AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown

The rooftop pool
Traveller (126)
Suite- King Bed
Room & Suite (55)
AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#28 of 54 hotels in Gainesville
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Tennis court
Kids stay free
Valet parking
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kid-friendly buffet
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
124Reviews5Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 58
  • 37
  • 9
  • 11
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Adena D wrote a review Jan 2021
Melbourne Beach, Florida79 contributions54 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The AC Marriott, a dog friendly boutique hotel with very modern sleek designed rooms is the nicest and newest hotel catering to those visiting the University of Florida. The perfect location for walking to restaurants, shops, and UF! The rooftop pool and gym have amazing views at sunset with the Century Tower and Gators stadium in view. The lobby is very clean and smelled appealing. The modern bathrooms were very well done with a rainshower. The elevators ran smoothly as did checkin/checkout. The bar desperately needs more experienced support. $20 Parking in designated garage next door made checkin slightly complicated. I felt it was a good value and would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Concord Hospitality, Other at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown
Responded Jan 17, 2021
Dear kitesurfcaddy, We are thrilled to hear that we provided you with a comfortable stay. Your sincere feedback, which includes successes and areas for improvement, help guide our team who strive to deliver remarkable service. Thank you for selecting our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your return. Best, Devin Frank General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda M wrote a review Nov 2021
Mankato, Minnesota36 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
No housekeeping during stay, room was not stocked with soap, shampoo, etc when we arrived, elevator out of service our entire stay, expensive valet parking, dark room and bathroom, food from a prior guest (maybe a piece of donut) under the edge of a chair, task light burned out on one side of the bed, wood or tile bedroom floor, tiny nightstands (problematic for CPAP users) not much in the way of TV channels. I did bump the rating from a 3 to a 4 because they had an emergency sewing kit at the front desk when I found the decorative buttons falling of the jacket to my dress.

Sadly, the more expensive the hotel, the fewer services they offer and this is an industry standard. We prefer Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express; reasonable prices, consistent services & cleanliness and complimentary breakfast. We've never found food from a prior guest under the edge of furniture in a Hampton Inn or a Holiday Inn Express but this is the 2nd time we've seen food under the edge of furniture in a higher price hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sunny Finnell, Other at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown
Responded Nov 14, 2021
Dear lindam797, While I am glad that your stay was okay overall, I regret that we didn't provide a WOW experience. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations and I am sorry we fell short. Thank you for sharing your detailed review. We thrive on the feedback and count on our guests to help us focus our efforts on areas that need improvement. We hope to see you back for an even better stay in the future. Best, Devin Frank General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nparry wrote a review Sep 2020
St. Augustine, Florida90 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Awesome location, walking distance to everything on UF campus. Great very reasonably priced food options at AC Kitchen. Complimentary coffee in the lobby in the am. Super dog friendly with dedicated dog outdoor relief area as part of complex. Very efficient checkin - no valet at present, self parking - very convenient. This AC has always been our choice to stay in Gainesville and now we can visit our Gator son with our 10lb dog - the whole family is happy. Appreciate the staff at AC Marriott going above and beyond to create a welcoming, safe clean environment with very challenging Covid circumstances. We will be back every month!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Fantastic to bring your dog. Dog park as part of complex.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Concord Hospitality, Other at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown
Responded Sep 10, 2020
Dear nparry, We are delighted you took the time to share your kind review; we value your comments. It’s wonderful to know your stay was pleasant. I’m glad you enjoyed our pet-friendly location and ample amenities. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Best, Devin Frank General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanya H wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location, very close to UF campus. Our room was on the 5th floor. It had everything we needed - nice and clean. The disappointing part of our trip was breakfast and lack of service! My family paid $52 for breakfast for 3 people. First of all, the “waitress” announced the cost per person and walked away. We cleaned up a table for 3, found silverware and coffee cups since no one was available there to assist. The breakfast buffet had toasts, jams and sliced meats. They also had a whole prosciutto on the cutting board with meat slicer. When my husband asked for a few slicers of prosciutto, the waitress replied that no one was there to cut the meat. Save your money and pick up Wawa breakfast sandwich 100 feet from the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Other at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown
Responded May 22, 2022
Dear Tanya H, Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry to hear about the unfortunate experience you had at breakfast and would certainly never want to leave you with a poor impression. Please know that your comments are being addressed with our team and additional steps will be taken to ensure we're doing all we can to serve our guests. We hope you'll consider staying with us again. Sincerely, Devin Frank General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rich T wrote a review Mar 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia6 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I reached out to book the AC online thru the Marriott website as a frequent Marriott business traveler. Just heard from my senior daughter that UF was asking graduating seniors if they'd consider coming back to UF over the summer for a delayed/new graduation weekend. I accidentally booked a nonrefundable fare. Went back to change it online, couldn't (was within 24 hour cancel period). Called Marriott, customer service assisted with changing my reservation to what i meant to book a standard room rate. Was told by the Marriott customer service repr that the rate had tripled in the 10 minutes since I had booked the original booking. AC Hotel should be begging customers to take a chance and book this summer! Taking my business to Hilton and Hyatt and Holiday Inn, booked at the Hampton Inn downtown Gainesville, encourage anyone brave enough to book now in the midst of this crisis to boycott the AC and book with a hotel which truly appreciates getting customers to book again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ConcordHospitality, General Manager at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown
Responded Mar 20, 2020
Dear ThoTho1, I'm very sorry about your poor reservation experience. In response to changing marketplace conditions, Marriott International is committed to ensuring our customers experience flexibility during these challenging times and are allowing full changes or cancellation without a charge up to 24 hours prior to arrival. Additionally, we are doing everything we can to keep our rates competitive and market appropriate. I'm at your service should you require additional assistance and we hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future. Sincerely, Devin Frank General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fridayc wrote a review Jan 2020
fridayc8 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have to travel to Gainesville every couple of months for residency sessions at the Hough Graduate School of Business. This is a new, modern and reasonably priced (except on football weekends) hotel that checks off all the boxes for me. A large modern shower and bathroom and a comfortable bed are key for me and AC Marriott has both of them and more. I like the modern and dare I say "sparten" design of the room.....very European. The location is great for me as I can walk right across the street to the B-school for my meetings and I am within walking distance to many great dining options. Also, there is a great roof-top pool that has great views of the campus at night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Make sure to book well in advance if you want to stay during a football weekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ConcordHospitality, General Manager at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear ycarney, We are happy to hear that the hotel's location is ideal for your time in Gainesville and that our decor and overall vibe impressed you. Our minimalist guest rooms are designed to be purposeful - giving guests everything they need and eliminating the elements that they don't. It is great to hear that you liked them! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback as it helps us see how we are doing and what we can improve. Please come again soon. Best, Devin Frank General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David_Ba928 wrote a review Aug 2020
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania97 contributions85 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I always say that you can’t appreciate someone or an organization’s worth until you see them in the face of adversity. The AC Hotel in Gainesville has thrived in the face of the Covid pandemic. Being on the campus of University of Florida, the hotel will always be occupied, especially during move-in weeks. They have implemented noticeable and easy to use Covid policies. Hand sanitizer everywhere, well marked reminders, etc. Most importantly, their staff is welcoming and eager to assist. You do not walk by an employee without a friendly greeting.
Kudos to management. We will return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Concord Hospitality, Other at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown
Responded Aug 21, 2020
Dear David_Ba928, Thanks for your time in reviewing your experience. It’s encouraging to know you enjoyed our service and that you felt safe. Your recommendation is appreciated; our associates work hard to provide a pleasant stay. We look forward to your return! Best, Devin Frank General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bonniefabian wrote a review Jan 2020
Aventura, Florida28 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family of four visited the University of Florida in Gainesville for a campus tour for one of my daughters. We booked two rooms at the AC Hotel and I’m so pleased that we did.
This hotel checked all the boxes that I look for: Clean, comfortable, light and with all the comforts from home.
The rooms were super clean. No carpets on the wood floors which I liked. The bedding was crisp and white. The mattress firm and comfortable. Outlets for cell phones next to the bed, modern bathroom with good shower and good hairdryer.
Everything looked stylish and modern. The only thing lacking was closet space and shelves. There was a small hanging area and only two drawers. This is fine for a short stay but not longer. Perhaps other rooms or suites have extra drawers.
Breakfast was European style - cheeses, cold cuts, baguettes and croissants. There were an assortment of quiches and good coffee.
The Lobby is comfortable and well designed. The AC hotels by Marriott have found a good combination of comfort and style.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ConcordHospitality, General Manager at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Dear bonniefabian, Thank you for taking the time to share this glowing review of your experience at the AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown! We appreciate your detailed comments and are glad that all aspects of your stay were enjoyable. I will be certain to share your comments with our staff who truly love making our guests feel welcome when they come to town. Please find a reason to visit us again soon! Best, Devin Frank General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
5atthebeach2018 wrote a review Jun 2022
Palm City, Florida6 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was very nice and clean with friendly front desk staff. I liked that we could turn up the fan in the room to block out outside noise. I didn’t like that ice was unavailable on our floor. The bathroom, while nicely turned out, was a black hole with the dark wallpaper absorbing all the light so it made seeing well to do hair and makeup a challenge for my daughter and me. The most surprising thing was the awful breakfast that the hotel offer. They should be embarrassed for charging people for it. The fruit bowls were empty, the bananas were green and the eggs we asked for were overly salted and soaked in butter. The rest of the offerings were very meager. I would definitely eat somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown
Responded Jun 2, 2022
Dear 5atthebeach2018, While it wasn't without some flaws, I am glad to hear that your stay was a pleasant one overall. Thank you so much for taking the time to share these informative words with us and other potential travelers. We hope that you will consider a return trip for a flawless experience next time. Best, Devin Frank General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IMS wrote a review Dec 2021
5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was dirty, windows and floors too. Almost all surfaces of the hotel were dirty, with fingerprints and other spots.
You pay breakfast at the facility but do not expect anything good or enough. Coffee corner was sticky and dirty. Piles of plates waiting to be cleaned and not beautiful place to eat your breakfast with children close to the bar/alcohol area. Manager was attending and serving our cold breakfast. High price for not quality/quantity food.
Dark areas going to your room and clients elevator is used for the employees.
THIS IS A 4 STARS AC Marriott hotel? Very disappointed.
We arrive safely at the hotel with our car, we paid $28 for parking night. No doorman you will need carry your luggage to your room. Next day Valet return our car with a flat tire, he helped us to change spear tire. We spent an extra $150 in a new tire and 2 hours late on our trip. We did not want to discuss the situation with the manager out of respect for our worried family.
I have been client of AC (Antonio Catalan) for more than 25 years. AC is a wonderful hotel chain in Spain. They have quality and a wonderful service. But here in Gainsville, FL I will write three words Worse Hotel Experience.
Wine was good (Ramon Bilbao 2016) from Spain. Dinner food at the hotel was decent but only 6 options and 1 dessert (a plate with one warm chocolate cookie and three warm macaroons) of course not homemade. Open a box, warm it, and serving.
This hotel is pet friendly then be ready to see a lot of dogs walking and sitting close to you. We are pet lovers, for us was good.
All garbage containers were full and hotel restroom was dirty. Looks like they don't have enough employees or the employees are not doing their job.
And forget any Covid-19 measures...the bartender was chewing gum with his mask under his chin and the lady who was serving our food from the kitchen had beautiful long eyelashes and nails, golden teeth but no mask. We are praying nobody is sick.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sunny Finnell, Other at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown
Responded Dec 29, 2021
Dear NormaMadrid1086, Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from AC Hotels. The details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark. Your feedback provides us with the valuable information we need to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again. Sincerely, Devin Frank General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary S asked a question Jan 2022
Is the pool heated?
Answer from ConcordHospitality
31 contributions22 helpful votes
All parking is valet, but we do have parking spaces for handicapped.
Traveler_Gurly asked a question Oct 2018
Melbourne, Florida152 contributions66 helpful votes
Are there fridge and microwaves in the room?
Answer from Busi m
Pretoria, South Africa67 contributions5 helpful votes
Yes a small one.No Microwave
Kelly M asked a question Jun 2018
Naples, Florida4 contributions1 helpful vote
what time are check in/out
Answer from viviancolbert
Raleigh, North Carolina27 contributions3 helpful votes
Check in 3pm Check out noon. You can always ask for early check in or late check out and if they are not full they may honor. Call first thing in the morning of arrival to request early check in and a room preference.
Traveler_Gurly asked a question Apr 2018
Melbourne, Florida152 contributions66 helpful votes
I was just wandering if you're a platinum rewards member does this hotel include Breakfast?
Answer from stphallen
Atlanta, Georgia84 contributions42 helpful votes
No they give you a choice of points or a 10 dollar credit per person for breakfast, so it ends up being about 7 dollars plus tip per platinum guest. They will upgrade your room to a corner suite if available. Very large room with separate bed and living room.
JDSoui wrote a tip Nov 2023
Tampa, Florida6,502 contributions16,460 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Elevated floors offer good views of the campus and surrounding areas"
Read full review
Steven B wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"DO NOT leave your car here!"
Read full review
Resort276668 wrote a tip Jul 2022
139 contributions107 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here!"
Read full review
Shaun S wrote a tip Jun 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Park your own car. Avoid the valet."
Read full review
Tiffany B wrote a tip May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own housekeeping supplies and sanitizer"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gainesville area.
PRICE RANGE
C$229 - C$344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaGainesville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
144
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Ben Hill Griffin Stadium (1.0 km), Stephen C. O'Connell Center (1.1 km), and Florida Fun Bikes (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Piesanos Stone Fired Pizza, Krispy Kreme Doughnuts, and Karma Cream.
Are there opportunities to exercise at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Thomas Center (1.8 km).
All Gainesville HotelsGainesville Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GainesvilleHotels near AC Hotel Gainesville Downtown
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars