We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3820 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-3510
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Priceline
Agoda.comUS$75
Vio.comUS$75
eDreamsUS$75
EtripUS$75
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (70)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (6)

About

#26 of 57 hotels in Gainesville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2016. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, and new interiors. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
428Reviews2Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 108
  • 163
  • 88
  • 44
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mentachocolate2016 wrote a review Sep. 2022
New York City, New York84 contributions13 helpful votes
To make the reservation I had a very good impression, it was very professional, as well as the check-in, the room was smaller than expected, the cleanliness did not impress me, the mattress was very battered, the old sheets, the small, old and insufficient towels .It is a place that needs to update those services. It did not live up to the good comments. The pool is a corral, it doesn't have any extra space, the TV screen is old and small, even if it's a passing hotel, it could be more comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nadia Alarakhia, Agency / Consultant at Gator Town Inn
Responded Sep. 29, 2022
Thank you for your feedback, as we continue to try and improve our services. We are pleased that our staff was professional and welcoming, though we do apologize that the sheets and towels were older. We will ask our staff to evaluate our linens for replacement needs, and use your feedback to make improvements. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a superior stay in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike R wrote a review Sep. 2022
2 contributions
When I walked into the room it smelled like must. This isn’t uncommon in old motels but it also the smell of bed bugs. Bed bugs secrete a pheromone that smells like a wet musty room which is exactly what you will wish it was if you end up with bed bugs. Upon telling the receptionist that room #106 had bed bugs and showing her the fresh welts on my skin. She told me, “no one else has complained, we will check it out later.” While I hope that she took me seriously it didn’t feel like she was planning on doing anything about it. I left itching, scratching and highly unsatisfied by the Gator Town Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nadia Alarakhia, Agency / Consultant at Gator Town Inn
Responded Sep. 16, 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience, Mike. We will prioritize your feedback and work with our maintenance staff to complete a comprehensive investigation and initiate any appropriate pest control measures. We also apologize that our staff member did not address your concern with the appropriate gravitas. We do hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you better on a future visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MTClarity wrote a review Aug. 2022
Sarasota, Florida155 contributions92 helpful votes
I so wanted to give this motel a good review because the lady at the check in desk was so nice, but once I opened the door to our room that good feeling went away. The room reeked of mildew and no amount of air cleaning was going to cover the smell. The carpet was horribly filthy with fingernail clippings and who knows what else. The bedside table was covered with stale beer and something else totally disgusting. The carpet next to the bed was also soaked in stale beer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nadia Alarakhia, Agency / Consultant at Gator Town Inn
Responded Sep. 2, 2022
We are saddened to hear that your room had a bad odor and that the carpet had not been properly and thoroughly cleaned. We will work with our housekeeping team to ensure this issue is addressed and resolved, and we hope that you will grant us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Val R wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
They are not handicap friendly. They claim they have no handicap accessible rooms, then claim those rooms are taken at already because they don’t like that we booked through a third-party booking site. They wouldn’t give any room at the rate we had already paid for. We were willing to change from a king bed to a double, but they wanted to charge us much more for the change. The motel should have honored my need for an accessible room, instead of making me sit in my car for an hour, trying to find a new place to stay. If you or anyone you know is disabled, honor them by NOT staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Salima Myrfield, Other at Gator Town Inn
Responded May 30, 2021
Hi MrsVRey1979, Thank you for your review and rating of your stay at the Gator Town Inn. We are very sorry for any inconvenience you have experienced. Please note that we do try our hardest to accommodate requests, but sometimes they cannot be accommodated due to availability. We will be discussing your concerns with our staff and will make every effort to improve the issue, thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vernon B wrote a review Apr. 2021
6 contributions
This us NOT a 3 Star hotel. Multiple problems with two rooms as listed below Rm 109: a. Room clock not set correctly (sign of unprofessionalism) b. Very Strong musty, damp carpet smell c. Broken glass found on floor between the beds (see image) d. Flip-flops caught in edge of floor board coming up, almost tripped. Floor boards not secured to floor (see image) e. Sink drains very slow, water backs up f. Non-Smoking room but could still faintly smell cigarette smoke Rm 111: a. Small Bottle of shampoo supplied by hotel had been used already b. Floor boards as above c. Overpowering, hit in face recoil, smell of spray disinfectant or cleaner suggested trying to hide something d. Floor not swept, sandy e. One bath towel was badly worn with one spot about the size of an apple down to a few threads across a hole f. Hot water was only luke warm at fully on HOT g. Toilet seat loose on toilet
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Salima Myrfield, Other at Gator Town Inn
Responded Apr. 25, 2021
Hi vernonb971, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Gator Town Inn. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit with us. We strive for outstanding customer service and clean rooms and the conditions of your room are not to our usual standards. We will be using your comments to ensure improvements are made to our daily housekeeping operations. We hope you give us another chance in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scuba-Obsession wrote a review Feb. 2021
Melbourne, Florida572 contributions146 helpful votes
I spent two nights at the Gator Town in for a metal detecting event. I was very pleased with the comfort and cleanliness of the room. It's a small locally owned place, and if all you need is a bed and a shower... this is the place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Salima Myrfield, Other at Gator Town Inn
Responded Feb. 26, 2021
Hi Scuba-Obsession, Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent visit to the Gator Town Inn. We strive to provide a full-value experience for all of our guests and are delighted to hear we succeeded! We would love to see you again in the future so we can provide you with another fantastic stay at our hotel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob19512014 wrote a review Jan. 2020
Gulfport, Florida10929 contributions712 helpful votes
+1
We were in the area to see three different state parks. They were all less than 30 minutes from the motel. We were in a newly remodeled room. It was fantastic for our simple needs. Plenty of lighting and electric sockets. Price could have been better during the middle of the week, but all in all it was a great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: If you have a first floor room, you can park right outside it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SalimaM82, Guest Relations Manager at Gator Town Inn
Responded Jan. 9, 2020
Hi Bob19512014, Thank you for your rating and review of the Gator Town Inn. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the location and you were able to visit so many parks! We hope you return on your next visit to the area!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mazzer72 wrote a review Dec. 2019
Bournemouth142 contributions109 helpful votes
Staff were very good, after having a small issue with Expedia, who I booked with. But the guy sorted it out without any issues. I though the price paid was good, nice up to date motel room. Clean and smelled very nice. Large TV, fridge, microwave etc. What more would you want. A light free breakfast included, bagel, toast, coffee and juice. If you want more I hop just over the street.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SalimaM82, Guest Relations Manager at Gator Town Inn
Responded Dec. 8, 2019
Hi Mazzer72, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed the space and the staff. We do appreciate your choosing the Gator Town Inn for your visit and hope you will stay with us again. Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BSchauerte wrote a review Nov. 2019
Clearwater, Florida6 contributions6 helpful votes
Liked · Room & Carpet satisfactorily passed my blacklight test for cleanliness. Well cleaned sheets and towels were obviously supplied by a very good vendor. A wide selection of TV channels, plus HBO. Very noisy apartment-sized refrigerator/freezer is a nice touch. Noise from other occupants was minimal (good). Dislikes · Blacklight revealed heavy soap scum on shower walls and white soap-dish; this is hard to see without a portable blacklight. Rooms are in need of a deep cleaning; but I doubt the management couple knows what it is (as I questioned them on housekeeping). Every room gets only TWO BATH TOWELS (assuming max. occupancy = 2). Operations appear to be contracted, so the live-in management only rents rooms without further involvement. There is no soap-dish at the rimless, square sink, which is also mounted way too high for wheeled chairs (39" to rim); brushing teeth would be very difficult. . Fast hot water (in room #106), but water pressure is poor. ALL ROOMS are SMALL, and have a view of the parking lot through a 2 foot wide vertical widow impractically located in the corner instead of next to the entry. No security hasp on entrance door. The 2 foot wide blackout curtain allowed bright lights outside to bounce off the wall mirror, right TO THE BED! The "CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST" [see photo] is the POOREST I've ever seen == Water, machined apple or orange juice, coffee, and "Uncle Wally's" snacks in plastic bags as would be found in vending machines; NO fruit, milk, or anything FRESH; NO TABLES or even paper plates; you have to juggle all you can carry and try to open the office door so you can eat from the wrapper in your room which has ONE chair .... After breakfast hours they just have to pull a tattered folding screen to cover, and their cleanup is done. Today's "management" hardly works for a living. OVERALL --- This Inn is GROSSLY OVERPRICED in relation to others in the area. The more I think about it, the more I don't like it, and will NOT return.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Good Housekeeping, but bring your own cleansers to be sure
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SalimaM82, Guest Relations Manager at Gator Town Inn
Responded Nov. 24, 2019
Hi BSchauerte, Thank you for your comments and review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Gator Town Inn. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fireandstars wrote a review Sep. 2019
Florida1 contribution1 helpful vote
I'm not a fan (lol) of hotels that keep the A/C turned off to save money until someone checks in and turns it on. It's FL so when we opened the door it was a balmy 90 degrees. We had to leave for a couple of hours while the room cooled down. Also I suggest lightening up the paint, bedding, decor is very dark. Location is great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SalimaM82, Guest Relations Manager at Gator Town Inn
Responded Sep. 16, 2019
Hi fireandstars, Thank you for your comments. We do appreciate your honest feedback and we will be taking up these issues with our staff to make improvements. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$83 - US$94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
howard johnson express gainesville hotel gainesville, howard johnson gainesville, gainesville howard johnson
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaGainesville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Gator Town Inn - UPDATED 2022 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Gainesville, FL) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Gator Town Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Gator Town Inn?
Nearby attractions include Escapology Escape Rooms Gainesville (5.0 km), Butterfly Rainforest (3.5 km), and Florida Museum of Natural History (3.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gator Town Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Gator Town Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Gator Town Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gator Town Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blaze Pizza, Bangkok Square, and Embers Wood Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gator Town Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Gator Town Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Thomas Center (4.7 km).
Is Gator Town Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.