the behind the hotel and decided that this was not the best neighborhood of ft. Myers. The reception was ok. The guy wanted to be a bit popular but it all worked out fine and I guess this guy was not here long. Anyway it was efficient and that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacob_Nu
jessica c, Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing information about your stay. We strive to provide great service to our guest and our goal is to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Thank you,

bloomington, MN
Reviewed 4 February 2015

It's not on the beach, but it has a great pool (would be even better if they banned smoking on the pool deck and provided another area for smokers). Breakfast buffet is included in some rates, but worth the $9 compared to most other hotel breakfasts. Tina in the breakfast and happy hour restaurant and bar area seems to work...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank randybloomington_MN
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 February 2015

Comfortable queen beds, big room, not that many hanging places in the bathroom. Good variety for the breakfast buffet (missing yogurt and hot milk). Tissue napkins. Good service. There is also an external pool. Position: you still need the car to reach the downtown, but we did find a very good mexican restaurant walking down the street. Edison&Ford House is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aa27
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Edison at Midtown, responded to this review

Dear aa27, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am happy to read you like the comfortable bed you received and breakfast selection that was served. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers
1.2 km away
Hotel Indigo Fort Myers River District
1.1 km away
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
Legacy Harbour Hotel & Suites
#29 of 58 in Fort Myers
152 reviews
4.6 km away
Suburban Extended Stay of Fort Myers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
Red Roof Inn Fort Myers
#38 of 58 in Fort Myers
163 reviews
7.5 km away
Candlewood Suites Ft Myers - I-75
3.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Fort Myers Waterfront
BEST WESTERN Fort Myers Waterfro...
#1 of 4 in North Fort Myers
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Edison at Midtown. You will know we are a step above the rest as soon as you walk into our large, recently renovated, contemporary style lobby. Soon you will be greeted by an outstanding front desk agent solely concerned with your satisfaction. After checking in, enjoy our large comfortable rooms. With high-speed wireless Internet access in public areas, meeting space, and guest rooms, you can catch up on work any where you would like even while relaxing by our tropical pool. The Edison at Midtown is located in Historic Fort Myers near the River District and is within walking distance of local businesses, dining, shopping, and entertainment. The Edison at Midtown Fort Myers Hotel is just minutes from I-75 and approximately 20 minutes from the Southwest International Airport (RSW) so you can be to your home away from home in no time! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edison at Midtown

Address: 2431 Cleveland Ave, Fort Myers, FL 33901-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers
Price Range: $109 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edison at Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Edison at Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Downtown Historic Hotel Fort Myers
Fort Myers Holiday Inn
Edison At Midtown Fort Myers, Florida
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Myers
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Edison at Midtown staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Edison at Midtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to look over the pool (great sunsets)”
  • View from room, sunset
 of 5 bubbles Seymark, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Second floor king room”
 of 5 bubbles soldbyjessica, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I was on the second floor, nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles PowDeb, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
3 of 3