We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

#1 Island Hideaway

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
#1 Island Hideaway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 66: English reviews
Tavares, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2016

The building looked much better in the pics and the inside was more like a dated camp than a luxurious island retreat. The furnishings and dish ware were of goodwill quality. the cookie sheet was terribly rusted and soiled. i am sure glad i brought foil with me. the floors were mostly concrete with a poor stain job. the sliding... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bonnieg289
Emmaus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2016

The photos and descriptions on the Web site did not much the unit we got. The photos were of a unit that may be the owner 165, ours was 166 across the street, not luxurious as described. Dark, peeling paint, no tv in second BB just bare cord, other TV hung on LR wall with dangling cord. Average quality towels.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank carlspadt
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2016

I stayed here in #167 for 2 weeks in January and based on the cost and on-line photos expected a good experience. This was truly one of the worst (if not the worst) places I have ever stayed in. The property grounds are not eye-appealing, but inside it was really bad. The first thing we noticed was how dark it... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank RMM4163
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Where to start... The location was perfect. Just steps to the beach with private access. Close to downtown and the BEDS were outstanding!!! Our family from Denmark was impressed with the coziness, the comfortable beds and the fully stocked kitchen! Rhonda and Phil were spot on with their suggestions from restaurants to a car mechanic. We will definitely be back!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
Arcanum, OH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I booked my one week stay at the Island Hideaway through their own website. I was required to pay in full 60 days in advance of my stay, and received an email confirmation from the owner (Rhonda) saying I would be staying in a ground floor, 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, 1,100 square foot unit called "The Starfish", and was told... More 

Helpful?
14 Thank StickerChick
FreeIsland, Owner at #1 Island Hideaway, responded to this review

We try to accommodate every one and m pm. The unit was not ready and the guest had traveled a long way. We did have the unit ready by the check in time. The original unit they were to stay in was a 900 sf one bedroom, we had t move a guest due to a mechanical issue the prior... More 

Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This unit was very disappointing. Just walking to the entry was not a good first impression. The door was in need of a paint job, rusty chair outside needed to be removed, not very inviting. Inside the door we found the unit to be very dark with dirty rugs, burned out light bulbs and broken ceiling tiles. The kitchen appliances... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank ChewChoo
FreeIsland, Owner at #1 Island Hideaway, responded to this review

This guest was completely unhappy with the unit from the time they pulled into the driveway, they were unhappy we were not beach front, we do not claim to be and our site is very detailed showing accurate and up to date photos and descriptions of how far the beach is to get to. We did offer her an upgraded... More 

Redding, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was a very nice place....close to the beach (less than 5 minute walk) and near FT.Myers restauraunts, shopping and nightlife... but secluded. Rhoda and Phil were great and made sure everything was in order. Our second stay at this place and definitely going back!

Helpful?
3 Thank BTMCT
Reston, VA, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I just returned from a great stay at the Island Hideaway. There were a couple of glitches when we first got there, but our hosts, Rhonda and Phil addressed them immediately and then proceeded to make us feel welcome throughout our stay. For the past several years we have vacationed in Sanibel but after looking at Rhonda's... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tom Z
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is so terrible it will sound like a fictional story, but its sadly true: We booked the property through VRBO (a known property rental site) and were promised a week in paradise. It was anything but. They do not show pictures of the location anywhere other than tripadvisor, and we booked it thinking it was another property. The pictures... More 

Helpful?
14 Thank Joe H
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I'm writing this article for my sister and mom (they are not TripAdvisor members). I can tell you that the suites that they both selected (I stayed at the other property Beach n Place), were roomy, clean, stylish, and very comfortable. The free beach chairs and umbrellas were a nice addition (and one thing less to worry to bring from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank EvaNoodles

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
3.1 km away
Harbour House at the Inn
Harbour House at the Inn
#21 of 48 in Fort Myers Beach
135 reviews
1.4 km away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#16 of 48 in Fort Myers Beach
227 reviews
0.3 km away
The Surf and Us South Shore Resort
The Surf and Us South Shore Reso...
#13 of 28 in Fort Myers Beach
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Silver Sands Villas
Silver Sands Villas
#1 of 28 in Fort Myers Beach
464 reviews
0.5 km away
Palm Terrace Resort
Palm Terrace Resort
#28 of 48 in Fort Myers Beach
87 reviews
2.1 km away
Hideaway Village
Hideaway Village
#3 of 9 in Fort Myers Beach
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your luxury home away from home. A great weekend getaway to relax on our white sugar soft sand. #1 Island Hideaway has just been remodeled inside and out. Each suite has a king size pillow top bed with linens used only at 5 Star Resorts, spa like bathrooms, fully stocked gourmet kitchens, flat screen TV's, cable, wireless internet. Several outdoor sitting areas to relax in with waterfalls, fire pits, tiki torches and beautiful tropical landscaping. New pool and spa coming summer 2010. Just bring your clothes and food and toiletries. Come spoil yourself. ... more   less 

Additional Information about #1 Island Hideaway

Address: 165 Anchorage St, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3843
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $193 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — #1 Island Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your #1 Island Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hideaway Hotel Fort Myers Beach
#1 Island Hideaway Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from #1 Island Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nice little firepits in the two locations we stayed in.”
 of 5 bubbles BTMCT, 12 Mar 2014 | Read review
“None of the rooms are good. They are dark and falling apart. You can hear the owner watching TV and yelling at people on the phone upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles joeh72, 28 Oct 2013 | Read review
“any of them are great, we took a tour of all the houses while we were there and they are all great.!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 866BelindaS, 9 Jul 2013 | Read review
“The ground unit appears to be more susceptible to ant infestation. If after reading the negative reviews you still opt to chose this property for your vacation I would opt for the upper-level unit.”
  • Sunset Suite - Bathroom Floor
  • Sunset Suite - Bathroom Shower
 of 5 bubbles StarLiteWishes51, 28 Nov 2012 | Read review
“I don't think you really have a choice on rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles jhb1212, 14 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay