We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Lakeland

Booking.comUS$50*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Lakeland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 488: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Lakeland
 Click to rate
Lakeland, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I hurt my leg on the bed the rails was sticking out and cut my leg and the toilet didn't work and I had no phone I called and complained on my cellphone and still haven't got a call back

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dalyshiad
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

dalyshiad; Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about your stay. I will reach out the manager and have him reach out to you immediately. Thanks

HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 November 2016

I travel a lot for work and stay in many different types of hotels. I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times because it is perfectly located for where I need to travel. Each time I come here it gets little better. This most recent visit, they asked if I wanted to spend a couple extra bucks to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HotelGeorgeM
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

HotelGeorgeM; Thank you so much for the great review. I am glad that you got a chance to stay in one of the newly renovated REFRESH rooms. We have been working hard to complete before the end of the year. I hope you will continue to visit us when in the area. Thanks

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Checked in, I was told my non smoking room was ready. Well let me tell you. After getting to my room, not only was it a smoking room, but smelled awful. Went to front desk, I expressed my discomfort of room and the young African American lady was helpful when I asked for air freshener. But the other older woman...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jarvis D
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Jarvis D; Thank you for your review. I am glad that the desk was able to assist you. We are updating rooms now so I do hope you will return soon.

LC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this because was available when we went to the Sun n Fun air show. Had stayed at another Florida Howard Johnson which was better. Was just ok. Carpet was clean but a little turned off with the pile of hair in the corners in the bathroom. Air was cold. Refrigerator freezer re froze our water bottles. Some do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank retired27
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

retired27; Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you will return next year for Sun n Fun.

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Howard Johnson's hotel has seen better days. Stains on the bedspread. Alarm clock doesn't work. Inoperative electrical outlets. Missing light bulbs. Ineffective air conditioning because of the air leaks in the windows & door. You can't walk across the carpet in your white socks as they'll turn black immediately. Staff was nice, but that doesn’t make up for the...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U9237SYjeffs
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

U9237SYjeffs; Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about your stay with us. We are renovating this location now so please check back with us to see all the changes.

Hurtsboro, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an older facility.. Rooms were large and beds are comfortable.. They were very busy due to an event in town the young lady at the counter was a bit overwhelmed.. We stayed for 3 day and never had our room cleaned.. One day was due to our choice, but the other days were an oversight.. They had our...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Larry S; Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the housekeeping, but I hope you will visit us again soon.

Pt St Lucie, Florida, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T Michael G
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Charlotte
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owen O
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So I booked a room through Travelocity but when I arrived at the Howard Johnson my reservation was no where to be found. The Front Desk Manager and associate immediately began trying to help me including speaking with the Travelocity Rep. Travelocity made it right in the end but the associates at Howard Johnson went above and beyond to ensure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaAragunde
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the front desk staff were able to handle the situation. I hope you will visit us again real soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Horrible sums it up. Bitten by bugs in room, door keys didn't work, rude staff banging on door after 11 PM for dumb reasons, free wifi doesn't work, dirty room, cheap linens, half of the room outlets didn't work. Nothing good to say. Don't go here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brad D
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Lakeland, responded to this review

Brad D; Thank you for your review. We are updating this property now so I hope you will visit us again soon.

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lakeland hotels
0.2 km away
Ramada Lakeland
Ramada Lakeland
#21 of 33 in Lakeland
544 reviews
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 33 in Lakeland
111 reviews
2.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Lakeland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland West
0.1 km away
TownePlace Suites
TownePlace Suites
#18 of 33 in Lakeland
9 reviews
2.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lakeland East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Howard Johnson of Lakeland is under NEW OWNERSHIP as of June 2011. Our main lobby and rooms have been completely remodeled as well as our pool area and our brand new breakfast area. We offer a complimentary breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi threw out the entire property. Have a business meeting? Not only do we have the meeting space to accommodate you we also have a business center equipped with a printer for all your important paperwork. We are in walking distance to the Lakeland Square Mall and a dozen major restaurants. We are also located 30 minutes from all theme parks and special events locations here in Central Florida. The Staff of Howard Johnson of Lakeland are here to help you. So call today and reserve your room! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lakeland

Address: 939 W Robson St, I-4 Exit 32, Lakeland, FL 33805-2143
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Price Range: $64 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Lakeland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Executive Hotel Lakeland
Howard Johnson Hotel Lakeland
Lakeland Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Lakeland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fewer bugs in the upstairs rooms.”
bradd286, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“tip?? forget it never again to that awful place”
patriciacQ7677RB, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Find a different hotel.”
, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the main road to reduce the noise.”
michellecY8159SE, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a recent remodeled room”
BobbiB675, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$50* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$50
Expedia.comUS$50
PricelineUS$50
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates