We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr

Save
Share
1250 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5118
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-04
Expedia.com
US$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-04
Algotels
US$99
View deal
HolidayInn.comUS$110
Hotels.comUS$110
PricelineUS$110
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (95)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (19)

About

#20 of 57 hotels in Gainesville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Gainesville Hotel Location Directly Across the Street from the University of Florida. The Holiday Inn Gainesville - University Ctr. hotel is surrounded by local shops, restaurants, boutiques and the University of Florida. The hotel sits in the heart of Gainesville, allowing easy access to downtown Gainesville, Gainesville Regional Airport and is directly across the street from The University of Florida and its athletic facilities. Hotel guests visiting Gainesville for Gators sporting events are happy to find Ben Hill Griffin Stadium (The Swamp) just blocks from the hotel's location. While in Gainesville FL, patrons don't want to miss on-campus highlights like the Harn Museum of Art and Florida Museum of Natural History, either. The hotel's corporate guests also find the hotel well suited for business. Free Wi-Fi access is offered throughout the facility.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Vending machine
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
511Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 192
  • 136
  • 104
  • 47
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Patricia I wrote a review Nov. 13
3 contributions2 helpful votes
The staff at this hotel go above and beyond to ensure guests have a pleasant stay. Everyone we encountered at the front desk was professional, helpful, and friendly. Shoutout to Shereika and Bryce who worked magic to help me print out a bus ticket when my flight was canceled! Rooms are quiet and clean and the pool area looked fabulous. This is also a great location if you're visiting UF and lots of retail options within walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Wendy B wrote a review Nov. 12
Williamsburg, Virginia36 contributions8 helpful votes
The hotel is OLD!!! and few upgrades have been done; the bathroom and fixtures looked very 70s, the hallway and room carpets looked worn and grubby, but the room was clean. Two BIG problems: the window blew open while we were sleeping and when we noticed in the morning, the rain had soaked the carpet and the dampness was creeping across the entire room. We couldn’t get the window to stay shut as it had been previously jerry-rigged with a screw. . .so, we propped the end table up against it which helped. The shower-yikes! If anyone else in the building turned on water or flushed a toilet -WATCH OUT- the shower water went from comfortable to freezing! This happened several times during each of our showers over the course of our 3 night stay. Oh, and they forgot to service our room after the first night. Okay, fair question as to why we didn’t report the window/water issue to the front desk. We were in the middle of Hurricanes Nicole, everyone was freaking out, businesses were closed and might I add it is risky to get to work during a natural disaster. We didn’t want to make a fuss as the hotel staff were working their butts off just trying to stay ahead of power/internet outages. The staff, all of them, were friendly and unfailingly polite! We were thankful for free parking though parking the land yacht we drive was a bit tricky in the covered area. The bed was comfortable for our 3 night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get up on the 5th or 6th floor for a great view!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lyn B wrote a review Sep. 2022
Marion, North Carolina35 contributions9 helpful votes
We were there to ride the Gainesville-Hawthorne State Park trail so the location was really good. The room was a great size but really noisy on the front side of the hotel. But the restaurant in the hotel was good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
REAL R wrote a review Sep. 2022
1 contribution
The parking lot is not exactly a parking lot! Parking at this hotel is rather questionable and sketchy at best. The building is actually shared with a pizza restaurant.? Yes, you read that correctly. Then there are thousands of college students walking around and driving through the ‘parking lot’ recklessly and taking up what little guest parking there is. Naturally the staff does not do anything (besides giving you the guest something to put on your dashboard) to control this because they themselves appear to be students as well. The lobby is a complete wreck. The check-in was pleasant enough. Although I was slightly offended by being charge a $50 incidental deposit fee per room. I am after all a professional traveling on business and NOT one of these college students, so this unnecessary fee as just an insult. I was even more offended when I got off the elevator on the 5th floor to be welcomed by a horrible odor. Then came the room. I realize upon entering the room that this hotel is in dire need of a complete makeover/remodeling. The view from my window appeared to be a sketchy ally with a broken down crack-house. ALL the furniture was worn, ripped, and stained. The tiny a/c unit (on the floor) was Very Loud. The bathroom is the size of a small closet with a extremely low ceiling. Anyone over 5’10 will most likely experience claustrophobia. The shower turned iced cold then boiling hot then iced cold again. I actually had to use the bathroom of the person I was traveling with, theirs seemed to work. Also the sink did not drain. Don’t know what’s going on with IHG but this experience is totally unacceptable. Does IHG have any quality control? I would be completely embarrassed if I owned this hotel or worked for IHG. Stayed at a Best Western 2 days prior and this horrendous place made that feel like a Ritz Carlton. So the 2 big questions: Would I stay here again… Absolutely Not. Would I recommend this property: Absolutely Not. I can honestly say that I feel as though I deserve a complete refund for this dissatisfaction and disaster.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay Away Book Another Property
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr
Responded Oct. 22, 2022
Hello 985realr, Thanks for sharing feedback about your stay with us. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heather G wrote a review Sep. 2022
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida34 contributions21 helpful votes
I stayed there this past weekend. We were in town for a UF football game. The location is ideal. However, we paid $600 a night to stay. I understand that hotels can charge whatever they want, especially ones within walking distance of the stadium. With that being said, I have stayed at 4 different hotels in the past 4 months in Gainesville. This was by far the worst one. For $600 per night, I expect to have a working toilet in the room. Also, there was a ton of water damage in our bathroom. The ceiling looked like it was filling with water. I tried to call the front desk multiple times, each day to take care of the toilet. No one ever answered and it would go straight to someone’s voicemail. I finally gave up. The carpet in the hallways was so warn down. A simple carpet change and a little paint could make a huge difference. As for the breakfast, it was good and made to order. However, the smell of mold from all the water damage in the hotel made it hard to eat. There really are no excuses. This hotel is making tons of money. I will never stay there again. I am thankful that when I return next month, I am staying somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr
Responded Sep. 26, 2022
Hello Heather G, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're determined to make your stay with us pleasant, and I am sorry to learn that some aspects of your visit turned out otherwise. I have alerted the hotel management regarding your comments, and I am certain that the steps that will be taken will improve your next visits with us. I hope to welcome you back! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DKW wrote a review Sep. 2022
1 contribution
Hotel is run down. Room needs work. We paid $650.00 per night for 2 nights and was told our rate did no include their breakfast. Paid 1300.00 and they wouldn’t include the 30.00 breakfast. Disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr
Responded Sep. 20, 2022
Hi danawS2464FS, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. Holiday Inn provides the best lodging experience for every guest, and I'm sorry for the issues during your stay. I will be sharing your feedback with our hotel management for review. I've also sent you a private message to discuss this further. We hope you can give us a chance to regain your trust and confidence in our service. Stay Safe! Carl J. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pablo333333 wrote a review Jul. 2022
London, United Kingdom99 contributions79 helpful votes
Good location in center of Gainesville. Restaurants and shops close by. Quick check in and nice staff. Nice, big, modern and well equipped room, WIFI, fridge, air conditioning and TV. Free parking on site.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: I always ask for upper floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
anony wrote a review Feb. 2022
Sarasota, Florida415 contributions84 helpful votes
Across street from campus and ability to walk to events there and not deal with any traffic and parking is major plus. The interiors are in need of refurbishing, especially the bathrooms, but at least the bed linens and room carpet were in good shape. Upstairs breakfast restaurant is still not open ....but at least Starbucks and publix are practically right next door . The downstairs pizza restaurant is open and decent enough for an onsite lunch or dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr
Responded Mar. 14, 2022
Hi anony, Thank you for staying with us and for banking on our hotel for your travel needs. While I'm delighted to know that you found the location to your liking, I am sorry for the letdown with the upstairs breakfast restaurant closed and the condition of the bathroom. As our guests, we want to do our best to make sure we always meet your expectations, if not exceed them. I appreciate you letting us know about your experience. I shared your comments with the hotel management as a reference for the necessary improvements. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future! Best regards, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arlene G wrote a review Jan. 2022
Chicago, Illinois72 contributions57 helpful votes
Way too $$$ for a one-night stay. I’ll never understand why it costs over 100.00 a night, when we got in after 11pm. No free breakfast. For all that dough, there should be a breakfast. Rowdy college students on the weekends. The hallway carpets needed a good scrubbing, just saying. Only bright spot was visiting the U of Florida campus & bookstore, or should I say, “DEPARTMENT STORE”! The BIGGEST COLLEGE BOOKSTORE EVER! Everything Gator!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Weekend evenings keep an eye out for inebriated students on the hotel grounds.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
winecritic6070 wrote a review Nov. 2021
Boynton Beach, Florida10 contributions8 helpful votes
We spent three nights here in early November 2021. Without exception, everyone working at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The location is central and convenient. The rooms are clean, the bed is comfortable and the water pressure is strong. What more do you want? I read a number of reviews that complained the hotel is dated. This is true. But if you want a new, five-star hotel, you probably shouldn't come to Gainesville. It should be enough that everyone's heart is in the right place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn gainesville university hotel gainesville, gainesville holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaGainesville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
167
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr - UPDATED 2022 Prices, Reviews & Photos (FL) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr?
Nearby attractions include University of Florida (0.5 km), Ben Hill Griffin Stadium (1.1 km), and America's Escape Game Gainesville (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr?
Conveniently located restaurants include Piesanos Stone Fired Pizza, Reggae Shack Cafe, and Karma Cream.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr have airport transportation?
Yes, Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Gainesville-University Ctr offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.