Value Lodge

Value Lodge

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

1.5
#4 of 9 motels in Gainesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
1.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
1.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Property amenities
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )

Location

2000 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-1533
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 47 out of 100
47
Gainesville Regional Airport
Jacksonville Intl Airport
114.8 km
See all flights
6Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
clm2016 wrote a review Feb 2019
Gainesville, Florida39 contributions31 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I were exploring Gainesville due to me being accepted into a PhD program at UF. We were looking for budget motels in the area so we found this one. Big Mistake and stay away. Ants were already moved into our room, partying by some shady characters was happening at the other property. Everything about the place smelled of mildew and failure as a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, Other at Value Lodge
Responded Jul 7, 2020
clm2016, Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We greatly appreciate the time you've taken to rate our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tiffany D wrote a review Feb 2018
Sarasota, Florida516 contributions257 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
If I knew what the hotel looked like from the outside when I booked it, I wouldn't have. However, it was much better than it seemed. From the outside it looks like an hourly hotel, but it was actually fine. Not great, but fine. The guy at the front desk was nice and helpful. They don't have breakfast but they do have coffee in the mornings in the lobby. The hotel is quite rundown, but clean. The shower looked quite new, but nothing else was. Everything else was old and rundown. The lampshade in my room was horribly ripped. There was poor sleep quality because you could hear the road outside and the bed was not that comfortable. They did have a nice selection of different types of pillows. The wifi was spotty and not reliable (but free). I stayed for two nights and when they "cleaned" my room they just replaced the hand towel but didn't appear have done anything else--they didn't make the bed.
Overall, no, it isn't a nice hotel but it is inexpensive and in a good location relative to the university and not as bad as it looks from the outside.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, Other at Value Lodge
Responded Jul 7, 2020
izardtiff, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am very sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are working hard to address these issues and improve upon the guest experience. I hope you'll come back to see how we are growing, improving and evolving through constructive feedback like yours.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hermes wrote a review May 2023
Miami, Florida1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Avoid, room was dirty I told front desk person he said he will send someone with vacum but never came. Police had to came that night to check a disturbing people in next room. Do not waste your money. Thank God it was for 1 night only.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Value Lodge
Responded May 8, 2023
Dear Safari26698553162, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am shocked to hear about the situations you encountered and would like to deeply apologize. I also would like to ensure you that comments like yours are not taken lightly and will be addressed immediately with our entire team, especially regarding the cleanliness and guests' safety. The description of your stay is highly unusual and does not represent the level of high standards we all aim to achieve. We have briefed our housekeeping staff, and we will ensure a more stringent approach from here on, especially when it comes to enhancing our regular quality checks. We would hate to lose a valued guest like you and we sincerely hope you will give us another chance to host you better.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard D wrote a review Aug 2016
Panama City Beach, Florida16 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Located on 13th St it is very close to Univ of Florida Shands Medical Center and the Univ of Florida campus. The price is right and you can get a discount if visiting for medical reasons. I have stayed here three times, always just needing a place to lay my head for one night.

Rooms in the front get road noise so get a rear room if that will bother you (or use ear plugs). It is an older place and it shows. Rooms may have a light odor (I notice on entry but then it passes). Outlets are inconveniently placed regarding the night stands (no bother if you pack an extension cord). The shower heads are the small sandblaster type and positioned about 5' 6" level (chin height for me). The water stinks a bit, but that is common all over central Florida even at Disney resorts. Shampoo is offered in small tear-open packets.

There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room and free wifi via code from the office provided at check-in. Air conditioning/heating is from an under-window unit with controls on the unit. There were some small stains on my pillow cases I noticed during my last stay but they seemed freshly washed. There are three pillows on the king beds, and the beds were comfortable for me.

There is a Thai restaurant attached to the hotel (Wah Ha Ha is the name) which I enjoyed. There are some other restaurants along this road in easy walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you don't like noise ask for a room facing away from the main road.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, Other at Value Lodge
Responded Jul 7, 2020
Richard D, Your review and rating of our hotel mean a lot to us, and we thank you for taking the time to share this experience. We are so glad to hear from you and to learn that we were able to give you a pleasant, comfortable and convenient experience as a good value for your money. We greatly appreciate the time you've taken to rate our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sylvia B wrote a review Oct 2017
Miami, Florida2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is definitely the worst place we have ever been to. We were traveling during hurricane Irma and we couldn't find a place to stay for the night. We had no choice but to check in to this place. The room was dirty, old furniture, tv did not work, pillows were lumpy, sheets were wrinkled and looked used, there was lots arguing outside our room door, some young man was dealing drugs from one end of the parking lot while prostitutes were picking up "johns" at the other end. It was disgusting and scary.
We complained to the night manager and he seemed to not have noticed anything that was going on outside.
We did not stay the night and after searching for over an hour, finally found another place to spend the night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, Other at Value Lodge
Responded Jul 7, 2020
sbedoya50, We want to thank you for sharing your experience, though we are very sorry the cleanliness of your room wasn't up to our typical standards and I apologize for the negative impression we gave you. We will use your comments as a training opportunity with our housekeeping team. We hope you'll return someday to see how we have addressed and improved upon the issues that you have expressed, thanks to your valuable feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barbara W wrote a review Apr 2017
Rochester NY208 contributions135 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not the worst place I have ever stayed but it is close. To start, the front door was locked when I got there. I rang the bell for 10 minutes before someone showed up. Them I had to try to communicate through a hole in a glass window. I could barely hear what the manager was saying, and had to keep asking him to repeat. He behaved as if I was bothering him, and it took another 15 minutes for him to check me in (efficiency was not a big concern, obviously).

Parking was difficult - the spaces were narrow, and even though I drive a small car, it was hard to get me and my suitcase out of the car.

The room was shabby, not particularly clean, and stank. The light switch did not work and I had to grope my way over to the bedside lamp to turn it on.

Bathrooms were moldy, bed uncomfortable, pillows lumpy and flat.

Road noises were loud.

On the plus side, wifi worked great. Seriously, that is important and is the only thing that saved this from being a one -star.

I will not stay here again, do yourself a favor. Spend the extra $20 and stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, Other at Value Lodge
Responded Jul 7, 2020
barbarawwarren, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am very sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We appreciate your time in pointing out the areas in most need of attention as we work towards updating and improving upon our accommodations. We hope you'll come back to see how we've grown through feedback like yours.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Richard D wrote a tip Aug 2016
Panama City Beach, Florida16 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you don't like noise ask for a room facing away from the main road."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gainesville area.
PRICE RANGE
C$109 - C$124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaGainesville
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Value Lodge - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Value Lodge
What are some restaurants close to Value Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include ADAM'S RIB CO., La Tienda Latina, and Blue Gill.
Are pets allowed at Value Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Value Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Thomas Center (3.1 km).
All Gainesville HotelsGainesville Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GainesvilleHotels near Value Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars