We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Gates Hotel | Key West

Show Prices
#26 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Gates Hotel | Key West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

823 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 577: English reviews
Start your review of The Gates Hotel | Key West
 Click to rate
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The layout seems like it would be a motel or even an Inn however, The Gates is much more than that! It was only opened in 2016, making the facilities top notch and visually stunning. I have to say, I loved the photos around the complex as it matched the woodwork and modern design of the rooms/lobby. There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reid H
Cornelius, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Gates from April20-26. The staff was very helpful with every request and/or question we had. The bar has a daily Happy Hour which is a good priming spot before heading to Duval St.My only recommendation would be to put microwaves in the rooms.We brought home food from a couple of different places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drcabnet
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My mom and sister are in town so we decided to spend the day in key west. We booked last minute the night before and almost the whole island was sold out. We got in at the Gates. The concierge was very nice. Free welcome drinks (alcoholic or non). We were able to check in early at 1:30pm instead of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PandM B
Sara P, Front Office Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review

PandM B We are so happy to hear about your girls getaway at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear our helpful the associates were and how much you were able to use our amenities. We do hope you get to visit us again!

Reviewed 1 week ago

My fiance and I stayed at the Gates Hotel during our weekend trip to Key West. It was a nice remodeled building and had renovated rooms. We didn't go for a dip in the pool area but everything seemed clean. The room was clean and they have an eco friendly option for conserving water and electricity by giving you a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
Sara P, Front Office Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review

Justin B We are so happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and that you were able to have a good night rest. We do hope that your next visit you stay with us again and enjoy our amenities around the resort too!

Valtournenche, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When in Key West I stay at the Pier Hotel Classy and real upper Key West. At the last minute I was directed here. Everything that I hate. Non existent reception No help with luggage Stool bar. No area to relax . Nothing charming Resort? Must be virtual! 1 mile to my room on a parking lot for over 350...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabrizio M
Sara P, Front Office Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review

Fabrizio M We are very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. If you would like to discuss any further and to take a look at your reservation, please email spilat@24northhotel.com directly.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The photos on this site are accurate. The rooms are clean and fresh looking and the beds are comfortable. The pool is good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We took the shuttle to and from downtown everyday. The Blind Pig food truck's fryer was broken the whole week we were there so we did not eat at it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Canmpls
Sara P, Front Office Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review

Canmpls We appreciate your feedback about your stay and apologize that you were not able to enjoy The Blind Pig but are happy to hear that you were able to visit our sister property at the Toasted Coconut. We do have a shuttle that is included with our resort fee that takes you downtown. We are further away but do...

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a fabulous hotel. It definitely fits the Florida keys well with its ocean island decoration. The ambience speaks beaches. The lobby area is beautifully designed as is the pool outdoor recreation area. Even the scent in the lobby is unique and ocean scented. The rooms are elegant spacious and provide the same ambience as the rst of the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcyb243
Sara P, Front Office Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review

marcyb243 We are so happy to hear about your stay with us and how much of a good time you had during your Keys vacation. Please visit us again very soon!

Albany, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Jessica was our saviour, allowing us to enjoy our stay in Florida Keys and at The Gates. American Airlines Vacation totally messed up our hotel reservations, The Gates and most of the hotels were sold out in the Keys. Jessica made multiple calls and found a place last minute in the Keys for us to stay the first night, she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WayneBoom
Sara P, Front Office Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review

WayneBoom We are so happy to hear about your stay with us and how wonderful Jessica was and helpful during your stay and after. We do hope that you are able to return and apprecitate your feedback!

Goodview, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is located at the entrance to Key West Island and is about 3 miles from Old Town. Not to worry; there is a hourly shuttle, a bus stop across the road, and the Hop-on Hop-off trolley stops nearby. However, the shuttle service had us on a mini bus that was way over capacity. There needs to be more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank budgetgranny
Sara P, Front Office Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review

budgetgranny We appreciate your feedback about your stay with us and the concerns you had about our shuttle. We are always looking for ways to enhance our hotel and will be looking into this concern. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your time at Rum Row bar and Starbucks.

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This property is gorgeous. Newly opened and very modern. Sadly I was only there for a day. They have a shuttle that runs every half hour to take people to Duval Street. The concierge at checkin was delightful and very lovely. I love the decor throughout and the place is incredibly clean. I can't wait to go back and use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
Sara P, Front Office Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review

Lauren H We are so happy to hear about your gorgous stay with us and how you are excited to come back to visit us! We are so happy you were able to use our shuttle and how helpful the front desk and concerge was.

460 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (426)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (227)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.0 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 km away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#33 of 51 in Key West
447 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
0.8 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gates is a new lifestyle hotel in Key West offering an intimate setting that invites guests to celebrate the island's colorful history and creative spirit. Mixing contemporary design with retro Floridian flair, The Gates Hotel features 100 guestrooms with modern amenities that uniquely combine upscale sophistication and polished service with the island's casual laid-back vibe. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gates Hotel | Key West

Address: 3824 N. Roosevelt Blvd., Key West, FL 33040-4535
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $290 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gates Hotel | Key West 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gates Hotel | Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Key West Hotel Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West Florida
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gates Hotel | Key West staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question
Coconut Creek, Florida
1 month ago
New York City, New York
8 months ago
Fort Myers, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from The Gates Hotel | Key West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look for a discount, It was a little over priced”
A7972DZjustinb, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Change hotel”
X6601HBfabriziom, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Wifi is free but weak. We were on the second floor and it was nice to be a bit away from the pool.”
Canmpls, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book Direct - if you book with another provider verify with the Hotel directly a week before. Call the front desk and not reservations.”
WayneBoom, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“135 is a bad room located next to the laundry!”
kevindA6606ME, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5