We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Banyan Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expert photos
The Banyan Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Banyan Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 387: English reviews
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This was our first time in Key West – attending a "destination wedding" for a young family member. My wife and stayed two nights at the Banyan Resort. We are only sorry that we did arrange things so that we could have stayed longer. Most of our fellow guests at the resort were owners – people who had been coming... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PatentLawyer
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It sounds like you had a really great experience and that you need to return soon! More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The location is great... Quiet, clean and centrally located next to everything. The beds are so comfy. Nice to have a kitchenette. Especially for snacks and drinks. Can't wait to come back, for a longer stay!

Helpful?
Thank KatieJlipp
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review. More 

Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Got there after a desperate search for free accommodation. The visitors center finally found this place for us, was maybe the last room available on the whole island. So yes we paid a lot of money for this place. Had to share one queen size bed (no couple). The bed itself was very shaky and damaged but okay our fault... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marc K
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review

Even if this was the last room on earth, there is no excuse for a damaged shaky bed! I am glad to see you were pleased with the remainder of your stay and I hope you will consider staying with us again. More 

Cleveland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We visited the Banyan again and it just keeps getting better. The place is a unique conversion of historic plantation homes into units that all have full kitchens, cooking ware and eating utensils. Grills are on site if you want to cook up some fresh fish purchased at the local fish market a few blocks away. Two swimming pools surrounded... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MayoClevelandLad
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a thorough review... I couldn't have said it better myself! The Banyan is truly located in the heart of everything Key West has to offer. More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I've stayed there twice and keep coming back. Beautiful property in the center of Old Town Key West. Once I parked my car, I didn't need it again. 2 pools. Wonderful employees. I really have no complaints of the place or staff.

Helpful?
Thank Alonso d
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review

And we love having you... See you next time!! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort in 2000 and had a great experience. We returned to Key West on February 20th, 2013 with my parents (in their 60s and our children ages 8 & 10.) We had a great time. My parents can be hard to impress but they were astonished that you can have a resort close... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank nancyhschreier
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review

The Banyan is truly situated in the heart of everything Key West has to offer! Please don't let so much time pass between now and your next visit. I'm happy to hear we had something special to offer every member of your family. More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My husband and I love the Banyan We have stayed there many times, sometimes alone, sometimes with other family members including children. Our last visit was in April of 2012 and ,as usual it was a delightful experience. The resort is close to the restaurants and action on Duval St., but it is still secluded, beautiful and quiet.

Helpful?
Thank Arlenem42w
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again in April 2013!! More 

Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This place was fantastic! They knew my name when I walked in the door and treated us like family! There was no request left unattended! very family friendly! The Tiki bar was great fun and they made delicious affordable food! The unit was very nice, clean, and spacious! And you can't beat the location! Bicycles on site for rent! And... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy C
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review

We were happy to be your little fun village! Please come back whenever you are in need of a fix... Your village will be ready for you! More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Superb staff and management, marvelous grounds and historic homes turned into unique studio, 1 BR, or 2BR units set in lush tropical gardens create a blissed out Key West oasis in the heart of old town, 1 block from Duval St. Whether time share owners or renters, you'll find as I did friendly laid back guests who turn into new... More 

Helpful?
Thank JTTRBUG
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, JTTRBUG! You provided a lot of useful information that will hopefully help others. More 

Greensburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Our second stay at the Banyan. Love this place! Such beautiful grounds, and employees are so helpful. Great location in Old Town too! We Love Key West! The only place we consider staying in Key West when we visit. Tiki bar and pools are wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank 12Indiana
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your second review... We'll see you next year!!! More 

354 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (202)
Viewed
Amenities (1)
Viewed
Loft Suite (35)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Studio Suite (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.4 km away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#17 of 85 in Key West
1,284 reviews
0.4 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Courtney's Place
Courtney's Place
#40 of 85 in Key West
383 reviews
0.1 km away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#14 of 85 in Key West
1,225 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa 325
Casa 325
#30 of 85 in Key West
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in a timeless world of beauty and luxury at the first Florida Green Lodging Designated Resort in Key West. Just steps away from the world-famous Duval Street & all that Key West has to offer, including shops, restaurants, & galleries. Spend your day by one of our heated spring-fed pools, sipping drinks at our Tiki Bar, or wandering through the tropical flora in our exquisite gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Banyan Resort

Address: 323 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-6542
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $371 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Banyan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Banyan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Hotel Key West
The Banyan Resort Key West, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Banyan Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Banyan Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No elevators here! Look for a first floor room if stairs are a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles Suaz, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“803 is a two bedroom second floor unit... Private entrance from Eaton Street...”
 of 5 bubbles islandjerr, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for a room that faces the pool area, they would be quieter since they are away from street traffic and late night revelers.”
 of 5 bubbles krs10s, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Liz950, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I thought all the rooms had a special quality, each unique. But take a look at all of them and find what suits you needs.”
 of 5 bubbles julieandpaulc, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay