We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

El Matador

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
El Matador
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 102: English reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

The El Matador is a great place for family beach trips. While it is an older condo property, most owners have done a good job of updating their units. I would recommend checking the pictures for each unit since they were built between 1972 and 1977. You may run into a unit that has not been updated and looks like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El Matador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed the El Matador and hope that we will have the pleasure of providing your accommodations when you return to beautiful Okaloosa Island.

Warner Robins, Georgia
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

This is a great condo! We stayed on the 6th floor of building 2, unit 260. It's a corner, end unit too! This place has great pools & ocean view. It is a little walk down to the beach, but walking is fabulous exercise! Don't forget paper towels & Kleenex. These are not provided. We will definitely come & stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank summervacation27
ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El Matador, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your room! We hope that we have the pleasure of providing your accommodations the next time you visit beautiful Okaloosa Island in Fort Walton Beach.

Knoxville
Reviewed 10 August 2016

No condos or hotels to the west of you which made the beach less crowded and quieter. Stayed in room 118 in building 1 and loved it. White sandy beach and super clear water. One day had amazingly large waves which made it a ton of fun to play in the surf. Also had the treat of seeing a manatee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marshall B
Tyler, Texas
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We got an excellent rate on a one room efficiency condo through VRBO. The facility is well maintained. There are two large pools on site and magnificent stretch of beach. We stayed a full week and our kids did not want to leave.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ScottyWood1927
Falmouth, Kentucky, United States
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a family vacation and it was the best vacation we've ever had!!! Awesome location, beautiful property, clean condo, beach is gorgeous, pools crystal clean, perfect views and a place I'd gladly return to!!! 2 pools were nice to have available but they were never overly crowded. Loved the gazebo on the walkway to the beach! Sat there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJC2005
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

It has lots of green space for kids to play and grills set up for family picnics and if I had a family I would rank it higher. Being single and sitting on the beach with no tiki bar in sight seems like craziness to me! No food no drinks but the Tom Thumb is a mile away. No restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff B
ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El Matador, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. You are correct, we are a very "get away from it all" family complex. We are sorry to hear that your room was not to your liking. All of the rooms at El Matador have individual owners. While most of the units are updated there are still a few that...

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 27 July 2016

The El Matador is a great place to stay. We have stayed there many times. We like the fact that it is gated, the grounds are kept immaculant, The convenience of being on Okaloosa Island great. You are close to restaurants, attractions, etc. The condos are beautifully decorated and the view are gorgeous.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tm8395
ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El Matador, responded to this review

Thank you for review your stay. It really makes us happy that you had a great time and loved staying at El Matador!

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Very nice and clean. Front gate staff is super sweet. These condos are right in front of the beach. This is a great place to stay if you are bringing children. Basketball court, tennis court, 2 clean pools, saunas and Jacuzzi, gym. The only complaint is that I wish we would have gotten a room with a view. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer R
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Had a great time! Room was very spacious with a great view in 168! Hoping to return next year! Room was clean except hair left on wall in the shower. And the guard closed up the pools when there was rain in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie K
Reviewed 17 July 2016

My room was 623. The furnishings were old and worn out. Bathtub was so gross I couldn't use it. The beach and access were perfect. Probably would not stay again. It's a shame because it was a great location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim H
ElMatadorRentals, Manager at El Matador, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your accommodations and apologized for the condition of your unit. We are currently in the process of taking the necessary steps to rectify the issue with the room. Every unit is individually owned and are very different from each other. Because you...

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#1 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
1,142 reviews
3.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#6 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
899 reviews
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#2 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
2.3 km away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#10 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
46 reviews
1.7 km away
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach...
#7 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Fort Walton Beach condos are located next to 17 miles of uninhabited beach. To make your Florida vacation as memorable as possible, our 12 acre beach resort offers an array of amenities which includes two pools, tennis and basketball courts, a fitness center, whirlpools, saunas and more! Our staff has dedicated themselves to making certain that the time you spend with us will be the most enjoyable vacation experience you've ever had. You'll experience recreation, sightseeing and world class dining all within minutes of our vacation resort. You'll find beautiful beaches, sugar white sand, emerald green water, one of a kind shops, magnificent scenery and everything else that makes for a perfect stay in paradise. Our Fort Walton Beach Condos are beautifully furnished and fully equipped for your comfort, convenience and offer stunning views where you can enjoy beautiful beach sunsets. Don't waste another minute, contact us today and book your dream vacation condo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Matador

Address: 909 Santa Rosa Blvd, Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-5979
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: $158 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Matador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your El Matador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Matador Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Matador staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from El Matador staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 118 in building 1”
 of 5 bubbles MarshallB445, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“As these are privately owned condominiums, rates and amenities will vary.”
 of 5 bubbles ScottyWood1927, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You have great views of the water if you are on a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles marynewpherwitt, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“ask for gulf view bldg. 4”
 of 5 bubbles A5587CNjohnr, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Some units are dated. Always look at pictures before booking. Building 3 and 4 have best beach views.”
 of 5 bubbles Shea510, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay