We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pelican

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Pelican
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

554 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 452: English reviews
Start your review of The Pelican
 Click to rate
Englewood, Florida
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed 1 night in a waterfront room. The place is very old and shows it. Furniture doesn't match but it did have a nice TV. It had a balcony but it was on the back side facing the parked cars! We had to buy ice! The ice machine takes quarters. There was a screen against a wall that was broken....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moondoggieRowley
ThePelicanKeyLargo, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review

We are not shiny and new by any means but what we are is quiet, comfortable and clean. In fact we are among the least expensive lodging options anywhere in the Keys. We provide an old Florida feel with vintage ambiance at very reasonable prices. While we are saddened to hear that we were not up to your satisfaction on...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed 3 nights for our anniversary getaway, room was small but very clean , staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice little breakfast hut. The beach area was small but very well maintained. Lots of places to sit and relax and enjoy the sunset, 3 piers to walk out on and sit or fish. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlene F
ThePelicanKeyLargo, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review

Happy Anniversary and thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please keep in mind that we have many different room types and sizes available to best suit your needs. We hope to welcome you back very soon and as always, thank you for choosing The Pelican.

Philadelphia, Mississippi
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We saw the pictures of these cottages & read the reviews & we knew we'd found our spot. Even though we only stayed 2 nights, it was so delightful! The cottages are unique & adorable with restaurants we could walk to. I cannot say enough good things about the staff. Richard is an older rock & roll dude & truly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ginger S
ThePelicanKeyLargo, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back very soon! We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to Richard as our staff truly sets us apart from the rest.

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A great place for fishing and enjoy the sunset! Just missed a large bedroom with windows but they were very friendly and nice! The place is beautiful and there are great food around! We really enjoyed!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fabianafacci
ThePelicanKeyLargo, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review

Fishing from our docks is a very popular pastime here at The Pelican. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

World class view from your back porch. Nice little beach area to relax, swim and enjoy the scenery. Rooms are also very nice. Staff very helpful when we left behind a doll. Great place to watch the sunset. There are also tables and bbq if you want to make your own dinner or picnic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gheiden2015
ThePelicanKeyLargo, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review

We are so glad that you were able to take in the beautiful view from our beach and we could not agree more that it is indeed world class! Our little private beach is the perfect spot to soak up the sun, lounge around or just a place to hang with friends. Hopefully you were able to make use of...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent one night there and for 150 dollars i was given a room, not a "cottage" attached to the office, room was small and old, courtains were broken and people could look inside our bathroom, beds were incredibly unconfortable and there was no real beach, only few chairs on some construction grade sand, in short do not bother with this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nik_s_88
ThePelicanKeyLargo, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your liking. We will address the items that you have mentioned with our staff in order to better serve our guests in the future. It is important to point out that the Florida Keys are not known for their beaches as most of the beaches here...

Oviedo, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fantastic time. The room was clean and tropical. The social areas by the water were well maintained and the customer service was great. Would definitely stay there again, especially since the price was so reasonable as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinaripple
ThePelicanKeyLargo, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Pelican! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take a great deal of pride in our property and it's very rewarding to know that those efforts were noticed by you, our valued guest. We hope to see oyu back very soon and as always, thank you for...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Pelican was the perfect first stop on our crawl down the keys—beautiful beachfront, friendly staff, clean room, and the most comfortable bed and best AC unit of our whole trip. The best surprise, however, was the Pelican's very generous provision of free kayaks that guests may borrow for up to two hours. So glad the front desk attendant recommended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
ThePelicanKeyLargo, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review

We think that The Pelican is the perfect spot too! Thank you for taking the time to review our property and share with others what all The Pelican has to offer. We hold our staff to the very highest of standards and it's very nice to see that those efforts did not go unnoticed. Whether you just want to unwind...

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I had stayed here before and the last time we booked an expensive room with a separate kitchen. On our 3rd night we came out to our car to leave for dinner and had been blocked in by a large pickup truck. It was the people in the room next door and they wouldn't move because they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank travlnDaddio
Redwood City, CA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wanted a quintessential old fashioned place for our first night in the keys, not a hotel chain. This was perfect, about a one hour drive from Miami Intl Airport. The cottages are free-standing, painted in pastel colors with animals drawn on the sides. The little beach was just enough to take a dip or watch a nice sunset, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K H
ThePelicanKeyLargo, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review

We are all of the above! We are so pleased that you found exactly what you were looking for here at The Pelican. We'll be waiting for you on your next trip down to beautiful Key Largo!

439 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (432)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (196)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
3,328 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 19 in Key Largo
1,464 reviews
10.1 km away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
596 reviews
4.0 km away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 19 in Key Largo
3,766 reviews
0.1 km away
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
#6 of 17 in Key Largo
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All 32 of The Pelican's clean and quiet cottage rooms offer different options for relaxing and enjoying all that the Florida Keys has to offer. From experiencing the unique, laid-back bayfront atmosphere, to trying your hand at world-class sportfishing, diving and snorkeling , you are sure to find an activity that suits your tastes. And if that sounds too active, head to our small bayfront beach, where you can enjoy glorious sunsets, gentle breezes, a nap in a hammock or watch manatees and dolphins play. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pelican

Address: 99340 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037-2435 (Formerly Hungry Pelican Motel)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Price Range: $138 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pelican 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pelican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hungry Pelican Hotel Key Largo
Hungry Pelican Key Largo
The Pelican Key Largo, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pelican staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Brigantine, New Jersey
1 month ago
Cranbury, New Jersey
3 months ago
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Pelican staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only a few rooms face the water.”
moondoggieRowley, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 101 on the water was outstanding”
gheiden2015, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms away from the road are quieter.”
N5751FOkims, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“book early”
KH_RWC, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room furthest from the road”
hueyx5, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5