We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Show Prices
#38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

796 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
See the most recent reviews
Showing 670: English reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

First, let me say that the pool area is lovely, and the staff were super nice. Breakfast consisted of activia yogurt, packaged cereals and apples. Nice location - close enough to walk to attractions, but quiet. OK, now the down side. When we arrived, our room had not been cleaned very well. Hair in the tub. Rust, corroded tub drain,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ontheroad260
OC, NJ
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Easy Walk to all the Key West tourist sites. No need for rental car. Bike rental was a block away with bike racks on property. Safe. Old House gave you true flavor of Key West. The bedroom was large and bed comfortable, although hairs in sheets made you wonder if clean. Window A/C blocked out the noise of the street....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N N
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We were only their for one night, but the two staff members we had to deal with at the front were spectacular. Brian was a complete sweetheart! Room was a little small, but perfectly clean and comfortable for what it was. Would stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyLindsayAnn
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Had a wonderful stay in Key West at the Chelsea house. Stayed in room 26, the Forster Room. Room was slightly small but worked for the 4 days we were there. There is so much to do and see in Key West that the only time we spent in the room was to sleep and shower. The staff was extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beachfamily20
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This place has everything you need in a hotel. It's not the Waldorf, but that isn't what it's supposed to be about. From a service and amenity standpoint, I would favoribly compare it with a Holiday Inn Express, but with an historic twist. The Chelsea House is actually two historic houses, along with some extra rooms that were added at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kurt s
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My fiance and I just got from our trip to Key West during Thanksgiving weekend! We had a fantastic weekend and loved staying at Chelsea House. The staff was very nice and helpful. I called on the way down to let them know we were running late and I spoke to Bryan. He was very sweet and walked me though...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julissa R
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We were treated to drunken staff, unfriendly management, horrible beds and cheap linens and very bad food. Our Bathroom drain had hair in it and the floor was dirty. For our honeymoon I expected better but was sadly not to find it at Chelsea House. On our last day we came back from breakfast only to find repairmen in our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Leslie P
HistoricKeyWestInns, Multichannel Marketing Director at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review

Dear Leslie P, Thanks for writing your review, although we do not think it belongs to our hotel! We have searched our records from December of last year, when you say you stayed with us, and cannot find any stay for you nor a honeymoon group. We do have records of three happy Wedding groups at Chelsea House, though! You...

Atlanta
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I travel over 900 miles to get here. I live in Atlanta and can go around the block to find plush accommodations. That's not why I stay at Chelsea House. It's just intimate enough and just private enough. The mansion is over 100 years old, so I don't expect plush. And compare the price to just about any other guesthouse...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AtlantaGuy489
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Great hotel and staff! The location was perfect, 5 minute walk to Duvalstreet, 10 minute walk to South Beach. Staff was very helpfull. Bryan, thanks so much for your help! Rooms are clean, not very spacious, but enough space for 2 people. We had a superior economy room. Nice balcony. Nice pool! I would definitly stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fhayda W
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The location of this B&B is reasonably convenient - close to Duval Street, but not right in the middle of the noise and drunk people. Free parking was available in the lot adjacent to the hotel, and street parking was also pretty easy to find when we stayed, which was nice. This is a charming old house, meaning there are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank makster

560 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (304)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
1:25
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (120)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (228)
Viewed
Amenities (75)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (32)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (37)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 km away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#19 of 51 in Key West
1,275 reviews
0.5 km away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.9 km away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,649 reviews
0.8 km away
La Concha Hotel & Spa
La Concha Hotel & Spa
#40 of 51 in Key West
923 reviews
4.0 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $385 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West
Chelsea House Hotel In Key West Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chelsea House Hotel in Key West staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Chelsea House Hotel in Key West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were with friends and had rooms 24 & 25 which gave us a beautiful private patio with table and chairs and also some loungers.”
 of 5 bubbles R9450TGcarolh, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 22 was disappointing”
 of 5 bubbles juliebM9908QV, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room with personal patio”
 of 5 bubbles 796daniellek, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the new building across the street.”
 of 5 bubbles douglash926, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I was told you could talk to the front desk about what type of room you were looking for...”
 of 5 bubbles alexisalong, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5