We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,865: English reviews
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I will begin by saying the rooms were gross. The carpet in the rooms were filthy-- you could not walk on the ground barefoot, the bathrooms were dirty. It took forever to get the rooms cleaned and it took hours to get extra towels and the pull out couch made up. The food service and all of the servers are... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank K J
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, I cannot apologize enough for what sounds to me like a very poor experience at our property. I welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues that you experienced during your stay. Please contact me directly via email. Paul Bartush Manager paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com More 

South Lyon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hasn't been updated in years. Staff needs work. Very loud noise coming from air condition unit on top of building. Beach was cleaned off either day we were there. Overall if wasn't for the location we would stay somewhere else.

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin R
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kevin I am sorry that you did not find The Reach Resort to meet the expectations that you had. I would like to speak to you directly to explore possible ways to make amends. Please reach out to me directly via email to set up a convenient time to talk. Paul Bartush Manager paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed back in October of 2013 and the hotel should not be a Hilton and definitely not a Waldorf Astoria. The staff just doesn't care when you point out how dirty the place is (noticed when checked in). It needs significant painting and the rooms aren't clean. In addition, the staff doesn't seem to know what the "Do Not... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Nukesrule
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am very sorry to not have learned of your poor experience at The Reach while you were on property. I would have happily assisted in remedying any of the issues that existed. Please contact me via email to set up a time to discuss the issues that you experienced and how I can make amends for... More 

Watford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The rooms by American standard were smaller than expected with little storage space. This was more than made up for by the helpful staff and rapid response to any issues. It is the perfect place to explore Key West on foot.

Helpful?
Thank OlaWatford
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

I am thrilled to know that our staff made your recent stay at The Reach Resort so pleasurable. Thank you for taking the time to highlight the efforts of the staff and our location - two of the many wonderful assets that The Reach Resort offers to its guests. We hope that you provide us with an opportunity to welcome... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is not a Waldorf. Dirty, smelly room, poor service. The only thing compatible with a Waldorf was the price. The rest is more like a Days Inn. They sell an Ocean View Suite where you can hardly see the sea. It was a disaster.

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Please contact me to discuss the issues that you experienced during your recent stay. Paul Bartush Manager paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com More 

Martinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I did not feel that The Reach lived up to the Waldorf Astoria name. While the staff were truly excellent throughout our stay, the building fell short. There was insufficient (practically non-existent) furniture for unpacking clothing. No dressers, no drawers, little shelf space and most things had to sit out in plain view or in a suitcase on a flimsy... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank gjs37
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Please contact me directly to discuss the issues that you experienced at your earliest convenience. Thank you Paul Bartush Manager paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com More 

Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had a room way off in the "forgotten" wing, smelled a little moldy too (closed up) we are also from florida so the warm salty air is home to us..broken sink stopper, toilet handle hard to push, handle to sliding door curtain missing. Minor faults but for the price at least put into the details of room.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole V
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had a romantic getaway at the Reach. We stayed just for two days in December 2013 and it was a very satisfying experience. Our room was upgraded right away after check-in because we just asked for a room without the noise of a/c outside the room, as we usually turn the a/c off while staying inside - thank you... More 

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Natalia F
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Dear Natalia, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Reach Resort and to highlight the efforts of those staff who made your stay extra special. We hope that you chose The Reach as your home away from home should you find yourself in paradise again. Warm regards, Paul Bartush Manager paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com More 

Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were at The Reach for four days around Christmas in 2013. Every room in the hotel was full yet we had no problems finding seats at the pool or on the beautiful beach. Now, you are not going to get gigantic rooms (think almost New York City-size rooms) but I felt that the quality of the room and service... More 

Helpful?
Thank RZ-23
Boston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

If location is your primary concern, this is the hotel for you in Key West. If, however, you are also concerned with cleanliness (as in no bugs in your room, clean sheets, and toiley seats) and good customer service (where people look you in the eye, greet you with a smile, and do not seem put out to respond to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa T
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Dear Melissa, I am sorry to hear that your stay at The Reach Resort did not live up to your expectations. Please contact me to discuss your specific concerns and how I may be able to make amends. Warm regards Paul Bartush Manager paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com More 

1,474 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1128)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (238)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (225)
Viewed
Room/Suite (138)
Viewed
View from Room (100)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (369)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (274)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Ocean-View Boutique Suite (49)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Traditional Room (43)
Viewed
Tropical Courtyard Room (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.9 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
1.9 km away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#14 of 49 in Key West
2,132 reviews
1.8 km away
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $485 - $927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Key West, Florida
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#13 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Water view rooms instead of courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles 9kerrys, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The courtyard view was the best bet, as you also get a partial ocean view looking out onto the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles karenauclair, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the court yard view most have a slight ocean view.....”
 of 5 bubbles Flashrabbit, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some are better than others, we were on the street view. Not great”
 of 5 bubbles biggtman, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beach view!”
 of 5 bubbles margaretg885, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay