We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shipwreck Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shipwreck Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shipwreck Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 237: English reviews
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We were in Ft. Myers for a soccer tournament. We decided to make it a mini vacation and spend a day at the beach. We are sure glad we did. The Shipwreck Motel is definitely older but you absolutely cannot beat the location. It is very quaint and has lots of great outdoor seating areas. We especially liked the tables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cassy M
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Hi and Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and suggestions. We are working on the shower grout this summer!

Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

Great place off the beaten path, but so close to the action! 2nd time here clean and great atmosphere tucked off the street. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Would absolutely come here again. Hate to tell to many about it and then they are always busy...lol

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

As time stolen away from home, location, ambience, atmosphere, and service were exactly befitting our 17th Anniversary. Thank you! (The only suggestion: make it 48 hours minimum!) Additionally to the motel in the heart of Fort Myers Beach and Pier, and therefore being in walking distance to the Gulf, shops, restaurants and bars, the sunsets on the eastern west coast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geronimus T
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank You for your review!! Come back soon, for a minimum of 48 hours of course :)

Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

Great location! Rose was awesome keeping our room clean and providing us with what we needed for whole week we were there. People at front desk were very helpful as our cell phones got wet and they let us have new ones sent right to motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica H
Front Desk M, Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review for The Shipwreck. We are very happy that You enjoyed your stay. Rose will be delighted to hear your comments and get recognition for her hard work in Housekeeping!! Thanks again for taking the time to review our motel and we look forward to your next stay with us!!

Bloomington, Indiana, United States
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Although I was hesitant at first about staying here when I saw it was attached to a souvenir shop I was actually pleasantly surprised at how great an experience it was. The staff were always available and ready to help us, even had information available about local places and transportation. The room, while slightly outdated was well maintained. It had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandy W
Front Desk M, Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Shipwreck. We are all very pleased that you were Pleasantly surprised with our accommodations. We are a funky budget motel with an outstanding staff that works very hard to welcome our guests. Thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments. We look forward to your next visit with us and...

Smithfield, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 March 2016

Nice resturants plenty to do.lots of shopping. Water is great. Nice people beautiful senery Good prices. Always a nice mild wind.hotels are ok. Condomins have private beaches. Never too crouded. Just go and see.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dana M
Front Desk M, Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your visit to The Shipwreck and Fort Myers Beach. We have many changes coming to The Shipwreck soon so we hope you will stay with us again!!

Reviewed 9 March 2016

Booked on line not knowing what to expect. It was very nice, had a great time. Phil was awesome!! He gave us a few restaurants to visit and all were good. Will definitely come back. It was within walking distance to everything we could want.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim B
Front Desk M, Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your Great review of The Shipwreck!! We always love getting feedback from people that have never been here before as well as our regulars. Phil does a great job and we are lucky to have him as part of the Shipwreck Crew!! Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit with us!!

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We stayed in an updated efficiency apartment, fairly recently updated, but Mom and Pop Motel build. Only complaint was thin walls between these older units, but hey, turn up the TV. Staff was very attentive to a few requests, beds were very comfortable. Rarely needed our car, as we were within walking distance to the beach and a bevy of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

What a nice review you gave us! We appreciate you time in doing so. It is always great to hear from happy guests. Thank You

syracuse
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment on 2nd street. When we checked in on a Thursday, the floors were filthy, and the toilet did not flush properly. During the night when the toilet was used it wouldn't flush at all. We called early in the morning only to get a recording because the store wasn't open yet. After 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pete8960
Front Desk M, Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are terribly sorry that you did not enjoy our Second Street 2 bedroom. I know we had trouble when you first arrived with a clog in the line. We had to hire an outside contractor to solve the issue and we did it as quickly as possible. We also did offer to relocate your...

Milford, Indiana
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

The first room we had one small and the bathroom shower was old, small and needed some work. We asked to be moved and paid for an "upgrade". We could hear the people next door through the air vent as plain as if they were in our room. We also had tiny bugs on the kitchen counter everyday. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeriLynn127
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that you did not like the Shipwreck Motel. Yes, our rooms are older and some smaller than others. We do our best to keep them clean and maintained. Our grounds, pools, and our 5 star location is our best attraction. We do have plans in the works for some major renovations, so hopefully some of your...

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#19 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
302 reviews
6.9 km away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,502 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
982 reviews
0.3 km away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
542 reviews
6.0 km away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#25 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Eclectic, Key West Style Motel. Situated on a lovely lagoon. Boat dock, BBQ grills, 2 pools. Tiki huts. Efficiency rooms, 1 and 2 bedrooms also available. Located on Famous Old San Carlos Blvd. between Times Square and the Back Bay. Walk to everything! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shipwreck Motel

Address: 237 Old San Carlos Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2145
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $180 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shipwreck Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shipwreck Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwreck Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Shipwreck Motel Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shipwreck Motel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Shipwreck Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 36 has great bay view and plenty of space to spread out for a family”
 of 5 bubbles G8rStyle, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles Scampie2013, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“canal view”
 of 5 bubbles HJ-JMD, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We prefer the rooms on the back side, away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles jdixon2017, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“East side (small pool) has street views of restaurants and hustle and bustle. Perfect what we were looking for.”
 of 5 bubbles Waterlilly9704, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5