TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest

TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest

Traveller (81)
the bump at the door
Room & Suite (54)
TownePlace Suites Gainesville Northwest
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#26 of 54 hotels in Gainesville
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Tennis court
Kids stay free
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

7451 W Newberry Rd, Gainesville, FL 32605-4322
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 48 out of 100
48
Gainesville Regional Airport
15.5 km
See all flights
Jacksonville Intl Airport
117.1 km
See all flights
272Reviews2Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 147
  • 57
  • 27
  • 14
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
worldtraveler952015 wrote a review Jan 2022
Naples, Florida
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The check in person was nice, same with other staff, but they gave us a room reeking of smoke smell in a non-smoking hotel! We used deodorizer that we travel with and it did not work. The smell was awful and they had no other rooms. They should clean the rooms well and deodorize if someone smokes in them. Then our other room had a clogged sink for the bathroom that nobody noticed. I called immediately and maintenance came immediately and declogged it. The housekeeping should notice this and have it fixed prior to next guest's arrival. The place needs deep steam cleaning of carpets too. We did love that they allow dogs of all sizes though. And breakfast was decent.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Property Owner, Owner at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest
Responded Jan 5, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Cleanliness at our hotel is a top priority, and we apologize that your guest room fell short of your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been discussed with the housekeeping team to improve our future performance. We hope you choose to stay with us again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RaceTrackHunter1970 wrote a review Feb 2021
Blandon, Pennsylvania
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My son and I stayed here one night while in the area taking in local attractions, and I must say I am shocked by some of the negative reviews. From the room rate, to the parking lot, to the staff at check-in, to the condition and comfort of our room, we were both very pleased and thought this was one of the best hotels we have stayed at in a long time. The only negative was the front desk lady in the AM was not very pleasant, but I had a great nights sleep so I didn't really care. Would absolutely stay her again if we ever return to Gainesville. Top notch facility in our opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Meredith Pittman, Owner at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest
Responded Feb 8, 2021
Hi RaceTrackHunter. Thank you for your honest feedback and we're so glad you enjoyed so much about your experience. We hope to have you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NoteworthyHealth wrote a review Mar 2020
Florida
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was spacious and nice. Late night check in staff was pleasant.
Had a strange smell in Room 105 and tub drain was really plugged up, so shower was like a bath in the end. Could hear people on 2nd floor walking around.
Overall experience was a good, comfortable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rita A, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest
Responded Mar 26, 2020
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us a review. I am sorry that you had an issue in the room but appreciate you letting us know about it.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Loucat26 wrote a review Feb 2020
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Maybe this was an off time for the Town Place Suites but our stay was one problem after another. This is not a place even reflective of Marriott standards.
Our room had no working clock. The door to the toilet area was warped and would not close. The entry closet still had the shelving pieces not connected after all the time this place has been open. The only way to hang anything was about 7' high on the top bar-the only part of the metal brackets put together.
The shower we came to find out only spewed HOT water that would scald you if you even tried to use it. All other water temps were OK. I had to be walked down the hall in the AM to shower in an unused room. I asked if we could be moved to this room but was told no as 3-4 other rooms had only hot water and all guests wanted to be moved. We left for the day and returned to ask the manager at the front desk if the hot water issue was fixed. He knew nothing about it. He called the maintenance man who said no one told him about any water problems. He came to our room and did not give the impression he could make this fix. So, we again said we wanted to move as there were many checkouts. They did move us to the room I used earlier to take a shower! Now we find out the TV in this room had not been working and this was not a new issue. It was not the TV; it was the cable connection but there was no way to fix this.
I might add that no one ever replaced the clock in the original room; looked to fix the bathroom door or even ask if there was anyway they could help us out.
Everyone said" so sorry" so many times. So sorry does nothing when there is a total lack of communication about important things. If someone entered that shower without testing the water, they would have been burned.
After check out I told the clerk about all that happened during our stay. Naturally she knew nothing but said "so sorry" and took $50 off of our bill which was a joke to have no ability to shower; no privacy using the toilet and no TV, clock or competent staff who never bothered to do their job
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Choose another hotel where they have good rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rita A, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest
Responded Feb 3, 2020
I am sorry that you had so many issues during your stay with us. Thank you for letting us know so that we can get these issues resolve before we check in another guest.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kirin wrote a review Mar 2021
Palm Beach, Florida
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for 10-12 days.
The general manager,Rita Aldrich, never wore a mask my entire stay.
GM worked the front desk and was in the hallways and rooms helping housekeeping.
Housekeeping and maintenance staff never wore masks in elevators, rooms and hallways.
Masks are mandatory in Alachua County Florida.
I repeatedly asked the staff to mask up.
Masked Gainesville FD responded to fire alarms one day. GM and maintenance man were maskless and standing within a foot of our first responders.
The assistant manager Joseph and associates, Kim and Myesha always had masks on.
I had a maid barge into my room while I was sleeping and she never bothered knocking, or apologizing. Under no circumstances, did I want unmasked maids in my room and I always abstain room cleaning.
I was not due to check out. I had renewed my stay.
I composed an email to the GM detailing these events and she ignored my concerns and never responded.
Joseph, is wonderful and goes over and above to provide excellent customer assistance.
As a result of the GM not wearing a mask and not enforcing staff to mask up, the customers do not wear masks either.
The back side of the hotel is incredibly noisy from non-stop cars with super nosy mufflers
and incredible volumes of traffic.Do not stay on this side .
If you have any concerns about Covid or COVID room cleaning, take a pass on this hotel.
I carry my own alcohol and Lysol sprays to hotel rooms prior to settling in and after each and every exit and entrance.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rita Aldrich, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest
Responded Mar 26, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and I am sorry that your stay was not a good one. I am sorry that you didn't feel that we were doing enough to make you feel comfortable during these difficult times. I did not recall receiving an email from you but if you would like to talk to me please fill free to reach out to by email again or phone. Again I am sorry for the issues you had.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hermine164 wrote a review Jan 2021
Corning, New York
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Although most of the staff here are lovely, that doesn’t make up for lack of cleanliness and the shabby condition. When I entered my room, the first thing I noticed were the holes in the black-out curtain and the missing pull rod. The trim on the nightstand is unglued, there are spatters on the side of the black refrigerator that have never been cleaned. The flatware drawer held two table knives, no forks or spoons. Additionally, there was no corkscrew nor were any available anywhere in the building. Yesterday, the lovely gentleman at the desk opened a bottle of wine for me. Today is his day off, hence no wine opener.
I am beyond irritated at this. My husband and I have stayed at numerous Marriott and have never before been so disappointed. This room should have cleaner and sanitized! And it should have a corkscrew!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rita Aldrich, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest
Responded Jan 29, 2021
We are sorry that you had these issues during your stay. I will be looking into the issues that you mention and doing my best to correct them for the next guest.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J H wrote a review May 2021
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a dingy hotel with unhelpful desk staff. Our room had either sat unused for weeks and wasn’t refreshed by housekeeping before our stay, or was just cleaned poorly. There was a weird stain on the ruffle of our bed and the dishes were not freshly washed inside the dishwasher (which I believe has been the norm for extended stay hotels throughout the pandemic). Our phone had no receiver; no apology was made when I brought it to the attention of the desk attendant and no solution was provided. Despite checking in online well in advance of our arrival, I did not receive a mobile key. While checking in (again) at the front desk, I had to present my credit card for incidentals again despite having done this online already.

I know the service industry is really hurting right now, but I’m sure you can find a better value and experience elsewhere in Gainesville.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rita Aldrich, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest
Responded Jun 1, 2021
I am sorry that your stay was not a pleasant one and please know we are working hard at turning things around at this hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan C wrote a review Aug 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Keep looking for a room at a better hotel! This is the worst I've seen in a long time. Our room was really dirty, I had to wipe down doors, handles, counters with alcohol wipes. The coffee pot was broken and the 'new' one they brought should have been replaced 5 years ago. The paint colors are hideous, 20 years out of style, and unbelievably they had 'touched up' scuffs in a very different color of paint. No you may not have another packet of coffee, rude staff. Exterior door handles were broken. The whole place smelled awful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rita Aldrich, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest
Responded Aug 14, 2021
We are very sorry that your stay did not go as it should have. We are working hard to make changes to the hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GatorGirl1121 wrote a review Oct 2020
Clearwater, Florida
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Started with an unfriendly greeting. Felt as if we were bothering her. Given a room on the third floor. We walked in and thought either we were given a room that someone she was actually in or it wasn't cleaned. The bed was not made, the toilet seat was up and had urine in the bowl. There was a room key and half glass of water on the nightstand. Went back downstairs and again "bothered" the front desk clerk. Seemed frustrated that we would ask for another room. Did finally apologize but it wasn't very sincere. No breakfast buffet due to covid which was fine. Offered a bag breakfast. We decided to pass on that. Maybe offer options or tell people what's in the bag. Room had potential to be nice for a longer stay but just not maintained. Expected more from a Marriott. Wish I would have taken pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Meredith Pittman, Owner at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest
Responded Oct 6, 2020
Thank you for the review, GatorGirl1121. We apologize for the issues you experienced as these are not up to our standards. We will be looking into this further.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike wrote a review Sep 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Several issues. Chose this hotel since I had family going back and forth to Shands Hospital and the social worker didn't come through. I regret this decision. Don't book through 3rd party if you want any reconciliation/resolution.

Room 1 had wet carpets next to the air conditioner after a night. Not good for allergies. The floor had red nail polish stains that looked horrible and the bathroom toilet seat was about to fall off every time you'd lift it. We were offered to move.

Room 2 (the worst): Microwave sparked every time you used it. The television screen was so filthy. The tub was not ADA compliant and bottom was very slippery.

Wetspots formed on the bed. Called up front but they couldn't resolve. We checked out a few more rooms but they had a strange odor. We dried the mattress ourselves and layered it with towels and new sheets and slept on the other side until the staff was said to have been onsite to help.

Same room night 2, I woke up 4am with bites all over my body. It became a pattern of bites along my leg. Caught the culprit hoping away. FLEAS! Asked for the room to be cleaned but no one came until the afternoon. Dont think they vacuumed as the same night fleas continued. Moved again.

Avoid this hotel. I had to buy flea spray and a steam cleaner for my luggage. I understand people are understaffed and overworked but there has to be a line. I've reached out to management before posting this to see if anyone had communicated these issues but I've yet to hear back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rita Aldrich, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest
Responded Sep 14, 2021
We are sorry that you had so many issues and we are working to correct these issue in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MJC64 asked a question Jun 2017
Largo, Florida15 contributions18 helpful votes
Are there smart tvs in the rooms?
Answer from 314jefftrips
Creve Coeur, Missouri41 contributions5 helpful votes
yes. Netflix, Hulu, YouTube all accessible from the tvs in our rooms. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a 1 bedroom suite.
Kim L asked a question Feb 2016
Toronto, Canada
Do you offer airport shuttle service?
Answer from Globegal
Miami, Florida444 contributions203 helpful votes
I doubt it but call the hotel to inquire for sure
Bubbly B wrote a tip Jun 20
Florida132 contributions77 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ample FREE parking is available."
Read full review
EsdaPup wrote a tip Sep 2023
Fort Valley, Georgia171 contributions54 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid at all costs."
Read full review
VFG Family wrote a tip Feb 2022
Alachua, Florida34 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a different hotel."
Read full review
pranaji wrote a tip Oct 2021
San Diego, California31 contributions19 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"do not stay here. and do not book through Expedia."
Read full review
jennifer s wrote a tip Jul 2021
Fort Myers, Florida42 contributions44 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"bring a white noise machine or fan to drown out noise."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gainesville area.
PRICE RANGE
C$174 - C$229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaGainesville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest
Which popular attractions are close to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest?
Nearby attractions include The Oaks Mall (1.0 km), Bealls Outlet (0.5 km), and Gator Cinemas (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest?
Conveniently located restaurants include BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse, Pepper's Mexican Grill and Cantina, and Ocean Buffet.
Are there opportunities to exercise at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Thomas Center (9.6 km).
All Gainesville HotelsGainesville Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GainesvilleHotels near TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gainesville Northwest
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars