We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Yellowtail Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Yellowtail Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yellowtail Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 233: English reviews
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Old and dirty towels with holes and dirty linens, the whole property in much need of renovation and very high price. A shame on its great location.around good public parks and good places to eat- Key Fisheries in Marathon and the Fish House in Key largo.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vivian2012
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. We are aware of the problems, and are working very hard to bring the hotel up to the level that our guests expect and deserve. We have recently brought in all-new management, as well as a new housekeeping staff. Many of our rooms have been completely renovated, and others are in the renovation process. We are...

Bognor regis
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The resort is run down and un cared for. Our room was dirty. The windows do not shut so you can hear the road and it makes the a\c ineffective. There were dead bugs around the windows. The smoke detector has been pulled off the wall the handle to close the windows did not attach. The shower had not been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison H
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I'm sorry if you had a bad experience with us. I wish you would've alerted the staff to your problems, as we would have moved you to an acceptable room immediately. Hopefully your next visit to the Keys will be more enjoyable.

Reviewed 27 February 2013

We were offered 2 rooms, both of which were littered with cockroach droppings! They would not refund our stay even though we only looked at the rooms & were there no more than 1/2 hour total. The "manager" didn't even bat an eye when we told him. Of course that's because he already had our $! Beware of this place,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julies5190
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. If you would've been a little patient we could have easily give you a different room. You agreed to our cancellation policy when you made the reservation. Additionally, it really isn't appropriate to slander our other properties that you never saw.

Reviewed 18 February 2013

Did not paid attention to past review and booked 1 night in this place which was dirty, towels had holes and roches in the stowe. Only good that can be said it was in a good location. Expensive for what you get.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivianrod
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewed 14 February 2013

All of the previous bad reviews are true. We stayed 2 nights (2-11 & 12, 2013) and did not see a clean towel or a made bed. We were told we should have said something. Well when you leave early in the morning to spend the day at Key West and come back after 10 pm there is nobody there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Larry B
Palm Coast
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Checked in around 5pm and unloaded into our room. We had a few small maintenance requests (non working lamp and internet) which the dull front manager did address. The room was dingy and slanted but we planned on staying and making the best of it. We left around 6 to go get a few groceries to make dinner. We came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeachButterfly72
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you would've alerted our staff earlier in the evening or contacted our office the next day we probably could have done something to make you happy.

Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This is the worst place I have ever stayed. We booked way ahead of time and had to settle for a MUCH smaller room the first night. The website says snorkeling and such, but at low tide there is NO beach. Smells of fish and even at high tide seaweed and water and mud up to your knees. The pools...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank denoweeno
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that it has reached this point with these guests. We feel we bent over backwards to accommodate them. When they said the room they originally booked was too small, we gave them a free upgrade to our nicest and largest suite. I don't really understand the comment about there being no beach at low tide, if anything the...

Michigan
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Had a reservation for the Bonfish Resort, which was a companion resort of this one. When we arrvied to check in were told that they had upgraded us to a nicer room at the YellowTail Inn. It was one of the most discussing rooms I have ever rented. See the pics I have left of the room and the surrounding...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Richie M
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry if you didn't like your stay but frankly economy prices get you an economy room. We did go out of our way to give you a free upgrade to an oceanfront room. Obviously our suites and condos are more expensive.

Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

I read the reviews and decided to stay any way. The attendant at the front desk upgraded us after the room we wanted was not avalible. The place is old, but decorated nice. Our stay was comfortable. We did not see any bugs, however we did see lots of iguanas! We thought that was cool. The view from our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheree2012
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words, I'm glad you had such a great trip! Hope to see you again!

Simsbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I've stayed here in the past, and although the rooms are not the cleanest, the value is there. We were really pleased we could now get breakfast delivered to us on the beach or right to our room!! My husband and I visit the Keys regularly, and like this location a great deal. I do agree cleaner sheets and towels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RodneyL3
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words, and for your continued business! I am happy to inform you that we have just received a large order of brand new sheets and towels! We can't wait to see you again!

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marathon hotels
0.8 km away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Marathon
249 reviews
7.3 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
16.0 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.6 km away
Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
15.8 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Yellowtail Inn

Address: 58162 Overseas Hwy, MM58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6024
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range: $221 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowtail Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Yellowtail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowtail Hotel Marathon
Yellowtail Inn Marathon, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yellowtail Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Yellowtail Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 105 is an oceanfront cottage where we stayed. Looks like one of the best on the property for scenery and relaxation.”
 of 5 bubbles 831grege, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go here.”
 of 5 bubbles clarkebar99, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles PEFB, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Look at rooms online, then call and ask questions. Different units have different amenities”
 of 5 bubbles Mermaidindisguise, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Move along to the next hotel on your list”
 of 5 bubbles johnthefixerman, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay