Red Roof Plus + Gainesville

Red Roof Plus + Gainesville

Traveller (138)
Complimentary "Premium Room Treat"
Room & Suite (115)
Fenced in for
Pool & Beach (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#15 of 54 hotels in Gainesville
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Red Roof PLUS+ Gainesville is one of the best 100% smoke-free budget hotels in Gainesville, Florida that is near the University of Florida. Our family-friendly hotel is not far from the Stephen C. O’Connell Center, Ben Hill Griffin Stadium, Gainesville Raceway, the Florida Museum of Natural History, the Harn Museum of Art, Curtis M. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, the Kanapaha Botanical Gardens, Gainesville Regional Airport (GNV), Shands Hospital, Malcom Randall VA Medical Center and Celebration Pointe shopping center. We offer our guests free Verified Wi-Fi, and free coffee in the lobby. Upgrade to one of our Premium rooms where we will have a snack ready for you in your room! This Red Roof PLUS+ Gainesville, Florida is a pet-friendly hotel. The hotel is currently offering limited cleaning for stayover guests. Please see front desk upon arrival for details. Pool is closed for repairs.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English

Location

3500 SW 42nd St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2393
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 58 out of 100
58
Gainesville Regional Airport
14.2 km
See all flights
Jacksonville Intl Airport
118.5 km
See all flights
723Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 374
  • 195
  • 92
  • 29
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Luis R. wrote a review Feb 2020
charlotte, United States
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Monica, the front desk person, was able to attend to our needs by repairing he room a/c and phone! Would no give up until she took care of us. The room is good value compared to nearby hotels. Select suite premium and you get two rooms with refrigerator, microwave, in room safe and king beds. Can’t beat it with a stick!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Select a premium room or suite. For just a bit more money you get all the goodies!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mery Lugo, General Manager at Red Roof Plus + Gainesville
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Dear luisrj2015, I am glad that you found your accommodations clean and to your expectations. I'm happy to hear that Monica was helpful in assisting you with all of your questions and needs in a courteous and professional manner. We will look forward to seeing you again the next time that you visit the area. Thanks again for sharing with others. Sincerely, Mery Lugo General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Noralduncan wrote a review Nov 2021
Hartford, Connecticut
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It would be a good value if we didn’t pay UF football game weekend pricing. We paid $465 for 2 nights and it’s $85 a night today.

It’s Nov 2021, and I no longer accept “there’s no coffee service because of COVID”. There was an in room coffee maker.

The staff member we interacted with was polite and efficient. The room was clean. The beds were comfortable,

They seem to have used a chemical spray in the elevator that shouldn’t even be legal. All of us stared coughing immediately and that was the last time we used it until we needed to get our luggage out to leave.

It was acceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim G wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was short on time to get my son dressed to go to his prom.
I got checked in. We walked to room 117. House keeping was cleaning. I didn’t have any time to spare. I went back to the front counter to get some help.
A very nice young man said he would check.
We followed him to the room. He spoke to the house keeping lady, she said it would be around 10 minutes. I said I don’t have 10 minutes. He went right back in grabbed a couple trash bags and some cleaner.
He volunteered to help without a question.
I almost fell over.
Normally I would expect to hear “ sorry but that not my job”.
Steve needs to be recognized for this simple but huge effort.
Thank you very much Steve!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shula R wrote a review Sep 2022
Hollywood, Florida
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I'll start with the positives. The location is great right off 75 and next to Bulter plaza and Celebration point. Friendly night check in clerk. Now on to the review of the hotel/property. Upon checking in late on a Thursday night, the night check in clerk was friendly. She checked me in and only gave me one key, not asking if I needed another key for the 2 double beds. I grabbed one bed and other guest grabbed the other. After getting settled, they said the bed smells like dog. It was very late and we were exhausted so dealt with it for the night since we figured housekeeping wasn’t their at almost midnight anyway. The next morning at 9:18am, there is a loud noise coming from the hallway. Apparently before daily check out time, when people might still be sleeping, is an appropriate time to vacuum the hallways.
After tending to our business for the morning, we went to let the front desk know the bed smelled like dog. Rather than oh I’m so sorry, let me fix that for you, we were asked why we didn’t complain night before. When we said we checked in very late and just wanted to sleep, we were given a flat and fitted sheet and sent on our way like that fixed the problem. No pillowcase, comforter, offer to change the sheets which clearly were not in between guests, nor an apology. Completely unsanitary and leads you to question what other shortcuts were taken based on appearances. The hotel is a mix of updated and old. Doors to rooms all look they’ve had years of abuse. Bathrooms have leaks and wall damage but room area itself looks newer. The AC sometimes sounds like it’s getting ready to take off, very loud when running.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for rooms that have not had pets in them! Higher floor maybe you can sleep later from vacuuming.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Companion16657501331 wrote a review Jul 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked ADA room for me and my elderly parent. Hotel gave me a regular room. I told I needed bars in the shower, the obnoxious concierge person just offered me a one king bed. O told him I needed 2 separate beds as it was reserved, then he repeated they were out of ADAs. After a long discussion, she. I asked him several times to call his manager (he I dusted he was the manager on duty a d that there was no one to talk to), he finally got inside and came back offering me 2 bedrooms for the first night (one of which ADA). I took it, but he said I would need to switch the following night when their ADA would be available. So we went up to our bedrooms, and we got a call from the very same concierge guy saying the ADA was ready, because the person who was going to use it didn't want it anymore. I just did t understand, and I asked him why after all this the ADA was available. He said the other ADA guest didn't arrive yet!!! So I guess the concierge person was CHOOSING one guest over another? We arrived with the right reservation and he said no at first? Then when I came down to get things straight and change rooms he was accompanied by a woman who started to yell at me, cursing, threatening me like crazy, accusing me of mistreating the person at the concierge. She started to record me for social media. The person at the concierge did NOTHING to stop that lamentable situation created by the hotel. I just felt very unsafe and left with my elderly parent. Now we are goi g to fight over a refund, to say the least. Just don't stay there! Low prices low service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just don't. Forget about this chain. Always trouble.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RediResponse Specialist, Marketing at Red Roof Plus + Gainesville
Responded Jul 20, 2023
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the RED ROOF PLUS+ GAINESVILLE. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations prompting your 1/5 score following your stay. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. On your next stay, should you have any issues while with us, please contact our front desk immediately so we can take care of the issue to ensure you’re comfortable. At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging. Very truly yours, Kamaria RediResponse Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan M wrote a review Dec 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a single night for a UF graduation. We arrived, dropped our bags and headed to the graduation. When we returned to the room at 10:30pm, we noticed that there was a terrible smell in the room. We determined that is was coming from the carpet. The longer we were in the room, we began to feel sick from it. We packed up and left at 11:00pm and simply drove the 3 hours back home. This was our first stay in a Red Roof hotel, and probably our last. The kicker was that this was not an inexpensive room, it was over $170 for the night, and we spent all of 30 minutes in there before leaving.

And no, I didnt ask for another room, because even the hallway smelled, which led me to believe that another room probably wouldn't have helped. Overall, this hotel was not clean. Having said all this, Im giving the hotel two stars simply because what little interaction we had with staff was excellent; they were pleasant and helpful. But bottom line is, stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marty P wrote a review Oct 2023
Marathon, Florida
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There are a lot of decent hotels in Gainesville but Red Roof “plus” isn’t one of them. It’s a tired property with scarred furniture, filthy windows, and badly in need of a paint job and overall freshening. No breakfast, other than coffee - not even the typical “danish, yogurt, and bagels” offerings of similar hotels in this price category.
Vending machine didn’t work, bathroom exhaust fan was very noisy, in-room coffee pot didn’t function properly.
When asked why on earth this property was given a “plus” designation the desk clerk said it was because there were suites there.
Make this place your last resort if nothing else is available. There are better comparably-priced accommodations in Gainesville.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Look elsewhere before choosing this property.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Madison Velian, Marketing at Red Roof Plus + Gainesville
Responded Nov 19, 2023
Dear Marty, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your experience at the RED ROOF PLUS+ GAINESVILLE. At Red Roof, our main goal is to provide all our guests with a positive experience that portrays the comfort of home and we are disappointed to see that your stay was less than ideal. You indicated that you were unsatisfied with the uncleanliness of the windows, the vending machine did not work, the bathroom exhaust fan was very noisy and the other concerns you listed. We value your business and would like to assure you that this is not reflective of our usual standards. I will be sharing your feedback with management to ensure that your concerns are addressed. At Red Roof, we continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. Thank you for sharing your concerns and we wish you all the best in your future travels. Sincerely, Carla Red Roof Management RediResponse Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FarAway542763 wrote a review Nov 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel needs updating, especially the bathroom, flooring, and entry door/threshold. Understand now why its a 2 star hotel. Late check request required a cost of $ 29.95. Staff was nice, location is convenient to I-75, and other restaurants and shopping is close by to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Redi Response, Marketing at Red Roof Plus + Gainesville
Responded Nov 24, 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review your stay. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the RED ROOF PLUS+ GAINESVILLE. I am happy to read that you were pleased with our nice staff, location which is convenient and restaurants that are close by to the hotel. Please know that we value your feedback and your comments will be taken into consideration as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. On your next stay should you have any issues while with us, please contact our front desk immediately so we can take care of the issue to ensure your satisfaction. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us Sincerely, Adraine RediResponse Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica M wrote a review Aug 2021
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not stay here, absolutely filthy. Stains on linens, water damage, mold, unknown substances splashed on the walls, and bathroom completely disgusting. I complained when we checked in and they showed me another room which was just as bad. I decided to stay in the room we had but asked for it to be cleaned on the morning they never came and cleaned the room. I will never stay at this filthy place again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hamid N wrote a review Nov 2023
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
In 7 yrs of traveling to Gainesville, putting two kids through college, this was the first time we stayed here. Mainly due to poor planning on our part. It was the parents weekend. So the town is filled up.
That said, this place was probably built in late 70s early 80s and it looks it. What's worse it smells it. Strong odor of of mold can't be ignored. That mixed with detergents used to clean floors and whatnot, was an interesting aroma to come to. It was burning out lungs and throat so bad we asked for a different room. The second room was slightly better with the added aroma of cigarettes. We arrived very late and had no choice to just stay.
The rooms as the building are old. It's almost as if they gave up on the property. There are easy repairs and then more fundamental ones.
The topping on the cake were the roaches. Yeap, that good.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Look elsewhere!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Madison Velian, Marketing at Red Roof Plus + Gainesville
Responded Nov 7, 2023
Dear Hamid, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your experience at the RED ROOF PLUS+ GAINESVILLE. At Red Roof, our main goal is to provide all our guests with a positive experience that portrays the comfort of home and we are disappointed to see that your stay was less than ideal due to the insects you reported, the possible mold smell and the other concerns you listed. We value your business and would like to assure you that this is not reflective of our usual standards. Please know that we work with a Pest Control company who regularly treats the property for pests as is standard in the industry. I have notified the property of your comments so they can work with the specialists to ensure everything is as it should be. We understand that your overall experience fell far below your expectations, and we are committed to making improvements to ensure that this does not happen in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and provide you with the exceptional stay you deserve. Sincerely, Carla Red Roof Management RediResponse Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carolcV3331MT asked a question Jan 2017
Ormond Beach, United States3 contributions1 helpful vote
Is there a charge for pets? Do the rooms have a refig and microwave?
Answer from Richard V
Greenville, Michigan38 contributions27 helpful votes
We were not charged a fee for our dog. The basic rooms do not have a fridge or microwave. The "Plus" rooms do.
Sunny524 asked a question Feb 2015
Miami, Florida25 contributions9 helpful votes
How to get there from Jacksonville? Can I check in late?11pm 12?
Answer from Aldente50
Miami32 contributions10 helpful votes
Hi 75 south to exit 184. Turn left off the exit. Turn left at McDonalds. It will be on your left. Yes, they have late check in.
neddie36 asked a question Oct 2014
Atlanta7 contributions2 helpful votes
How to get there when traveling on I 75 south
Answer from Bollywoodmama
Maitland, Florida3 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes, exit 384, behind Steak and Shake. There's a McDonald at the corner too where you turn left.
Hamid N wrote a tip Nov 2023
Miami Beach, Florida, United States32 contributions30 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look elsewhere!"
Read full review
Marty P wrote a tip Oct 2023
Marathon, Florida17 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look elsewhere before choosing this property."
Read full review
Veronica W wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They just open the pool up very beautiful "
Read full review
Companion16657501331 wrote a tip Jul 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just don't. Forget about this chain. Always trouble."
Read full review
Stephanie P wrote a tip Jun 2023
Winter Garden, Florida8 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The place was moldy and mildewed. It stunk. The area around was sketchy and lots of homeless people. The bathrooms were nasty."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gainesville area.
PRICE RANGE
C$94 - C$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
red roof inn gainesville hotel gainesville, gainesville red roof inn
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaGainesville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
129
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Red Roof Plus + Gainesville - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Red Roof Plus + Gainesville
Which popular attractions are close to Red Roof Plus + Gainesville?
Nearby attractions include Escapology Escape Rooms Gainesville (0.6 km), Regal Celebration Pointe 10 & RPX (0.9 km), and Total Wine & More (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Roof Plus + Gainesville?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Red Roof Plus + Gainesville?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Red Roof Plus + Gainesville?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Red Roof Plus + Gainesville?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Roof Plus + Gainesville?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blaze Pizza, 4 Rivers Smokehouse, and Bonefish Grill.
Are pets allowed at Red Roof Plus + Gainesville?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Red Roof Plus + Gainesville?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Thomas Center (7.4 km).
Is Red Roof Plus + Gainesville accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Gainesville HotelsGainesville Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GainesvilleHotels near Red Roof Plus + Gainesville
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars