We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3743 Hull Rd, Gainesville, FL 32607-4147
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$105
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$105
TravelocityUS$105
Aloft.comUS$105
AlgotelsUS$113
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (10)
Videos (1)

About

#31 of 57 hotels in Gainesville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Celebrate your style at Aloft Gainesville University Area, a hip hotel where you'll be close to the University of Florida campus. Our vibrant hotel offers design-inspired guest rooms, event spaces, a fitness facility, and onsite dining with live music.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Cable / satellite TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Explore Gainesville Package
93Reviews4Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 42
  • 18
  • 10
  • 12
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ian i wrote a review Oct. 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife who had to check in by herself (with a broken foot with a boot on) was given a faulty room key during check in. After going back and forth with her boot she told the front clerk Melanie she is not walking back to the front for the 3rd time. Melanie, after complaining she is too busy to assist my wife, finally helped her. Once in the first room, my wife noticed the sheets were not changed and found a bundle of hair on the pillows… my wife called Melanie and she told my wife “that’s up to house keeping” she had no control. My wife had to convince Melanie to give her a clean room. I called and complained but no call back.. this was 2 weeks ago. Horrible customer service. Ambassador status doesn’t even get you decent service at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Last resort if all other hotels are occupied
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
J W wrote a review Jun. 2021
59 contributions15 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We went for a family trip, the hotel has a great location. It is so clean, everything is very in very good conditions, the rooms are very nice decorated, beds are clean and comfortable. They pamper you with small but important details. Modern, neat, comfortable and great price.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David_Ba928 wrote a review Sep. 2022
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania91 contributions85 helpful votes
Very nice, modern, hotel. Rooms are fairly large and well-appointed. Staff is incredibly friendly and engaging. Lively lounge area with game weekend activities. It is close enough to campus to get to activities and far enough away to have some peace & quiet. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dennis B wrote a review Sep. 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Many businesses boast about their standards of customer service and how they will ‘go the extra mile’ for their customers. These sentiments are fine and commendable. However, the reality can be somewhat different. On Sept 10, we experienced poor treatment from someone with a hotel tag named Dylan, Of course it could not be a manager, this person treated me, a family and a host of guest that hired the conference room with no respect, no manners or show any appreciation, I feel bad for the guest that were kicked out of the parking lot in such a disrectpecful manager, as a professional photographer I would not stay in this place, beautifull architecture does not make for a beautiful experience, If you don't like people you cannot provide good customer service. Sad but true the guest were not impressed by the behavior and unprofessional approach.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
dthomas2016 wrote a review Sep. 2022
Royal Palm Beach, Florida10 contributions11 helpful votes
So I’m a Bonvoy Platinum Elite member. Average a hundred nights a year in a hotel. I’ve never had to park off property … ever. Bring your walking shoes. So they apparently have controls for football games…. I get it. But no exceptions for Platinum Elite members is disappointing to say the least.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
MCG wrote a review Aug. 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Nice gym and front desk employees were very polite. Unfortunately the hotel is not in a good location since it is not walking distance from restaurants or any attractions. Cleaning service wasn’t provided every day even though it was requested at check-in. I was later told that room service is only provided every other day, but the next day my room service consisted only of getting clean towels. Pretty disappointing. If Covid was the reason for the limited service, that should have been mentioned at check-in. However employees were not wearing masks and there were no Covid-related signs anywhere. I’m not sure what caused the lack in cleaning services. Also, some of towels provided were old and ripped. Tissue box was empty and never refilled. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for business travel. Our team schedule changed due to equipment breakdown, so we had to cut our trip short by one day. The hotel didn’t allow us to check out a day early. I understand this is the hotel policy, but other hotels such as Hilton are more accommodating and allow early check out as a courtesy. We have approximately 250 employees in our government office. Having these types of additional charges is very inconvenient especially when tax-payers money is used to cover these expenses. Lesson learned. We’ll book different hotel next time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
sienna c wrote a review Aug. 2022
1 contribution
I stay here all the time while visiting my mom. The bartenders Nick and Noah are fantastic they have fast and very informed service. Nick was very accommodating with my pickiness when it comes to the taste of drinks! Noah made great food and was very attentive!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dylan Roberts, General Manager at Aloft Gainesville University Area
Responded Aug. 4, 2022
Thank you for your rave review siecca c! Our team is a critical role in creating a memorable guest experience and we will share your comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you on a future trip to Gainesville!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
beccakristfelt wrote a review Aug. 2022
Austin, Texas252 contributions139 helpful votes
While we were waiting to check in, we witnessed a front desk clerk and manager being wildly rude to a guest checking in to attend a wedding If we had anywhere else to go, we would have left immediately. The guest was NOT being rude, there was a misunderstanding on her reservation, and their response to her was unwarranted as they had the room she needed. We enjoyed the hotel bar that evening as it rained heavily. Note, although this says "University area" this is not walking distance to anything. The next morning, as we were sleeping and before 8 am, the maids came along to open and check EVERY single room on our floor, allowing the doors to slam shut. Trust me, these doors slam loudly as they are steel doors. My husband walked out and asked them to gently shut the doors. He asked very nicely. It did not stop. Next we heard the same thing on the floor above. IT WAS THE WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE I HAVE HAD IN A LONG TIME. The only person who worked at the hotel who was exceptionally nice was the young lady at the desk as we checked out. She was wonderful. I forgot her name. A beautiful pregnant young black woman. She was a ray of sunshine.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dylan Roberts, General Manager at Aloft Gainesville University Area
Responded Aug. 4, 2022
We are sorry to hear about the interaction you overheard regarding someone else in the lobby and will be addressing it with our team. Additionally we have spoken with the rooms team on that floor to ensure this is an isolated incident. We are happy to hear that Ms. Brandi left you on a high note and have shared your positive feedback with her as well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
srudowitz wrote a review Jun. 2022
Orlando, Florida29 contributions42 helpful votes
Poor customer service from front desk staff. I would avoid room 416 until they can fix the cleanliness and shower. Assistant GM listened to concerns, but made no effort to rectify a long time Marriot customer experience. I will not be back to this property.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Do not stay in room 416, it was less than desirable.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
S E wrote a review May 2022
Tampa, Florida18 contributions49 helpful votes
Disappointed. Stayed here graduation weekend. Hotel hallway carpet for 2 days had trash on the floor never picked up while we were there. Reserved hotel for 4 and found 2 bath towels. . Found a dead large spider in the shower. Next day following housekeeping, it was still there. Room wasn’t cleaned very well. Realize prices are inflated during graduation but for $400/night, it was a scam. Following weekend, we had to return to Gainesville and stayed at a different hotel and had a far better experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Dylan Roberts, General Manager at Aloft Gainesville University Area
Responded May 28, 2022
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience at our property. We hope to see you on a future trip to Gainesville to rectify this experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$118 - US$156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaGainesville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
146
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Aloft Gainesville University Area - Reviews, Prices UPDATED 2022 - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Aloft Gainesville University Area
Which popular attractions are close to Aloft Gainesville University Area?
Nearby attractions include Butterfly Rainforest (0.9 km), Florida Museum of Natural History (0.9 km), and Samuel P. Harn Museum of Art (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aloft Gainesville University Area?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Aloft Gainesville University Area?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Aloft Gainesville University Area?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aloft Gainesville University Area?
Conveniently located restaurants include Metro Diner, Olive Garden, and Gumby's Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aloft Gainesville University Area?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Aloft Gainesville University Area?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Aloft Gainesville University Area?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Aloft Gainesville University Area offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Aloft Gainesville University Area?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Thomas Center (5.9 km).
Is Aloft Gainesville University Area accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.