We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Captain Pip\\
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Panoramas (34)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

420 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 366: English reviews
Start your review of Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
 Click to rate
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It was a very windy week and our snorkeling trips were cancelled the first two times we made reservations. The third time, the seas were still too rough to go to Sombrero Reef, but Captain Ray took us to an offshore reef. We had a great boat ride and still were able to see spiny lobsters, puffer fish, amazing shaped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb03842
CaptainPips, Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

Unfortunately mother nature doesn't always give us the perfect snorkeling days. Go glad you still had a great time. Pirates cove is just a different eco system, but you still see good stuff. Thanks for the 5 stars, we appreciate your business.

Miami
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in Key Largo, Marathon, & Key West. It's not fancy here but is well equiped, has all the right stuff & is quite comfy. A convenience store across the street has some of this & that. We'll try it again next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulie_Florida
CaptainPips, Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

We try to keep that old Florida feel here at Captain Pips. Hope to see you again on your next trip to the keys.

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We took the family on one of the half day snorkeling trips to the lighthouse off Marathon. The boat ride was enjoyable and the crew was nice and helpful. The equipment was typical for group trips. The boat was pack with 40+ participants, and the snorkeling location had 5-6 other boats all snorkeling. The snorkeling itself was just ok-not spectacular....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary B
CaptainPips, Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

Sometimes the winds during the winter make the water not it's clearest. Glad you found the value to be a good one.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and three friends wanted to have some great snorkeling while in the Keys and we picked the right place!! Captain Ray and Kim were friendly, fun and helpful! The boat trip out to Sombrero Reef was just the right amount of boat ride with some fun island music. When we got to the snorkeling spot, Captain Ray and Kim...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tiffany R
CaptainPips, Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

So glad you had a great snorkel and in my opinion seeing that sea turtle, just put the icing on the cake. We appreciate your business and taking the time to write this great review. I will pass you kind words onto our staff.

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay,superb location for exploring the rest of the keys,staff brilliant,nothing a problem,boats great, accommodation just what you need,not flashy but very functional.we will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johclay
CaptainPips, Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. All of the Captain Pips staff are proud to serve our clients and hope we add to your vacation experience and memories.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Are you looking for a nice relaxing vacation? I certainly would choose another boat rental company... 100's to choose from. We reserved a specific type of boat and when we arrived they were giving it to another family. We wasted a ton of vacation time with the rude front desk staff... the owner scoffed and left as I was complaining....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ander R
CaptainPips, Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience with the attempt of a boat rental. As you can see from many other reviews, we are not a bait and switch operation. We did not take hours of your vacation as you were in and out in 30 minutes. Perhaps you should have rented a boat with the resort you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed in the treetop apartment at captain pips and we weren't dissapointed. It was a lovely apartment with a separate lounge and bedroom with our own kitchen. We had a lovely view of a lake and foliage our the back with a slight view of the ocean In the background. We enjoyed our stay there and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank becki29031990
CaptainPips, Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are a "keysie" location and glad you could appreciate that we keep it casual with the feeling of old styles Fl Keys.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Captain Pip's is professional and a great option for those looking to rent a boat while in Marathon. They offer a wide range of boat options and are professional, efficient, and knowledgeable about the process.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beachnutlbk
CaptainPips, Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for writing a nice review. We do want to enhance our clients day on the water while here in Marathon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great, cute little hotel. Check in was easy, fast and efficient. I room was very nice, clean and the AC worked well. Greasy shower pressure, but my wife had issues with the hair dryer. The place could use some small touches...our fridge was rusty, the door the attached to the next room over was covered with foam blocks and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richie K
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I had a few days in the Keys, and were flying out of Miami, so we stayed for a few days in Key West and then stayed in Marathon on the way back to Miami. What we learned was that we did this vacation totally wrong! If we had to do it over again we would have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristen G
CaptainPips, Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review

Kristin, Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you made some great memories at Captain Pips. Next time stay in Marathon and take those day trips north and south.

586 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (255)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (149)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (289)
Viewed
Amenities (51)
Viewed
Jellyfish (57)
Viewed
Merlin (84)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Sailfish (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.7 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.5 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
9.5 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
726 reviews
1.0 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
21.6 km away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy clean, comfortable fully renovated accommodations, with a brand new waterfront pool. Choose from motel-style guest rooms, efficiencies or one- & two-bedroom apartments with either open-water or tropical garden views. When you stay with us you can receive up to 30% off your boat rental. We also rent kayaks, paddle boards & zayaks.1/2 mile from the 7 mile bridge. World-class fishing & diving are only minutes from your door in the beautiful Florida Keys. We also now have daily snorkel trips to Sombrero Reef or Pirate's Cove onboard the Spirit Power Catamaran. It's like swimming in an aquarium! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway

Address: 1410 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range: $177 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Pip`s Marina & Hideaway Hotel Marathon
Captain Pip`s Marina And Hideaway
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway Marathon, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not stay at this hotel, but it is in a great location on Marathon!”
Deb03842, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in Looe Key Efficiency and it was great for the two of us!”
916kristeng, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Snapper is a great room with a great view”
JPolino, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all the room location seem good”
  • harbor and restaurant next door
  • Bar B Q area in back yard
  • big living room
  • full kitchen
  • little harbor
F6827OGdaveg, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some of the rooms have full kitchens and living rooms. You need to read the room descriptions to decide what is best for you.”
  • The entrance to our suite.
R3755UXrachela, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5