We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,056 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 856: English reviews
Porthtowan, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

On arrival, the receptionist was helpful and we found our room easily. It wasn't what the pictures showed though, and was significantly smaller than we expected, but was fine for what we needed. There is also no safe for valuables which we would have preferred. We were really close to the pool which was handy, and the shuttle bus stopped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SGCornwall
Alameda, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a two night stay but had to check early due to substandard accommodations. They call themselves The Resort and they have lots of fun amenities kayaking, and stand up paddle boarding, jet skis and a complimentary shuttle that takes you to several different stops Downtown hourly to hop-on and hop-off and, a restaurant on site that is Zagat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jade M
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jade, There isn't a single bathroom anywhere at Ibis Bay that is, as you say, "covered in mold". We wouldn't stay in business or have 3 1/2 stars if there was. Even though most guests love our fully restored 1956 Ibis Bay Resort, it isn't new and therefore isn't always right for people who want a modern chain hotel...

Delaware
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great resort, great restaurant ,great staff ,very friendly ! They work around the clock to keep the resort looking beautiful ! There are ibis birds parrots turtles and iguanas all over the grounds ! Loved the stones crab restaurant ! Loved the night time kayaks and we rented scooters and scooted around town it's about ten mins out but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jens_7279980001
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jen, Great to hear we were part of your memorable Key West vacation. And of course, we are happy to hear you are coming back to see us. That's the greatest compliment of all. Returning guests get extra benefits so make sure you let our Front Desk staff know you are a returning Ibis Bay guest when you book....

Folsom, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with my girlfriend on our first trip to Key West. And for $150 per night, it was not as expected, to say the least. Rooms are dismal, dark, and depressing, using odd off color LED bulbs and energy saving curly bulbs in the light fixtures. Furniture is different in every room and looks as to be acquired at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danielarusk
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Daniel, Ibis Bay is Key West's FULLY renovated (you don't agree) historic (you don't agree) beach (you don't agree) resort. Each room is individually decorated with great vintage Cuban tourist posters, 1950s Key West postcards and artifacts (you don't agree) collected by the owners (my wife and I that celebrate Florida's Golden Age of the 1950s (you don't agree). If...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is very good. Not too far to the action. Rooms need to be renovated at least carpet replacement and bathroom upgrades are needed. Lack of customer service is a major problem. Only the Spanish housekeepers have some manners. The head housekeeper went by 7 times in 4 days and didn't acknowledge any of the guests. The restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al H
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Al, I will pass on your thoughts to our Head of Housekeeping. I am not happy to hear that even a single member of my staff is not welcoming. Its our job to make you feel welcome. Its also very rare for this to be said, I will address housekeeping and the restaurant staff immediately. Chris

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice place, comfortable and affordable. The rooms had nice views, the pool was ok, clean place and nice staff. They also have shuttle to beaches although not very handy because of the weird places for stops and the times. Breakfast was awful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gorefist4
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not what you would expect. You are greeted with bad attitude at the check in desk, despite the fact that we where not allowed to check in until 5PM, we got room that was not cleaned (i.e. there where tissues on the floor with bodily fluids). The iBIS (sorry Bates Motel) is situated along one of the large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikael D
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Mikael I am sorry to read this. Our guests always compliment us on how spotless our rooms are. We take pride in that. Based on what you have said, your room was not up to our standards. I will forward this review to our Head of Housekeeping so she can make sure this never happens again. I am sorry. I...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived with my father who is 84, we had booked 2 rooms for. 2 nights but it's not made very clear when booking which level the rooms are on. Ground floor rooms were available for an upgrade price of #20 a night so we had no choice but to pay up, it was fortunate one was available! Also resort fee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Shirley, The British are famous for their grumbling and for being very funny. I should know, my wife is British. She upholds that great British tradition, like you do. I am not sure whether your comment about our shower being so strong you believe it would bruise a child is hysterically funny or a British grumble. That's likely due...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed only one night and got the forst floor room. The rooms are so cute and well designed. Ooutside is full of hammocks with a great view to spend some quiet time. They offer a free bus to downtown that runs from 8 am to 10pm and they offer so many services. A small note...the shower is a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valentina R
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Valentina, I am glad you enjoyed your room, the hammocks and many of the facilities at Ibis Bay Its helpful for future guests to hear what our guests experienced. Thanks for that. Chris

Key Largo, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Ibis Bay several years ago, and had a very bad experience. The rooms were totally run down, and beds were really bad. Since our last stay, they have really spruced up the place. This is not a 5 star Hilton, but a clean comfortable Keezy place. Rooms were clean, bed was comfy and newer Window AC unit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hi Robert, Thank you for staying with us again. Many of our guests return to Ibis Bay and enjoy our progress. We take it as a compliment. We don't individually charge for parking, wi-fi or shuttle service like many hotels. We do charge a small resort fee to cover those costs. Its a much better deal. See you next time!!...

928 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (684)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (175)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (250)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (213)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Other (64)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#36 of 49 in Key West
2,250 reviews
3.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
1.5 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#25 of 49 in Key West
713 reviews
1.5 km away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#31 of 49 in Key West
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $218 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Bay Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Bay Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you absolutely must stay here, insist to see several rooms before choosing. They are all different.”
 of 5 bubbles danielarusk, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Water front rooms are very nice, hammock and deck chairs in the sand in front of a small pier”
 of 5 bubbles gorefist4, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best room on ground floor overlooking beach area, away from refuse bins!!”
 of 5 bubbles 792shirleyw, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have a patio facing the water. Our room had a patio with a table and 2 chairs. Refrigerator but no Microwave. No phone.”
  • Patio
  • Patio
 of 5 bubbles Hobojack, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get everything in writing!”
 of 5 bubbles kphil126, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay