Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events

Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events

Traveller (243)
Carriage House Bedroom
Room & Suite (70)
Sweetwater Branch Inn
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 4 B&Bs in Gainesville
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
This property has identified as Hispanic/Latinx-owned and Women-owned.
Tripadvisor does not verify the accuracy of this information.
Sweetwater Branch Inn features 29 guest suites, cottages and rooms just blocks from the University of Florida and Downtown Gainesville. All of our guests are welcome to a delicious full breakfast spread in the morning. Each of our rooms feature a private bath along with a king or queen size bed, while some rooms have additional beds, Jacuzzis, electric fireplaces, sun rooms and more! Most of our cottages are pet-friendly so feel free to travel with your fur baby. Not only do we offer lodging, but we also feature an on-site event hall that offers full catering from the Sweetwater kitchen. Host a celebration at Sweetwater's Event Hall with Sweetwater Catering Co. and then relax in one of our rooms all on the Sweetwater Property. Visit our website for additional information and pictures. See you soon!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Canoeing offsite
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Electric vehicle charging station
Street parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Patio
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Sofa
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

625 E University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 65 out of 100
65
Gainesville Regional Airport
Jacksonville Intl Airport
593Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 479
  • 75
  • 22
  • 9
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
RonaldandMisty B wrote a review Feb 2024
Panama City Beach, Florida249 contributions58 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Always a wonderful, relaxing stay! Laurent makes check in a breeze, welcoming, friendly, and knowledgeable. Grounds are absolutely beautiful! We stayed in the heirloom room in the inn this time, but usually stay in the cottages. Great breakfast! Our go to spot for visits to Shands. Close to everything, yet quiet and relaxing!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: V pizza is just down the road amazing! Cottages are very relaxing, quiet and clean. Most have...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggydoc wrote a review Aug 2020
Savannah, Georgia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was looking to get away somewhere. I stayed here for one night in a whim. The rates are amazing (lower due to a reduction in amenities caused by COVID restrictions but soooo worth it) and they have always had a great reputation in town. I got the honeymoon suite for myself. It’s one of a few really great cottages available besides the rooms in the big houses.
There were other guests but I don’t think I saw a single one. The cottage was amazing and the Togo breakfast was surprisingly filling. The breakfast crumble cake was delicious. The pool was right out side of the cottage and it is perfect. The hot tub can be brought to temp in about 15 minutes and never felt overwhelming. It was so great I stayed a second night and invited my sister for a slumber party. We got food from a near by place and sat by the pool until we couldn’t resist the comfort of that amazing bed anymore. They were so accommodating and created such a great atmosphere with the gardens and the sound of running water. Thank you so much and we’ll be back soon!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ukienomad wrote a review Oct 2020
Fleming Island, Florida6,739 contributions731 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Although the place is fairly large for a B&B, it’s a little hidden gem. We stayed in the Honeymoon Cottage which was delightful, a large area with a nice size sitting area, fireplace (non-Working), a Kingsize bed that was so comfortable, a jacuzzi tub and a small kitchenette. Rooms were nicely appointed and inviting. The many common areas on the property were great. While we were here we checked out the other B&B’s right in the area and they could not compare to this one and a lot more expensive. Because of the coronavirus situation, they provide you a continental breakfast that included orange juice, yogurt, an orange, a hard boiled egg and a homemade muffin. It was definitely ample but I did miss the full breakfast. They also have a happy hour at 5 o’clock where they provide you with some wine, beer, cheese And crackers. They do not make up the rooms during this time because of the coronavirus. They have a pool and a very nice well heated jacuzzi by the pool. Staff was very friendly and couldn’t do enough for you. We were extremely happy to be here, especially after checking out the other places. I preferred the cottages to the rooms in the main house where they were a lot smaller and furnished in a more Victorian style. We loved our room but make sure to ask if there will be any weddings when you’re booking as that would make a difference and it would be loud because the reception area would be right by the room. This is a very nice place, clean, great staff, very accommodating and a great location to the downtown area. Don’t look any further, do yourself a favor and just book this place. We will be back again. Christine at the reception area was as sweet as she can be. Very helpful and accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rich767 wrote a review Jan 2020
Fort Lauderdale, Florida49 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My son was married in Gainesville and his bride chose the Sweet Water Branch Inn as the host for the reception as well as several rooms for the family members. I personally had 2 rooms and they were lovely. The Victorian houses from the turn of the 20th century are beautiful and well maintained. The beds were great as well as all the amenities. The grounds have a garden feel to them. Cornelia the owner and her staff are gracious and helpful. Cornelia hails from the Piemonte region of Italy and she says poor cooking is not an option. She is not kidding. The breakfasts are awesome with fresh pastries, french toast, crepes and other daily treats in addition to the eggs breakfast meats and sides. The food for the reception was great too. Everything was delicious and beautifully presented. I highly recommend the Sweet Water Branch for a getaway or a catered function in their reception hall.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sweetwaterinn, Director of Sales at Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Thank you so much for the kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us anytime!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rebecca W wrote a review Feb 2020
Cape Coral, Florida91 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Sweetwater during a recent RoadScholar tour. The grounds are well maintained and one can take a relaxing stroll through the garden. Rooms were quite comfortable and very clean and tidy. The breakfast spread was delicious every morning with a wide selection of food from simple granola to baked scones to egg frittatas. Fresh fruit and orange juice as well as tea/coffee completed the meal. All the staff were exceptional. As an added bonus: wine and cheese served every day5-6pm in the main common areas. Every room has an assigned parking spot, so no worries about off street parking. We would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sweetwaterinn, Director of Sales at Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events
Responded Feb 6, 2020
Thank you so much for the kind review Rebecca. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us anytime!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane M wrote a review Mar 2021
St. Pete Beach, Florida7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the cleanest bed and breakfast we have stayed-even the Bahama shades in bedroom were free of dust; beds were comfortable; staff was friendly; owner even answered our plant questions.Very colorful plants; gardeners were efficient and passionate about their work. So glad we chose Sweetwater instead of a downtown hotel. Unique walkways and pollinator friendly plants.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We were in Blue Room because we wanted a tub instead of a shower and quiet room and a bed with...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Que3nieuk wrote a review May 2022
Bournemouth, United Kingdom96 contributions71 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were really excited to book his apparently beautiful B&B … but we will never stay there again.
After a long drive we were “greeted” by a miserable receptionist who flung a load of information at us without a smile, along with the key. She certainly needs some training in how to welcome Guests!
We went to our room, looking forward to a good soak in the tub … but it was filthy. By the time we had unpacked and scooted out for something to eat, reception was closed and we only had a number for “emergencies” and whilst disgusting, we did not think a dirty bath constituted an emergency.
The whole room felt grubby, although the sheets were clean.
The staff, other than the receptionist, were lovely!
Breakfast was ok, but a bit of a lack of attention to detail. It was like a scavenger hunt to find a set of cutlery, there was no fresh milk for tea, and a lot of stodgy food on offer.
We returned the next day to find that the bed had not been made, nor the coffee replenished.
The huge deal made of cheese and wine every afternoon was a joke. Wine in a sealed plastic cup and cheap cheese and a bit of salami in a pack were on offer. My husband wanted a soft drink instead of wine … and this was added to our bill!
To cap it all, when I asked for the Bath to be cleaned the owner stormed upstairs to our room, hammered on the door and proceeded to screech at us for wanting a clean bath, and a lecture on did we know how hard it was to get staff … with her attitude to us as Guests, I can well believe she would have trouble getting staff! It seems that the lady thought it was unreasonable for us to expect a clean bath, and what did we expect for the money! We were utterly astounded!!!

Anyway, we returned to Gainesville today and stayed at another historic B&B … funnily enough we did not return to Sweetwater Branch Inn.

For the same cost we are staying at the Camelia Rose B&B … and what a difference! A warm welcome awaited us, along with a fridge and cupboard full of snacks and drinks which were included in the room rate, along with a chat about where we are from etc etc … good Southern Hospitality! Along with, you guessed it … a clean bath! Our room is pretty with lots of attention to detail. We will definitely come back to the Camelia Rose B&B!

So, in summary if you like to stay somewhere unwelcoming, grubby and have a run in with a miserable stressed out and rude owner, then Sweetwater Branch Inn is your No1 choice … otherwise, I would stay elsewhere!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Yes, stay somewhere else!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles Ely, Marketing at Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events
Responded Jun 3, 2022
We are terribly sorry for not being able to provide you with a more satisfactory stay. We really strive for every guest to have a wonderful stay at Sweetwater Branch Inn. We have spoken to several staff members and watched the audio and visual footage from our cameras in our public spaces, and will work to mitigate any issues that occurred. We understand you were tired from traveling, and that the uniqueness of our space can require some explanation. I am sorry you did not find our receptionist friendly. She tried to make a friendly conversation but was met with short responses that made it clear to her that you did not want to stay and hear her out anymore. I am sorry things were not up to par with other locations you may have visited but we will invest in more training for our staff in hopes of not having a situation like this happen again. I am terribly sorry for how dirty the jacuzzi was in your room. We have spoken to the staff member in charge of cleaning it and have taken the necessary steps so this does not occur again. I understand you did not want to call the emergency number when you realized how dirty the tub was, but a guest not feeling comfortable in their space, especially not being able to shower, does constitute an emergency. We offered to change your room on several occasions but you refused. Nevertheless, it should never have occurred, to begin with. Our Breakfast is a chef's choice and is one of the things we are most well known for in the community. I apologize we did not have any plain scrambled eggs instead of a variety of frittatas that we have available. When we were made aware of your dietary restriction we made the accommodations for the remaining stay. All cutlery is displayed on the counter, staff is available to get more if any runs out. All of our drinks are fresh as we have them delivered the day prior for breakfast every morning, I apologize we did not have an array of milk options at your disposal. We are working to see if it would be worth it for other guests to have multiple options. In order to keep our staff safe since Covid, we have suspended all housekeeping during your stay. This is done to reduce contamination of all diseases that can be spread by staff entering your room while you are not there. If something is needed we inform guests at check-in to notify the front desk and we will make sure your requests are taken care of. Our wine and cheese hour has also gone mobile since Covid. We offer everything in sealed packages to prevent the spread of any disease. Most of our guests enjoy this because they can grab their items and take a stroll through our gardens, sit in the gazebo, or by our Koi pond. I apologize this was not explained to you in better detail upon check-in. Our owner, Cornelia Holbrook, is very passionate about her Inn as she has grown it from just 5 rooms to what it is today. I understand you did not care for her explanation of why things happen. She tries her best to let guests know the process behind things as it helps guests gain more of an understanding. Once again we cannot apologize enough for you not having a good stay at Sweetwater. We are pleased to know you found comfort in Camila Rose. They are a wonderful property with many amenities and great accommodations. We are a family-run business and appreciate all feedback so we can continue to grow and improve. We valued your feedback. Thank you and have a great day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lisa e wrote a review Jun 2020
Central Florida, Florida2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service was helpful, considerate, and welcoming. I needed a quiet place that I could both relax and work. Called from the road and the office staff spent time describing the individual rooms to help me pick the one best for my requests. The bed was comfortable and the room unique. I planned to stay 2 nights but added 2 more. Best kept secret that due to COVID limitations (i.e. no happy hour) rates are reduced making it much more affordable. Grounds are well kept and gorgeous. Can”t wait for a reason to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Each room is unique, tell them what you are looking for and they will help you get the right room...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Traveler T wrote a review Jul 2021
Atlanta, Georgia187 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here one night on our way back home from the beach. The buildings are lovely as are the gardens. We especially liked the option of different rooms available in the multiple buildings. We liked the Julia Room. The Julia Room is on the 2nd floor; it had a new AC unit, was spacious and the bed was very comfortable.

The B&B is not far off I-75 and close to downtown and the University of Florida campus.

The property is transitioning back to normal services. There is a happy hour each afternoon with a to-go wine and cheese tray you can take and eat outside at one of the tables on the front porch. They are also moving toward a full breakfast. They have a few wrapped, hot items (serve yourself) and a breakfast bag each morning, available at the main house. The breakfast bag includes cold items like juice, yogurt and a hard boiled egg.

The Owner and staff were very attentive to our needs. If the B&B were back to normal (pre-Covid) practices I would have given them an excellent (5) rating.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bob b wrote a review Nov 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
WOW, i’m not quite sure where to begin or what to praise the highest! My son and I stayed in the Giovanna room for 3 nights, it was hands down the nicest stay and most pleasant staff i’ve EVER dealt with from here to Oahu. The check-in through the groundskeepers were exCEPtionally kind to both my son and myself, we spent much time between the gorgeous porch (fantastic rocking chairs) to the courtyard and each staff associate we encountered were both pleasant and seemed genuine in their attitudes, which is huge with me. We enjoyed the spectacular breakfast each morning and adored the set up of being cooked for individually and served by the gracious chefs of the morning with a smile! All the food was perfection, we were still talking about how tasty the OJ was when driving home lol. The rooms are perfect, beds were like pillows brought to us by dream lords and the circular wooden staircase was just to die for, I adored it! Butterscotch the cat and I enjoyed the mornings together, he is now my favorite cat in Gainesville! All areas were very clean, smelled delightful and were lit properly based on the surrounding needs, always a plus:))) I cannot express deeply enough how much I love my new yearly rendezvous destination, thank you so very much to all who own, work at and help keep such a gem of a place open. We will be booking for the same trip next year!!!! :):):):) - Justin & Gavin
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: • Eat the breakfast • Pet the wonderful cat Butterscotch •book early or i’ll book the room!! :)~
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles Ely, Marketing at Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events
Responded Dec 23, 2022
Oh my goodness thank you so much! We appreciate your thoughtful and sweet review. It was a joy hosting you. Bon voyage!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
4simou asked a question Jul 2021
Raleigh, NC9 contributions
Is the shuttle bus still running and is it free? Thanks!
Gainesville, Florida
Hello, I'm sorry but we no longer have a shuttle. Thank you for calling attention to the error.
Jennie C asked a question Dec 2019
Clearwater, Florida
Are there ironing boards and irons in the rooms?
Answer from loren m
1 contribution
I never looked for an iron or board. I would just call the Inn and ask. The place was great and I really loved it, Staff was wonderful
Gainesville, Florida
All cottages have their own refrigerator, but the rooms in the McKenzie House and Cushman-Colson House do not. However, the two houses have a refrigerator in the common area that guests can use, but it is shared with the other guests in the inn. Yes there is refrigerator space that can be used, but depending on the room rented it may be shared vs. private.
RonaldandMisty B wrote a tip Feb 2024
Panama City Beach, Florida249 contributions58 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"V pizza is just down the road amazing! Cottages are very relaxing, quiet and clean. Most have private, or semi private porches."
Read full review
Tina L wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sai Towers and Ashram are fabulous, Tibetans lovely. Other traders in PP not necessarily Help Ever Hurt Never. Sai Ram "
Read full review
R G wrote a tip Apr 2023
36 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We loved they Honeymoon cottage, even though we weren't officially on our honeymoon. "
Read full review
John W wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool.is not real big, so plan ahead if you want a good seat."
Read full review
Albert H wrote a tip Mar 2023
Annapolis, Maryland4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't forget, there is a pool out back!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gainesville area.
PRICE RANGE
C$221 - C$293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sweetwater branch hotel gainesville
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaGainesville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events
Which popular attractions are close to Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events?
Nearby attractions include Depot Park (0.8 km), The Hippodrome State Theatre (0.5 km), and Thomas Center (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harry's Seafood Bar & Grille, Dragonfly Sushi & Sake Co Incorporated, and The Top.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Gainesville.
Are pets allowed at Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Gainesville HotelsGainesville Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GainesvilleHotels near Sweetwater Branch Inn Lodging & Events
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars