The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach

The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach

Traveller (1637)
The grotto pool/ bar at night.
Pool & Beach (416)
Gulf View Queen
Room & Suite (278)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 3 resorts in Fort Walton Beach
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
On Okaloosa Island, this beachfront hotel is 6 miles west of Destin, a 9-minute walk from Gulfarium Marine Adventure Park and adjacent to the Boardwalk. The relaxed rooms and suites have enhanced WiFi and flat-screen TVs, plus mini-fridges, microwaves and coffeemakers. Some rooms offer beach or pool view. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. The property has direct beach access and amenities include a Grotto swim-up bar, Tripp Tide beach bar and several restaurants, as well as an outdoor pool, kiddie pool, hot tub, and fitness center. There's also a guest laundry and meeting rooms with 24,000 square feet of meeting & event space.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Entertainment staff
Kids stay free
Wifi
Yoga classes
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Vending machine
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

1500 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 69 out of 100
69
Ft. Walton Beach Airport
12.1 km
See all flights
Destin Airport
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles3,754 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Island Resort at Fort Walton Beach is lauded for its impeccable cleanliness and vibrant atmosphere, with spotless rooms and engaging entertainment such as live music. Its beachfront location is a hit for its scenic views and easy beach access. While the diverse amenities are generally appreciated, some guests suggest there's room for improvement. Opinions on rooms are mixed; they're clean with great views yet criticized for their size and datedness. Service is well-regarded despite occasional lapses. However, the noise level can be disruptive, and high resort fees raise concerns about value for money.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Cramped
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Pristine
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Comprehensive

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
3,754Reviews125Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,532
  • 959
  • 614
  • 346
  • 306
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Selena wrote a review Mar 2021
Lawrenceburg, Tennessee
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I chose the island based on the price (we did not want to spend $2000 on a 4 day vacation ) and location, but was kinda weary based on other reviews others had. I was very surprised once we arrived! I chose the beach side room with a “private” patio to the beach which was VERY VERY convenient for beach access which I really enjoyed. I definitely would not call it private, as there is just a railing where anyone could walk around as they please or take things off your patio. Also it is verrryyy noisy, and smokers would sit outside and smoke, and their smoke smell would travel into our room. The room itself was very nice, the beds were comfortable, the down pillows were very nice, and the tv had chromecast which made it nice if there was nothing on tv we wanted to watch. The bathroom was okay, they do provided the basic toiletries, but the shower was very disappointing. It was a waterfall shower, but spits out a very small amount of water. Also there was no door to close off the shower, which spit water out all over the floor, and I would think that would be a fall hazard?? We ended up running out of room to put our things to dry (which never ended up drying and were covered in sand - 4 days later I took home sipping wet / soured clothes) due to only having 1 hanging hook. I wish there would’ve been a public laundry room at least to help get rid of the sand covered clothes / wet clothes. Of course there was sand all over the room / bed / floors. Which wasn’t too terribly bothersome (what do you expect!) but the room service the 2nd day did not get any of the sand off our floor / bed. Which makes me believe they did not change our bed sheets or sweep the floor. We ended up scooting around on a towel to keep the sand off our feet to keep it out of the bed. The pools were wonderful, with one heated in the back, a hot tub, and the grotto not heated. All of them were busy and was too cold for the non heated grotto pool so we ended up not getting in. Besides wishing we had a laundry room, I wish we also had a microwave!! But you lose some you win some!!! Definitely recommend staying, just be aware of a few things listed above!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles Cruger, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach
Responded Mar 31, 2021
Dear Selena S Thank you for your honest feedback as it assists us with perfecting our oasis of paradise, The Island. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our beach front location, world class recreational amenities and newly appointed rooms. We will certainly look to improve this particular shower and I apologize for all troubles it caused. Please know we have a 24/7 front desk ladies and gentlemen who are always here to assist. We do have a on-site guest laundry facility which I will ensure we have better signage to inform all of our guests. I do hope you will give us another try when your travels take you to the Emerald Coast. Warm Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Megan P wrote a review Jun 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I will start by saying that the price you pay at this hotel is really only for the beach access...not for the room itself. The rooms were just okay, even after their renovation. The showers had no door, there was no closet, no ironing board. The walls are very, VERY thin. One of our biggest complaints was the room doors. There is no bumper on the doors for them to close quietly. All hours of the day AND night we heard doors slamming. We really enjoyed our beachfront room, and the direct access to the beach. We paid for a package that gave us an umbrella and chairs each day (through a 3rd party rental company). Thursday-Saturday we showed up at 10am and were told that their umbrellas were already reserved, and we would have to have second row. I guess I thought having ALREADY PAID for the umbrella and chairs, we would have at least had front row reserved. The pools were nice, very cool grotto experience. I would not recommend this hotel for a quiet getaway for couples...but more for families with children. Another one of our biggest complaints was the amount of marijuana being smoked in the rooms. Every day we would walk down the hallway and smell it, as well as outside on our balcony. The food was decently priced- it was $30 for large nachos and wings. We appreciated the beach front access of this hotel, but found ourselves not loving the actual hotel itself and made sure to be out and about instead of at the hotel. We had a parking pass but found it extremely difficult to find parking on the sides of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Great views. Not for quiet getaways. Good for families with kids. Poor parking. Loud rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheIslandFL, Front Office Supervisor at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach
Responded Jun 4, 2020
Thank you for the feedback provided.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Tiffany R wrote a review Jul 2020
Laurens, South Carolina
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The pictures shown on the website are of a high rise building on the beach. Understand that if you book through a booking site (Priceline, Hotwire, or booking), unless you specify that you want ocean front, you WILL NOT STAY in the pictured building. There were several people complaining (myself included) that the non oceanfront rooms ARE NOT worth the price. Expect to pay $200/night to stay in a room with outside halls facing the parking lot or a wall. The rooms are clean and updated but the bathrooms are tiny. However, due to the hard surface floors and how sandy the beach is, the floor will always be gritty. Due to COVID, room service only comes in to exchange towels, take out trash, and sweep the floor daily. They will not make beds or clean the bathroom. The room was extremely clean upon checkin and smelled like they cleaned with bleach, which is a plus due to everything going on. We still sprayed everything with microban to be safe. The Mini fridge and microwave In the room were a plus. The pools were clean and nice. Overall we would only stay here again if we could specifically ask for a room in the high rise building shown in the pics.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jay Odom, Owner at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach
Responded Jul 20, 2020
Thank you for the feedback provided and for staying here with us at The Island. We will take everything you mentioned in this review and share it to see what we can better improve on. Anytime you are booking you can call in to verify the room type before you come or even book through us so you can guarantee the room you are requesting. We look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ps4acc88 wrote a review Aug 2020
Dallas, Texas
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Overview: we stayed here within the last 2 weeks, this place is not as nice as the pictures make it look. The only reason I gave this place 2 stars is because of location and the pool is nice. It's not a hotel, if you feel your going to a nice hotel then you are going to be really disappointed. The biggest issue is the rooms, the buildings where rooms are at are basically motels. Old, dirty, and cheap looking. When we got there we inspected the room, our beds had not been changed with fresh sheets and linens, housekeeping basically just made the beds. We found markings of dirty feet, make up and hair on sheets. We called housekeeping and they sounded bothered to replace them but they did. The ceilings are also covered in what looks like old water stains. The walls are also paper thin, so be prepared to hear everything around. The 2nd biggest issue with this place is security, or the lack of. I only saw the 2 same guards and they were helping people with questions, they are nice but this place is too big to only have 2 guards at once, they were more busy answering questions for guest than actually being security guards, it's not their fault, this place is just cheap and understaffed. The parking lot isn't just for guest, a bunch of non guest use it as beach parking, so basically you can't leave the property once you found a spot unless you want to wait a long time for someone else to leave. Also, because security is basically non existent, people who are staying bring in non guest and cram rooms with people who didn't even pay to stay, this creates a potential danger for guest as those people aren't accounted for. I refuse to believe this motel doesn't know its going on,they allow it to happen. It's not comforting at all trying to spend time with your kids and seeing all kinds of random people showing up with alcohol and weed. Yes, I said weed, this place stinks of weed 24/7, personally I don't care as I'm pro 420, but there is a time and a place and it's not what I want my kids around during a vacation. This place has massive potential, great location and great pool, it's almost like someone loved it at one point then something happened and forgot it exists. I'd say its okay for couples or someone looking to have fun (partying) but if you have kids, stay away, place is dangerous. Oh, the elevators are also disgusting, they were dirty all weekend, finally someone did clean them up but only after 3 days, sorry since we are in a pandemic
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jay Odom, Owner at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach
Responded Aug 15, 2020
Thank you for the candid review. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay here at The Island. We will look into everything you mentioned and see what we can do to improve our services. Hopefully you will give us another chance to host you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elena G wrote a review Sep 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst experience ever!
We chose this hotel because it’s right on the beach. It was supposed to be a nice family vacation, which turned into a nightmare. Starting with the fact that what you see on website pictures, it’s totally opposite in real life. The hotel is very old, dirty and half of amenities they describe on website are not available.
There are no cabinets in the room (only 2 hangers on the wall), no iron or microwave.
Conditioner was to cold and we couldn’t control the temperature from thermostat in the room so we had to freeze the whole stay.
They were not providing any cleaning services, just changing towels and that’s it.
Linens were dirty (to bad I didn’t take a picture), per my request to change it they gave me new set of linens, which I hat to change myself.
No room service at all.
While in shower, saw a cockroach on the wall.
On the third day of our stay woke up with some time, red, itchy spots on my legs.
It’s says they provide towels at the pool, never could get one, every time was told they run out of towels.
The 3 bars and restaurant have such pour variety of food and drinks. First day had to wait 1 hr 40 min
for our lunch. Another day they didn’t have power so we had to wait in a restaurant full of smoke that came out of kitchen. Also we came to have lunch, 3 hrs later they finally served us dinner.
Last and most important thing! They charged us 250$ because a cleaning boy smelled smoke out of our room. We were not smoking or burning anything there. Security case and I told them that they are very welcome to come in, walk around and see that we are not doing any of that. They checked everything and left, then came back at 3 am, woke us up because they wanted to double check again. Nonsense! Bothering my sleep in the middle of the night, when you are on vacation and trying to get some rest, was the most frustrating thing.
Finally when we checked out I asked if everything is fine and we will get our 250$ deposit back, the lady at front desk obviously lied to my face and said that everything looks good and we should get that amount back on the card within 3-5 days.
2 weeks later no money, no costumer service, no good rest!!!
I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jay Odom, Owner at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach
Responded Oct 1, 2020
Y8499TEelenag, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We apologize that your experience with us was negative, our goal is to provide total satisfaction for our guests. We hope you return in the future to give us the opportunity to impress you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jose G wrote a review May 2021
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 5 days and 4 nights. Upon check our first impression was that it looked nice. When we got to the room we found blood on our linen and a toilet that didn’t refill for 10 mins. I went back to the lobby and asked for a different room which they did without any issue. The second room was better but not great. The bathrooms had a strange design with only half a piece of glass. When you took a shower all the water got all over the floor and since the floor is laminate and no rugs or carpet it made a big mess. Two other people in our party complained about dirty rooms upon check in including one that complained of blood on his linen just like ours.

During the first night they were pressure cleaning near the pool which made for a great relaxing poolside experience.

The next night we got into the jacuzzi aka hot tub which was just warm. The water level was low, the water was dirty not to mention the algae on the grout.

We were in a room that faced the grotto pool area but had to look at a parked catering truck the whole time. Not sure if it’s actually used or part of the the decor but seems like an odd place to put it and block the view from several rooms.

We ate dinner at the Fish House one night and what a mistake that turned out to be. We arrived at 545p and left at 745p. Terribly slow service in an empty restaurant, poor quality food and expensive prices. Two members of our party returned their food after speaking to the manager who admitted the food was usually better portioned and better quality.

The newer building at the rear has a nice sitting area with corn hole boards and an outdoor bar area that was nice.

They have 2 pools. The grotto pool bar with the waterfall is ice cold and then they have a smaller heated pool. One hot tub and one kiddie pool. The pools seemed fine.

I paid $166/nt as part of a group on a training seminar but understand the rooms go for $300-$400 a night. I definitely think it’s way overpriced and would never pay that type of money for such a poorly maintained property. I don’t think they deserved what I paid.

First time to the Destin/ Fort Walton Beach area and I must say it was disappointing. The whole area gave me the impression that it was old but they have remodeled over old buildings and decor instead of just doing it right.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles Cruger, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach
Responded May 16, 2021
Thank you for the detailed feedback regarding your stay. I will share all of your feedback to our department managers to better improve our services. Thank you for staying here at The Island.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Troy T wrote a review Sep 2020
Melbourne, Florida
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place seems to need much more staff. The ones we did meet were very friendly and did a good job, just doesn't seem like they have enough folks. We were there 2 nights and they never had beach towels our entire stay, saw dozens of used towels laying around the entire time we were there, never picked or washed to provide to guests, didnt even open up the beach towel hut the 2nd day. They text you and say if you have any questions just reply to this text and we will assist you. Asked twice on separate days about towels and no one ever responded. Took 30 minutes to check-in and about 15 to check out. Room wasn't very clean really either. Housekeeping came in 2nd morning restocked some items, didn't bother to make bed or anything, which seemed odd but maybe with covid they don't do that... no biggie really there, but getting everything we needed restocked would have been nice, had to go get coffee and coffee creamer from the cart ourselves as she "forgot that". Lack of really any service for the price paid is just appaling in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jay Odom, Owner at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach
Responded Oct 1, 2020
Hi Troy! We truly appreciate your constructive feedback. Our goal is to provide exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed the mark. We'd love for another opportunity to impress you as we will use your comments to continue to fine tune our services and processes.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sole2021 wrote a review Apr 2021
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for a well maintained, quiet, relaxing, clean place to stay, then stay away from this hotel. My family and I had been planning this vacation for months and were very excited to visit Fort Walton for the first time. The room is very small, the AC system does not work so they have old units that make so much noise it’s hard to sleep. The refrigerator is also very old and noisy. There are no closets or space to keep your clothes. Housekeeping is an absolute disaster! Never made our beds or changed our towels. We had to go to the front desk twice to ask for these services. We stayed for a week and never got toilet paper ( had to buy our own). Even after speaking to the front desk manager, Charles, we did not get toilet paper. I went to use the laundry room and was charged triple the amount on my card. When I went to complain they told me it was just a hold until I left, but when I wanted to use the dryer, I was unable to use that credit and instead was asked to swipe my card again for another $10 hold. It is impossible to find any parking space so they send you to park to a public parking that is not even within the hotel premises. Even though Charles was very nice and apologetic, nothing was really done to make our stay more comfortable. The staff in general is nice (except for housekeeping they are nasty), but nobody really offers a solution to any of your concerns. First day we tried finding another hotel, unfortunately because we were staying an entire week, we were unable to find accommodations, but if I had the choice I would have left immediately. When I was finally fed up, I asked for the GM’s email and was denied the information. This hotel is more like a 1 star than a 3 star. First time in my life that it actually hurts me to pay for a hotel stay. You are better off staying at a Motel 6. DO NOT STAY HERE!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles Cruger, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach
Responded May 1, 2021
Dear Soletravels2021, We are sorry to hear that your stay didn't live up to you and your families expectations. The Island is a Historic Florida Beachside Hotel with a unique retro meet modern feel that cannot be found anywhere else. We have the largest gulf front property on FWB and have unique amenities such as our iconic Grotto Swim Bar that set us apart from any other. Housekeeping is a daily service provided in the pandemic but to provide antiquate safety to our guests and employees it can be limited. We always strive to do better and will continue to work on processes. I'm sorry for any unfulfilled requests. Our guest laundry services is a luxury provided to our guests for them to wash any personal items after their adventures. The laundry services do have a pre authorization for funds but what is not used is released back to the consumer. The Island has become a guest favorite for generations and we look forward to welcoming our guests for a fun 2021 Summer! Warm Regards, Charles Cruger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristina B wrote a review Oct 2020
Centerville, Ohio
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros:
They have one heated pool
They have a beach bar, a pool fast food shack, and a restaurant
5th floor oceanfront room view of the ocean was great from balcony
Live music nightly
Restaurant is decent if they aren't busy
Location on the beach next to mall and boardwalk great

Cons:
Hot tub is unavailable
All other pools are freezing, including the one with cool swim up grotto bar
They charge 30 for 2 chairs and beach umbrella, and restrict all beach space in front of hotel to those paid spaces
Housekeeping did nothing! Only gave us towels and dumped one trash can. Didn't change sheets, clean anything, or refill toiletries! They took hours on our floor just seeming to be loitering and doing nothing overall.
No drawers in rooms for clothing or other stuff
Restaurant service was terrible in the morning. Don't order crab cakes there.
Rooms could easily be touched up to look great, but balcony paint is chipped and ceiling tiles need redone. The sheets so were scratchy, my husband thought there was sand in the bed. Small improvements like this could make the overall appearance much better.

Overall we enjoyed ourselves. I'm not sure if we would choose to stay here again though.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jay Odom, Owner at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach
Responded Oct 4, 2020
Thank you for the detailed feedback. We will share your concerns and see what we can improve on. Hopefully you'll give us another shot in the future and have a better experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leslie M wrote a review Oct 2020
Marshall, Texas
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here very recently with my family and the location was amazing but the facilities not so much. I complained to maintenance and the front desk concerning our exterior door not locking correctly and the gaps from the door and door frame allowing hot air in and bugs in and nobody did anything!! The maintenance guy that showed up in our room was very rude and acted as if I were a disruption to him and his day. I explained to the front desk personnel about the encounter and they offered to send him back to my room to see if it would at least try and fix my issue. This property is loud at all hours, the rooms are VERY small and are no where worth what you pay. There is no where to hang clothes and they do not come in and sweep your rooms until after you leave so you walk on sand your entire stay!! You are most definitely better off staying somewhere else cheaper and not paying the exorbitant prices at this hotel. The “beach view” room on the 1st floor is not a view of the beach at all but of the corn hole games on property!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jay Odom, Owner at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach
Responded Oct 16, 2020
Thank you for the candid feedback. We will share your concerns with upper management to better improve our services. Hopefully you will let us host you again in the future and have a much better stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carrie D asked a question Sep 2023
7 contributions
How clean are rooms at of this resort?
Answer from Bill Z
6 contributions1 helpful vote
The rooms are not clean. The ceiling on the outside balcony is literally falling down or sagging on most of the units. I would rather sleep in a tent than stay there.
Answer from Lisa B
2 contributions
We found parking, but a little walk. You can tell people not paying too stay there come use the pool.
Trish L wrote a tip Jul 15
Gonzales, Louisiana1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
" I would recommend getting out to the pool early to snag a chair. The cabana was rental was not worth the fee. "
Read full review
Parker B wrote a tip Jul 13
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be sure to grab pool seats early!"
Read full review
betharnone wrote a tip Jul 3
Frederick, Maryland2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"They also have no recycling in the whole resort. It is unbelievable all the cans and plastic bottles that are getting thrown away."
Read full review
mebuscemi25 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Baltimore, Maryland3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not a lot of closet space so be resourceful."
Read full review
Tripp S wrote a tip Jun 2024
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking was a little difficult, but don't be afraid of the parking garage. Bring breakfast items to save $$. Food prices at the beach are higher."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fort Walton Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
C$203 - C$414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada plaza beach hotel fort walton beach, ramada fort walton beach, fort walton beach ramada
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Island, By Hotel RL
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida PanhandleFort Walton Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
333
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach
Which popular attractions are close to The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach?
Nearby attractions include Escape Zone 60 (0.3 km), John Beasley Park (0.4 km), and The Boardwalk on Okaloosa Island (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Al's Beach Club, Rockin Tacos, and Floyd's Shrimp & Steak House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Fort Walton Beach HotelsFort Walton Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Fort Walton BeachHotels near The Island Resort At Fort Walton Beach
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars