We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

425 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 424: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Eden Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEW

We went for a weekend on the special Party package which includes 3 nights dinner B&B plus 4 free drinks each on the Saturday night and it was unbeatable value. The room was large and had been newly upholstered, and you were provided with a kettle, tea and coffee The staff were very friendly. Breakfasts were excellent and the dinners,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MillsWalbyoff
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stopped here on the way to Glasgow very warm welcome small room and bed but very clean ,adjoining room you could hear people talking Internet did not work for us might work else where in the hotel Ordered a bar meal I would just say wouldn't do it again Hotel has a pool and spa which was available at no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah g
Paisley
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Annual weekend away with sisters in law and one of the best in 15 years! The hotel is old and some parts need redecoration but we had a large twin room, clean, freshly painted with a modern en suite. Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Food was served in plentiful portions and chef was great fun. Emily...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HaggisPaisley
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went with a party of 8 ladies with very different requirements but found the staff very patient, friendly and hard working. The food was good and plentiful considering the price we had paid for the holiday. Entertainment was varied and as not many people went into the entertainment lounge the artist did a very good job of keeping us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joant186399
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

another lovely few days spent at the Eden arms Good Food Lovely Staff Special thanks go to Julia,Daniel ,Jane & Keith Aka Mr Ben sadly no Brett , Lovely clean warm comfortable room and spent Sunday afternoon in the spa A Lovely Chilled Out Weekend Thank You All We Will Be Back

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey O
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for such a lovely review, your special thanks has been warmly recieved by those mentioned and indeed the entire team. We all look forward to welcoming you back with a smile should you chose to stay with us again. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General Manager.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Has free pass to trial gym, pool etc. To see if l wished to join. Gym humid, only one treadmill, weights so old in pounds. Gym area dirty, walls marked,. Pool warm but sand in pool and ripples in flooring. How did sand get in pool? Changing rooms dirty...decided not to use shower. Doors on lockers falling off. Overall all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debbie k
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you havn't enjoyed our leisure facility as much as our 300 members and 22,000 guests last year. You'll be pleased to know that we have just aquired another treadmill. We have put this in the conservatory gym. This gym is through the double doors poolside, we offer this extended facility as it is alot less...

Sleaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. We had arrived a little early in order to avoid to much traffic from Lincolnshire and we were able to sit in the comfortable and warm lounge having a drink and a snack before we were then invited to have a free drink and collect our room key....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David A
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for a splendid review, We're so glad that you enjoyed our warm welcome and hospitality over the New year break. I am rightly proud of all the team here at the Eden arms and we all look forward to offering you the same standard of service should you chose to stay with us again. kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

On arrival the staff were lovely the decoration of the whole of hotel needs redoing is very flaky. Beds were very uncomfortable but on a positive note their was no noise during the night. Next the food needs great attention as on a whole it was dreadful, the soup I ordered was cold and the bread role could of smashed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for the positives and more importantly the negatives. Raising these valuable points ensures that we can be proactive in our approach to solving any issues you may have experienced. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General Manager

Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Whilst trying to find alternative restaurant to Hardwick Hall came across this hotel that my wife had visited a long time ago. Bar menu seemed reasonable as we did not wish a three course meal in the restaurant that was quite full. Waitress at the bar seemed new as she did not know some of the items on the menu....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to post your review which I read with some concern. We would have happily provided an alternative to our scotch pie had your complaint not been registered on the way out. I must apologise again though as no food leaves our kitchen unless absolutely perfect, this appears to have been a rare oversight on our...

Darwen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

The Bay Eden Arms was our base for a visit to the North East last week. The Hotel is a former Coaching House once in the possession of the Eden family. We were on a half board basis and found the Hotel to be very welcoming by all the staff. The breakfast was buffet style with ample food for all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Venture65
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your wonderful review, its always a pleasure and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Laurie simpson General Manager

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rushyford
7.1 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
2,961 reviews
8.6 km away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
740 reviews
14.5 km away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
6.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel
5.6 km away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Eden Arms Hotel is another one of our great character hotels. The building dates back to the 17th-century when it was a coaching inn. Many of our guests use the hotel as a base to explore the city of Durham and the picturesque countryside around. The location, just eight miles from the historic city centre, is the ideal place to relax and unwind for both leisure and business travellers alike. For those who are keen to explore further afield, the city of Newcastle with its regenerated riverfront and great shopping and hospitality is within easy driving distance. The Eden Arms offers comfortable accommodation and also boasts a leisure club featuring a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa. It is also a popular venue for conferences and weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Address: Middridge Road, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Rushyford
Price Range: $77 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Eden Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Eden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Arms Durham
Eden Arms Hotel
Hotel Eden Arms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Eden Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
merseyside
6 months ago
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Arnside

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Eden Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It certainly pays to spend a little extra and have a Superior Room”
 of 5 bubbles davidaB1310SW, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lower numbered rooms are further from the entertainment below.”
 of 5 bubbles Venture65, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pay £5 per night for Superior Room. We have a quiet room, although the decoration could be described as Naval Grey”
 of 5 bubbles BrianB321, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room(8) was over the dining room.”
 of 5 bubbles biggles26, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not for people with limited mobility. No Lift”
 of 5 bubbles Elizabeth251, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5