We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Key Cottages

Expedia.comUS$735*
View Deal
#22 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Key Cottages
Sunset Key Cottages
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

650 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunset Key Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 591: English reviews
frisco, texas
Reviewed 29 December 2014

The island is beautiful and this is the 2nd time we stayed here. But the house keeping service is very poor and a joke especially having to pay top dollar. Hire better help instead of the lazy employees you hired. Service is lousy so be prepared.

 Report
Helpful?
21Thank ajricca
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. All comments are passed along to staff for training and improvement purposes. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Lourdes Torbisco Marketing Director

New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 December 2014

We loved this place. A short boat ride from Key West takes you to this resort. The location is on a private island. Totally surrounded by water and so pretty. We had spacious rooms that were efficiencies. The island has nice beaches all around and a great pool. The restaurant was great too. Latitudes served me my first "Eggs Benedict...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacqueline L
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Lourdes Torbisco Marketing Director

Long Island City, New York
Reviewed 25 December 2014

I answered the following in a survey the hotel sent me..(would have been VERY upset if we paid full price): The pool was not warm enough to go in but is advertised as heated.. One of the 2 jacuzzis didn't work . Our breakfast was a terrible experience with cold coffee, an inexperienced waiter, overcooked eggs when ordered over easy...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank flybye0330
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. All reviews are passed along to the staff for training and improvement purposes. There was a broken pump that needed to be rewired. We tried replacing the pump but it also broke because the wires and breaker box was having issues. We did have one working...

Annapolis, MD
Reviewed 20 December 2014

We visited Sunset Key in May 2014 and it was everything we wanted and more. From the moment we stepped aboard the ferry- the staff was friendly, helpful and eager to assist. Sunset Key is beyond gorgeous. The guest cottages are decorated beautifully and are very clean and accommodating. We had several lunch and dinners at Latitudes and the food,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank limencoconut
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Lourdes Torbisco Marketing Director

San Diego, California
Reviewed 19 December 2014

The grounds, setting and cottages at Sunset Key are very nice. The cottage we were in was decorated as I would imagine I would decorate a beach cottage. It was very comfortable. The grounds were also beautiful and there was special attention to decorating for Christmas - there were poinsettias everywhere. The delivery of the OJ (in the evening) and...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank mrpeanut3
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

portland, oregon
Reviewed 9 December 2014 via mobile

We'd been checked in 3 hours when the power went down (approx) 10 hours. So when the hot water was lukewarm that evening and into the next day I thought it was renewing itself after being out. That afternoon the water was still so lukewarm that just two people could shower and the last shower was edging on cold. I...

 Report
Helpful?
23Thank travelstoomuch1
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If efforts to make things right, we did...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 December 2014

All I can say is WOW! From the second we step foot onto the resort to our sad departure my husband and I had one of the most amazing stays of our lives. Not only is the location of the Resort extremely gorgeous and intimate, but each and every interaction with staff members was pleasant and memorable. The spa was...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kelsey K
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Sincerely, Lourdes Torbisco Marketing Director

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 30 November 2014

If you are going to visit Key West, you should try staying at Sunset Key...at least once. This resort is on the most fabulous island in Key West, accessible only by private ferry. The pictures on TripAdvisor and on Westin's website do not do it justice. Tropical foliage and bellowing palm trees line the island and every walk-way. The beach...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ChicagoGirl017
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you so much for this positive review! It sounds like you enjoyed an amazing vacation and we are so glad to hear about it! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Warm regards, Lourdes Torbisco Marketing Director

East Winthrop, Maine
Reviewed 19 November 2014

I stayed with my wife and two couples at the Sunset Key Resort. What a beautiful area. i love that you can be in the party nightlife atmosphere of Key West and five minutes away is this tranquil island that will meet all your expectations.The cottage was very nice plenty of room...very comfortable accomadations. They deliver a basket of muffins...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Will12194
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Lourdes Torbisco Marketing Director

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2014

What a beautiful place. So laid back and yet with the most amazing service. The restaurant was excellent and the sunsets spectacular. Beaches were spotless with plenty of us beds and shade. The only thing that marred the experience was the large number of jellyfish. But even then nothing could detract from the loveliness of this place. The spa too...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sunshinenw3
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Lourdes Torbisco Marketing Director

1,055 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (417)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (216)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (575)
Viewed
Amenities (94)
Viewed
Beach (27)
Viewed
Bimini Two-Bedroom Ocean-View Cottage (116)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Sunhaven Four-Bedroom Cottage (210)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.4 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.0 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.1 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,481 reviews
0.9 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.8 km away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#19 of 51 in Key West
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunset Key Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages

Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: $1,078 - $2,234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest
Sunset Key Cottages Key West, Florida
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Key Cottages staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Key Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view if you can”
BarbaraT920, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Plenty of room....we are a family of 5, booked a 2 bedroom and had sleeping space and bathroom for at least one more”
143heidib, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Most of the cottages have a water view, so you do not need to pay the higher price for an on the beach cottage.”
37edd, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beachside is nice but breezy. Our "garden view" unit overlooking the pool also had a view to the ocean and was terrific.”
Bill_Mass, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Oceanfront cottage a must”
  • Kitchen/ dining...coffee, coffee maker, OJ, water provided
  • Beach from living area
  • Living area
Cucachella, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$735* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$735
Booking.comUS$835
Hotels.comUS$735
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates