Resort at Canopy Oaks

Resort at Canopy Oaks

16950 County Road 630, Lake Wales, FL 33898-9704
Traveller (79)
Pool & Beach (2)
Tiki Hut Island
Family and Play Areas (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#2 of 2 resorts in Lake Wales
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
The biggest BRAND NEW RV destination in Florida featuring a huge full-service tiki bar, convenience store, sandwich & pizza shop, 12,000 SF clubhouse, resort style pool with rock waterfall, coffee shop, ice cream parlor, spa, hair and nail salon and more! Enjoy over 200 acres of green space with fishing ponds, bicycle and walking trails, bridges, dock and a plethora of activities!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Business Centre with Internet Access
Spa
Convenience store
Outdoor fireplace
Self-serve laundry
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business

Location

16950 County Road 630, Lake Wales, FL 33898-9704
Getting there
Orlando Intl Airport
70.2 km
See all flights
Melbourne Intl Airport
1 Restaurant
within 10 kilometers
63Reviews0Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 10
  • 2
  • 7
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
David H wrote a review Feb 2021
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just a note regarding the newest RV Resort in Lake Wales Florida, Canopy Oaks. When we researched this property, we knew they did not offer cable but advertised fast internet. That is essential when working away from home. The first day I tried logging on with no luck. I contacted the office and was informed that some areas can be spotty. Our site is next to one of the internet booster poles located throughout the park and a few days we did connect but it did not last. So if internet is important to you this park does not deliver.

Also, the map is not accurate if you want a site that backs up to one of the lakes. Check with the staff to verify.

On a positive note, there is plenty of space between sites and the concrete pads are wide and deep. Certain sites are upgraded with block fire rings and patio pavers that are very nice. A metal fire ring is provided for the other sites. Firewood is available at the general store for $10 enough in one bundle to make one fire.

We were able to pick up some TV stations with the RV antenna.

Golf carts are available to rent. There is a tiki hut bar that opens at 5:00. Great laundry facility. Nice pool and hot tub with a rec room and some gym equipment. Pickle ball on site. Indian Lakes Golf is nearby and gives a discount to Canopy Oaks guests.

Canopy Oaks is located 16 miles east of Lake Wales. Walmart and Publix in Lake Wales for food and supplies.
Vero Beach is 60 miles East on route 60 if you want to visit the beach.

We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan C wrote a review Jun 2021
Clermont, Florida
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a week. We were on a perimeter site in the very back of the park. Since this was off-season and a non-holiday time there were only about 30 units on the over 400 available sites. It was very quiet. It is 20 miles from commercial activity, so stock your RV. The Camp Store was sparce and highly marked up. We did eat in the Pizza/Deli, it was good, but was $24 for a meatball sub, club sub, two bottled drinks and two chips. We tried to get ice cream one day but the clerk told us we'd have to wait a half-hour for the next clerk to come on duty. The pool area and hot tube were lovely. The Clubhouse was very nice. We did not go to the Tiki Bar.
A worker stopped by our site and asked if we had a pressure regulator for our water, which we did. He said pressure at the front of the park was high, but not so bad where we were. Boy was he right, we had a trickle unless we used our water pump
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring your own water pressure regulator, they sell them for $19 in the Campstore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris Miller, General Manager at Resort at Canopy Oaks
Responded Jun 19, 2021
Thank you for the review. I am not sure what happened with the ice cream shop, but I will follow up to find out. We strive to have great customer service with all of our activities! We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jfernandezjr wrote a review Feb 2021
Miami, Florida
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First I have to begin by saying that I am new to the whole RV life, so I don't have much to compare to as of yet. With that being said, we purchased our 37' Toyhauler and decided to break it in as soon as we picked it up. We came across this RV Resort and booked it for 2 nights.
I am not a fan of spots like KOA's or other RV Parking lots, to me, that's not really enjoying the outdoors with so many people around you. I have to confess, Resort at Canopy Oaks was not only extremely accommodating, clean and the ease to pull into your spot was unbelievable. All sites are huge concrete slabs with full hookups and you're not on top of your neighbors.
The only drawback (if there is one) is that there is no shade yet but there are trees that have been planted at all the sites wherein time will be great. They are just newly opened and I can see this park being a destination for those that just want to kick back and relax. They have a huge Tiki Bar, Pool, Pizza & Sub, General Store, Business Center, Arts & Crafts Store on-site as well.
I also took the time to drive over to Westgate River Ranch to check it out for future camping and to me, that wasn't as nice, too many people and it didn't have the personal feel Canopy Oaks provided.
I have already booked my next stay and cant wait to get back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom and Pat wrote a review Jun 2021
Lake Placid, New York
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful campground with amazing potential. We stayed in one of the premium sites with stone fireplace and gas grill! Such a beautiful location by one of the lakes! The sites are a nice distance from your neighbor! We brought our golf cart but there are rentals available. This place is huge. You can drive to everywhere but a cart is nice. The tiki bar is awesome. The clubhouse and pool are gorgeous! Every staff member that we came in contact was genuine, friendly, and helpful! Each site has water, electric, sewer, and WiFi throughout the part. I can’t say enough nice things about this place. Can’t wait to see the management team reach its full potential!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: They have a small store but for now, Load up on your groceries before arriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris Miller, General Manager at Resort at Canopy Oaks
Responded Jun 19, 2021
Thank you so much for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allison wrote a review Apr 2021
Lakeland, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Giving this resort 5 stars! We had a relaxing stay Easter weekend. Loved the extra large paved sites. The beautiful Tiki bar was so fun and enjoyed the entertainment. Many people brought golf carts, but you can rent them at a very reasonable rate, just reserve before you come. The Easter activities were well organized and the kids had a great time. Also loved the coffee and ice cream shop/pizza place and store. They have a beauty salon/spa as well. Can't wait to come back and enjoy the pool and jacuzzi. The sunsets here are so beautiful and enjoyed our many bike rides. So excited to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bevwolf1 wrote a review May 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Great potential but not worth the money now. Pool is way to small, closed part of the time, and pavers will take a layer of skin off in seconds. Tiki bar drinks are half water and the need to carry your own chairs to the pool or the tiki bar so you can sit is ridiculous for a “resort”. Great potential but definitely wouldn’t recommend it right now. We packed up early.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris Miller, General Manager at Resort at Canopy Oaks
Responded Jun 19, 2021
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. We are working on some new systems for the pool when we are sold out, we appreciate your patience. We hope you can give us another chance to impress in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mobile798770 wrote a review Jan 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Canopy Oaks motto should be: " Beware we don't care!' When we checked in at noon the resort was 10% full. I had emails in hand referencing what we were guaranteed when we booked and the guaranteed site number. The guarantee was not fulfilled, and the office girls didn't care. I asked to speak to the manager and was told they would send him by or call. Spoke to office 3 times before they closed. Again, promised he would come by or call. No contact by the time the office closed. Left a vm that because of lack of concern for the guest, amenities etc. we would be checking out the next day and I would be by for refund. Went by office at 10am the next day and office said they didn't know how to refund and at 10am on opening weekend Eric the manager was not on site. Money is more important than customer service and taking care of the guest and GUARENTEES are not met. It has potential but not with the current management. Went to River Ranch 15 min away and for the same price it is incredible!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ryan VanDenabeele, Marketing at Resort at Canopy Oaks
Responded Jan 27, 2021
Good day Mobile798770. Thank for your feedback and we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, we never guarantee a specific site, only a specific site type. While it might have looked like we had many sites open, we had a group arriving that took up most of our sites. We apologize for any confusion and we invite you to try us again when we can accommodate your site type request. Thank you for your visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SEB wrote a review Nov 2021
Treasure Island, Florida
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort is nice but the guests they have are awful! Very rude - constantly people walking through your campsite to get to the tiki bar where there’s live music and a ton drunk people with their animals and young children running everywhere. The language that comes out of the adults mouths and their kids mouths is unbelievable! The nights that live music was playing, we had to hear all kinds of music playing extremely loud from guests campers. It’s not like you can sit and listen to the live music because you have to try to tune your neighbors music out to try to hear it. I don’t think too many of these guests read the policy about staying out of others campsites. Common sense would tell you it’s rude! We probably will NOT be back.
People rode around in their golf carts till 4 am playing music like they were in a concert hall. I really wouldn’t recommend this campground if you have young children and you care about their well being. This is an out of control rude environment of drunken people and their out of control children.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet - go somewhere else.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Camper Support, Guest Services / Front Office at Resort at Canopy Oaks
Responded Nov 16, 2021
We're so sorry to hear about that frustrating experience. Our team at Resort at Canopy Oaks strives to provide a peaceful and safe environment for all our guests so to say that we're disappointed is an understatement. Rest assured, we will discuss this with our team so we can do better. We hope to get a chance to prove ourselves to you. Until then, safe travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter wrote a review May 2021
Sanford, Florida
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a weekend visit to this new resort.
The good the bad and the ugly

GOOD
Large sites
Concrete pads
Great WiFi
Nice pool
Everything is clean and new

BAD
Pool pavers are dark gray very hot in feet
No shade
Lack of landscaping
No golf cart rental info
Must have cart or bike as this place is huge

UGLY
The location of the property is in the middle of no where. Closest store (besides a small gas station store is at least 20 miles away
Lack of visible staff, unsupervised kids at pool

This resort has a lot of growing up to do!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
amaresca wrote a review Sep 2021
Parkland, Florida
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sites are huge with level concrete pads. We had friends stay in the cabin/trailer and they are AWESOME. This is a great place for a large group to gather together. Most campground cabins are old and nasty, these are gorgeous! Tiki bar is very popular at night and everyone was very friendly and out to have a good time. Pool area is huge and great indoor rec space with ping pong and pool to escape the heat. My only complaint is the group who came to the pool with a HUGE speaker and blasted their music over the pool's music, like they were in their personal home. Who does that? So rude! Didn't want to make a scene but I would've loved an employee to have been monitoring the area, or at least put a sign up letting people know this isn't allowed. Bring bikes or rent a golf cart, the place is huge and it's fun to drive or bike around. This isn't a campground full of nature but great activities like the pool, volleyball court and shuffle board make this a great place to have some fun for the weekend . Will definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Camper Support, Guest Services / Front Office at Resort at Canopy Oaks
Responded Nov 2, 2021
Thank you so much for the kind words! One of our goals here at Resort at Canopy Oaks is to provide an excellent place for our guests and their loved ones to get together so we're happy to hear that you and your friends had an amazing stay despite a few issues with the noise level. Please come and visit us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
James W wrote a tip Jan 2024
7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"WiFi is horrible "
Read full review
Culture57915478643 wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away "
Read full review
SEB wrote a tip Nov 2021
Treasure Island, Florida12 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want peace and quiet - go somewhere else."
Read full review
rosemarie1100 wrote a tip Oct 2021
Rockledge, Florida11 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lakeside is awesome"
Read full review
Susan C wrote a tip Jun 2021
Clermont, Florida351 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own water pressure regulator, they sell them for $19 in the Campstore"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lake Wales area.
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaCentral FloridaLake Wales
NUMBER OF ROOMS
413
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Resort at Canopy Oaks - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Resort at Canopy Oaks
What are some of the property amenities at Resort at Canopy Oaks?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Resort at Canopy Oaks?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Resort at Canopy Oaks?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Resort at Canopy Oaks?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Resort at Canopy Oaks?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Resort at Canopy Oaks accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Lake Wales HotelsLake Wales Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Lake WalesHotels near Resort at Canopy Oaks
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars