We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hammocks at Marathon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hammocks at Marathon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hammocks at Marathon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 302: English reviews
Sunfield, Michigan
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at The Hammocks at Marathon for 3 days end of January 2014. The grounds and property were amazing! View from our room of The Gulf was beautiful. Staff was very friendly and helped with things in the area. Food was awesome! We will definately stay here again if given the chance!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danielle W
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Danielle W, We are thrilled you had a great time at The Hammocks. We appreciate your compliments regarding the property and staff. We hope to welcome you back and share happiness on your next visit.

Lindenhurst, New York
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were a little worried because of some of the reviews, but although I really appreciate top-of-the line accommodations, it is not something I require to enjoy myself on vacation. That being said, the accommodations were more than adequate and the staff was friendly and helpful. The one thing that would make The Hammocks much better would have been a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank P K
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello P K, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Hammocks. We are delighted you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the location. Thank you for your comments regarding the staff as our goal is to share happiness with all of our guests. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the Keys.

Ellijay, Georgia
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We are Bluegreen timeshare owners, so I had to compare this resort to the other timeshares we've stayed at and this is the worst, by far. Considering the cost of the stay, what we got in return was unacceptable. Apparently, the management gives away the best rooms to the people coming from nearby (mostly Miami) for a weekend, while we,...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Ksenoid
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Ksenoid, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Hammocks. We regret to learn of your disappointment as a Bluegreen owner. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to discuss your experience further. Thank you again for your feedback.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were a little worried about going here as some of the reviews were awful. However, we wondered if we had come to a different place! It was clean. It smelt fresh. The staff were lovely. Kind and polite and helpful. The room was large, quiet, clean well equipped and very comfortable. Only small drawback was that the TV was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank saramck
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello saramck, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Hammocks. We are delighted you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed the accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back and sharing happiness on your next visit to Marathon.

Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on Christmas eve. The grounds are beautiful and well kept.We had an amazing view from our balcony and bedroom..There is a great pool, hot tub, Tiki bar, three grills.Customer service was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean, large and with a very nice kitchen. We woke to that gorgeous view...stay here if you enjoy making...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pcbeachgal
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello pcbeachgal, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Hammocks. We are thrilled that we were able to share happiness and make memories for you. We are happy you enjoyed the accommodations and amazing view. Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Marathon Key.

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a nice time. Our room was on the 3rd floor.. but comfortable. The room was clean and very comfortable. The only missing thing was the carpet. The Pool small but OK. Hot tub was fun. Best thing about this hotel is its Tiki bar and breathtaking view. Food was quiet good - best chicken quesadillas. Do not forget...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Abhi_sana
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Abhi_sana, We are happy you had a nice and relaxing time at The Hammocks. We are delighted that you enjoyed the room and the on-site amenities. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back on your next...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 9 November 2013

It appears that there are new and older parts of this property but I'm not sure even requesting helps get what you want. We booked significantly ahead and requested a water view. We even stopped in 3 days before our actual check in to make sure we were on the list....it didn't happen. We were quite disappointed as we had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mom98wmu
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello mom98wmu, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Hammocks. We regret to learn of any disappointment you experienced during your stay. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to provide additional details or discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.

Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I called the place to find out rates and more information about the resort and location since I've never been to the Keys. The lady who took my call was rude and had a patronizing attitude. She persisted to only tell me that it was a "luxury hotel". I ended up not booking.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sunset T
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello Sunset T, Bluegreen is committed to sharing happiness with all of our guests. Your comments regarding the service you received certainly concern us. We invite you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to provide addtional details or discuss further. Thank you.

Lewisburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stephanie, remembered our names for 3 days! We had a nice time. Our view was awful. The room was nicely appointed and the beds were comfortable. Clean and very comfortable. The Pool was great as was the hot tub. We ate at the Tiki bar and the food was quiet good and appropriate to waterfront dining. The staff at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BlueFalconRidge
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello BlueFalconRidge, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Hammocks. We are happy you found the accommodations clean and very comfortable and enjoyed the pool area. Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff. We hope to share happiness with you again on your next visit.

Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at this resort as part of a Bluegreen sampler. We are not timeshare owners and are accustomed to staying at brand-name hotels when we travel. Upon entering the parking lot, we were surprised to see how small this place really is. The staff told us it is a converted Hampton Inn. The lobby area had a strong odor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CharlieB8888
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Hammocks at Marathon, responded to this review

Hello CharlieB8888, Thank you for sharing your review of The Hammocks at Marathon. Your feedback as a Sampler member and a prospective owner is very important to us. We are happy you enjoyed the location and the view from your unit. We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff as we aim to share happiness with all of our owners and...

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (265)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
1:35
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (132)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.4 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
9.2 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
705 reviews
15.7 km away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
255 reviews
0.7 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Hammocks at Marathon

Address: 1688 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2121
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range: $280 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hammocks at Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Hammocks at Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hammocks At Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Hammocks Marathon
The Hammocks Hotel Marathon
Hammocks Marathon Florida
The Hammocks At Marathon Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hammocks at Marathon staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Hammocks at Marathon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unless you are a Blue/Green member - peak season may not be available”
 of 5 bubbles 940bethd, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for water view.”
 of 5 bubbles jhardy128, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for pool view if you can”
 of 5 bubbles trspook1, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for one facing bay upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles janac163, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms 113, 213, 313 all face bay. there are only a few rooms that the view is not good”
 of 5 bubbles aslinpopup, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5