We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Moorings Village

TripAdvisorUS$674*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$674*
View Deal
in partnership withThe Moorings Village
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
Panoramas (40)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Moorings Village
See the most recent reviews
Showing 278: English reviews
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Terrific setting, low keyed and very well maintained. Really a beautiful setting, you are almost always alone wherever and whenever you want to be. Friendly staff. Don't go expecting to swim in the ocean because there is plenty of sea grass and muck, buy the views are incredible and there are other water options such as kayaks and paddle boards...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gvd76
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at The Moorings during your recent trip to Islamorada. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here. The beach here is a sandy bottom and we have spots of very shallow water in front of the resort - perfect spots for seeing bonefish swimming by. Thank you again for the review and we look forward...

Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Obviously Bloodline was high on the list to say we had visited the set for this Netflix show I have never seen, but a family member was well acquainted with it and was quite passionate about our visit. All that aside, we had a luxurious lunch in a picture perfect setting. The bonus was the iguana which caught my granddaughter's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline72747
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the restaurants. As you discovered, there are no bars or restaurants on The Moorings' property. We are, however, affiliated with 2 restaurants, Morada Bay Beach Cafe and Pierre's Restaurant. Both of these restaurants are located on the bay side of the island at 81600 Overseas Highway in Islamorada. Morada Bay is open for lunch and...

Lido Key, Florida
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Very relaxing, beautifully maintained and managed oasis. I highly recommend it if you have the means. We were a party of five that stayed at the Waca House for 2 nights. In spite of the front desk personnel saying that they were fully booked, it still had a very private and secluded feel to it. The beach was virtually deserted....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Flashedvirus0
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review! We often hear from guests that they feel like they are the only ones here! We are pleased you were able to enjoy the privacy and peace we aim to provide. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

One of the best place I have ever been! These Bahamians style houses in a lush garden and on a picture perfect beach , with great service , are simply heaven! Every detail is just perfect in a cool laid down lux environnement. Free paddle boards, kayaks, bikes to discover the surroundings. Will come back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlyncy12
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Moorings! We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks, again!

Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We WILL be coming back to the Moorings. We are teachers, and this place is a little beyond our reach financially. But it was so incredibly worth it. We spent about four hours in the hammock on the dock. The water is impossibly clear and stretches forever. The cottages are quaint, and each one is unique. The place has a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tpeterson2017
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The Moorings during your recent trip to Islamorada. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here! Often, in the summer months, we offer specials and discounts so we encourage you to check our website or give us a call for current promotions. We hope to welcome you back and thanks again for the review!

Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Beautiful property with small cottages. Very clean & comfortable. Very laid back. Gorgeous beach with large footprint. Unfortunately no amenities - bar, store or restaurant on property, but everything is close by. Check in was quick, bellman lead us to room and then we never really saw anyone until check out. They leave you to yourself. Which is nice. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Crystal D
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Moorings. We strive to be here for all of our guests but stay in the background and give our guests the ultimate amount of privacy. We are so glad you loved it here and we hope to see you again in the future!

Islamorada, Florida
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Hands down my absolute favorite place to stay in the Keys! The cottages and grounds are pristine and the only thing better than the resort itself is their amazing customer service! Huge shout out to Big E for going above and beyond to ensure our stay was unforgettable.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank karlykcampbell
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review! We are so glad we were able to provide an unforgettable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

This resort was a perfect destination for relief from the career rat race. The property's layout with its free standing villas provides for a feeling of being at your very own private getaway. We stayed in the Orchid villa which was charming with its intimate veranda. The newspapers of our choice were delivered every morning. Note: There were very few...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Denise-12hrs_away
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Moorings on TripAdvisor! We are so glad you were able to escape and find peace and relaxation here. We hope to see you again soon for your next respite!

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2016

We've had the pleasure of staying here before and this latest visit didn't disappoint overall. It is the most lovely setting and the lodges spread around are equipped to the highest standard and are very comfortable. You can fish off the beach or dock (catch and release) and there are kayaks, paddleboards and bikes free for guests to use. The...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank aberdeenangler
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to voice your opinions. We appreciate all the lovely aspects you pointed out. The Moorings is indeed one of a kind. It is unfortunate you were here during the filming of "Bloodline." There are so many people who would jump at the opportunity to watch the filming of one of Netflix's original series. The...

Salt Lake City
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We had our honeymoon here 23 years ago, and recently stayed here again. Absolutely stunning landscape: helpful staff. If you didn't know you were in the contiguous United States, you would think you were somewhere in a 5 star resort in the Bahamas. Not quite sure I would recommend it for families, but this is absolutely the best place to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BigDaddyBoomball
Natasha E, Guest Relations Manager at The Moorings Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind review! We loved having you back! We often hear from guests they feel like they are no longer in the United States and are on an island in the Bahamas or Caribbean upon arrival to The Moorings. We are glad you were able to escape with us and hope to see you again.

687 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (373)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (164)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (277)
Viewed
Albright House (81)
Viewed
Amenities (50)
Viewed
Beach (18)
Viewed
Honeymoon (70)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.5 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,293 reviews
0.4 km away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,248 reviews
1.3 km away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
389 reviews
4.4 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.6 km away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Once a coconut plantation, The Moorings Village offers one, two and three bedroom villas, cottages and plantation houses with wraparound verandas, colorful Bahamian-style shutters and cypress interiors, each uniquely decorated. Hidden in delightful seclusion under coconut palms are the resort’s magnificent natural white sand beach, heated pool, tennis court and Island Body and Sol Spa, which offers beachfront massage treatments. The Moorings Village offers guests absolute privacy and tranquility with all the comforts of home, including well-equipped kitchens and laundry in most houses, individual dining rooms and living room areas, air conditioning and ceiling fans. Luxury amenities include large screen televisions, elegant hand-painted tiles, oversized soaking tubs and shower stalls, as well as plantation-style porches overlooking the ocean or views of the lushly landscaped grounds. Guests may enjoy dining at the resort's two Zagat-rated restaurants, Pierre's Restaurant and Morada Bay Beach Cafe, located just across the road. The restaurants share a private beach and are the site of the monthly Full Moon Party. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Moorings Village

Address: 123 Beach Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Price Range: $799 - $1,919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Moorings Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Moorings Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Village Hotel Islamorada
Moorings Islamorada
The Moorings Village Islamorada, Florida
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Moorings Village staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from The Moorings Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All of the cottages are nice and close to the beach many right on the beach”
355ralphe, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“We felt like the houses away from the beach had better views, the villas in the middle part of the grounds.”
  • View out the back of the Waca House
Flashedvirus0, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The more expensive the cottage, the better the view (obviously). There is something beautiful outside every cottage, though.”
tpeterson2017, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the south side of the property are a little more quiet.”
josephma13, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view baby......unbelievable.”
870nehab, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$674* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
Cancelon
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates