Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Balcony on the 29th floor
Traveller (3036)
Panorama of the City View Double Room at the Kimpton EPIC Hotel
360
Panoramas (2)
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

C$279
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#16 of 140 hotels in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
A 4-star luxury waterfront hotel set in downtown Miami featuring a 16th floor pool deck, 15,000 square foot Exhale spa, and panoramic views of Biscayne Bay and Brickell Key.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children's television networks
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Boating
Aerobics
Patio
Nightclub / DJ
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Adventure in Miami

Location

270 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Miami Intl Airport
10.1 km
See all flights
Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport
33.9 km
See all flights
Knight Center
4 minMiami Metromover
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles4,500 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in the heart of Brickell, the Kimpton EPIC Hotel garners accolades for its luxurious pools and well-equipped gym, with many guests extolling the family-friendly vibe and the staff's exceptional service. While the rooms are generally celebrated for their spotless condition and stunning views, some guests have pointed out noise disturbances and the occasional maintenance issue. Despite the praise for its prime location and aesthetic appeal, the hotel's value is a topic of debate among visitors, with several remarks about the steep prices for dining and additional services.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Unkempt
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Top-notch

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
4,500Reviews90Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,974
  • 877
  • 305
  • 169
  • 175
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Matthew G wrote a review Feb 2024
New Jersey3,791 contributions1,184 helpful vote
+1
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently spent one night at the Kimpton EPIC on a quick trip for work, and I had a good stay. Despite a somewhat tacky name (calling a hotel the “EPIC” in all caps feels a bit immature), the hotel is well-located, and my room was large and well-maintained with a great water view. That’s really all I needed for a quick one-night stay, and I would certainly consider it again in the future.

Arrival Experience:

I had an early flight into Miami, and arrived before 9:00 am to check-in. I appreciated the warm welcome I received from the doormen, who came out to assist with my luggage as soon as I pulled up. Check-in itself was pretty standard, and the clerk was very pleasant. She welcomed me to the hotel, gave me a good overview of its amenities and their locations, and offered to text me as soon as my room was ready later in the day. She was very apologetic about the room not being ready, which was nice, but really unnecessary when I had arrived so early. I ultimately got both a text and a call from the hotel around 10:30 am to let me know the room was ready, which was great.

She also encouraged me to relax in the lobby and have some of the complimentary coffee, tea, and hot chocolate that are set out each morning in the lobby for guests. There was also fruit-infused water out for guests at all times in a spot near the guest room elevators.

When I came back later in the day to get my room key, the staff member I spoke to that time was nice as well, but one thing he did bothered me. As I was checking in, he apologized for the fact that the room hadn’t been ready when I arrived that morning. He then said that he was giving me a 20% coupon for food at the Area 31 restaurant in the hotel to make up for it, when I know that this is simply included in all room rates as part of the $35 per night “guest amenity fee”. The attempt to be deceptive and attempt to make me think I was getting something special when it was already included bothered me.

Hotel Room:

I was generally very happy with my room at this hotel. I had booked a high floor water view king, and my room fit the description perfectly. I was on the very top floor of the hotel (the 30th floor), with a large balcony with two chairs and a perfect view of the Miami River and bay beyond. The water view is also a bit of a city view, since you’re looking at lots of nearby high rises in Brickell and on Brickell Key. I would say the view is very “Miami” in the sense that you’re seeing the best of both worlds – a vibrant city along with the aquatic landscape that is a major part of its identity. Looking directly down from the balcony, I could see the hotel pool deck, which itself looked large and very nice, but I didn’t have a chance to visit. I would definitely recommend going for a water view, preferably on a higher floor.

Beyond the view, the room was very solid. I was impressed with how large, light, and bright it was, with high ceilings and a calm and simple, but slightly upscale feel. The décor was neutral and felt fresh and restful, with nice accessories and art that were a step above the usual hotel offerings. The tile floors that had a faux woodgrain look were nice and made things feel clean and streamlined.

The bathroom was nice as well, with a double vanity with vessel sinks, and then a separate tub and walk-in shower that had great water pressure. The toilet was in a separate water closet. The bathroom was large and well-designed, with the exception of the large cutout in the wall between the tub and the bed. There were rolling blinds that could be put down to cover the hole in the wall, but it’s still there. Too many hotels have something like this, and I just don’t see the appeal at all. It was no big deal since I was traveling alone on this trip, but it’s totally annoying to me on trips with others when the bathroom is essentially right in the room for light and sound purposes.

While I did appreciate that the bathroom came with thick bathrobes, one negative was that most other linens in the room were weak, and did not meet expectations for the price point. The towels were rather thin and small, and the sheets also felt sort of basic, along with the pillows. The mattress had also seen better days, and wasn’t plush at all. I know this hotel doesn’t claim to be a true luxury five-star property like others nearby, such as the Four Seasons or Mandarin Oriental, but with rates over $500 per night when I was staying, I still expected these items to be a bit better.

The room was clean overall, but I did find a long black hair right on the floor of the shower. Housekeeping also didn’t seem to have left all of the toiletries, as there wasn’t any bodywash or soap for the shower.

The only other room issue was elevator noise. I really hate external noise in a hotel room, so I always request a room away from elevators and with no connecting door to another room. I made these requests here, and the no connecting door request was honored, but the elevator request was not. I luckily wasn’t in one of the rooms directly adjacent to the elevators, but I was the very next room past those, still quite close to the elevators. As I was trying to fall asleep, I heard frequent loud dings whenever the elevator would come to my floor. It didn’t keep me awake for too long, but both the noise itself and the fact that my room request hadn’t really been met were slightly annoying.

As in any hotel, I also didn’t like that there is a $35 per night mandatory resort fee, which felt particularly useless here. The fee basically doesn’t include anything that you wouldn’t already expect to have included with a hotel stay from the start. In addition to a 20% coupon for Area 31, it basically just includes gym access, wifi, and service by the pool. For what is essentially just a city hotel with a pool, having a resort fee feels like an unnecessary reach here.

Dining & Amenities:

I was at the hotel for only a very short time, so I didn’t get to try any of its restaurants or amenities. However, I was told by co-workers who live in Miami that the hotel restaurants are very good. I was told that Zuma, the Asian restaurant on the lobby level, is a pretty popular spot in Downtown Miami with very solid food. The second restaurant, Area 31, is on the same level as the pool (the 16th floor), and features outdoor dining with city and water views. I was told that the views there are great, and that the drinks are good too.

Otherwise, I did appreciate that the hotel offers a complimentary wine hour in the lobby each evening. I believe this is a common feature at all Kimpton hotels. While I didn’t have a chance to participate, I like the concept and appreciate the included amenity.

Location:

The hotel is poised in a great location, right on the edge of Downtown Miami along the Miami River, directly next to the bridge into Brickell. I needed to be in Brickell for work, and it was a really easy walk from this hotel to my office. You do have to cross the Brickell Avenue Drawbridge when walking to Brickell, which seems to be raised once or twice an hour throughout the day as needed to let boats pass by. I’m not sure if it has a set schedule, but I couldn’t quite figure out what it was. I crossed the bridge three times during my stay, and managed to get stuck waiting for the drawbridge two of the three times. However, I never waited more than five minutes, so it wasn’t too inconvenient either.

I also found it convenient that the hotel is about a block away from a Whole Foods. In the morning, I stopped over there to grab some light items for breakfast, and enjoyed bringing them back to my room to eat on the balcony. I saw several other guests doing the same thing.

Staff Service:

Having only a short stay at the Kimpton EPIC Hotel, I didn’t have a lot of time to interact with staff members, but they were generally all very nice and helpful. The doormen were particularly warm and welcoming, and the front desk staff also made a generally good impression.

The only slightly negative experience I had was with the valet staff. The hotel is designed a bit oddly in that there is no good way to walk from the lobby to the street without walking directly down the hotel driveway (i.e., there’s no separate sidewalk). It’s not a big deal, and the driveway is wide enough to accommodate both cars and pedestrians, but the valet staff should be aware of this and extra careful when driving, since guests are walking in the same space. However, on multiple occasions, when walking down the driveway or even just when waiting for an Uber at the hotel entrance, I felt like the valets were practically ready to mow guests over when moving cars. It was never particularly busy either, so there didn’t seem to be any real excuse for it. The valet staff mostly looked like very young guys who are probably a bit immature and need more training.

Overall:

My quick one-night stay at the Kimpton EPIC was pleasant, and I would recommend this hotel. If you need to be in Downtown Miami, this is a solid hotel that is centrally located and simply nice overall. I also believe it would be a good pre-cruise hotel for those who are in Miami for cruises, since the cruise terminal on Dodge Island is only a few minutes away by car. I was surprised at how expensive hotels in Downtown Miami were when I visited midweek in the winter, and I thought this hotel (while still pricey) hit a good middle of ground of being nice enough, but not too overpriced for a stay with minimal time spent at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Spring for the water view on a high floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AtlKev wrote a review Jan 2020
Charlotte, North Carolina148 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay at the Kimpton EPIC exceeded my expectations after other Kimptons have recently disappointed. The room was newly renovated and nicely done. The windows are soundproof and the room doors close firmly but do not slam, which was greatly appreciated. At check-in, Donovan was great! The view from the room was awesome, and I enjoyed having access to the balcony. A few things to note: traffic around this hotel is horrible. Entering and exiting the hotel by car is also a challenge. The room was quite expensive at around $500/night. I’m not sure why it was so high. I was only there for a few nights before leaving for a cruise. Finally, after checkout, I’ve received several small charges from the hotel to my credit card, but I have no idea what these charges are for.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ericka N, General Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Responded Jan 28, 2020
AtlKev: Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay with us. I'm so very happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations, here in downtown Miami! Donovan is one of my rock stars at the front desk, and it's great to hear that he was able to make your stay a memorable one. We have just recently finished our brand new renovation of all of our hotel rooms, and it's wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy your time in the room, alongside the spectacular view overlooking the Brickell City and the Biscayne Bay. I do apologize about the frustrating billing process that seems to have taken place on your card, but if you give us a call, we would be more than happy to review and email a copy of the final folio to you! I hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again for another EPIC stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Amazing69 wrote a review Nov 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family took a five day trip to Miami and initially booked at another hotel and due to covid all amenities were not available so we left that hotel the following morning and booked with Kimpton Epic Hotel for literally a couple dollars difference and all amenities available including two restaurants, bars and pools were open. All rooms have balconies with great views. The hotel was beyond more than we can imagine, extremely clean in every area we encountered. Every Staff member was courteous and pleasant and made sure our needs were met. They did not do daily cleaning services due to covid but when we asked for extra towels and linen they were brought to us promptly. When we thought we had an air conditioning issue they were at our door within minutes to assure us it was in working condition. The hotel was in walking distance to convenient stores and restaurants as well as the Bayside area. We walked mostly every where we went. Took a Lyft only to go to South Beach. We ate a several restaurants but my son and I thought the best meal we had out of all was the breakfast at Area 31 restaurant in the hotel. Monica at the front desk as well as other staff we encountered were superb and I look forward to staying the next time we travel to Miami.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ericka Nelson, Owner at Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Responded Nov 9, 2020
LightPacker522991: Wow, wow, wow, thank you so much for this glowing review following your stay with us, I truly appreciate it. I know how weird this time is for everyone but we are trying our best by opening up our amenities to make it feel as normal as we can. I am so happy you had the chance to interact with our staff, they make this hotel have a personality by bringing their very own smiles and energy everyday, here at EPIC we know our staff help contribute to the wonderful experience you get from us. I see you took advantage of our wonderful location, we truly are spoiled with the quick distance to such fine dinning and shopping, it makes for an easy guest experience here with us knowing anything you want is at your fingertips. I do hope to see you again soon for another EPIC stay and more Kimpton moments!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suzanne L wrote a review Jan 2020
Westerville, Ohio19 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this hotel for one night since we would be leaving on a cruise the next day. We arrived at 4 pm after a long day of travel. Line for the front desk was 10 people deep. After almost 20 minutes of waiting we were told sorry room not ready. Lots of excuses of how they were full the prior night, managers cleaning rooms, etc. here are two free drinks we will text you. After an hour we went to the front desk and I asked how much longer. I expressed my disappointment and how we wanted to go to dinner change our clothes but impossible since our room wasn’t ready. We were given a choice of free breakfast or a credit for our increased wait.

The two gentleman that were checking guests in were between a rock and hard place. Management should have been out in the lobby handling all of the complaints. There were lots of upset people. Management was no were to be found, but two employees trying handle all of the guests.

I did get a text saying my room was finally ready and surprise you have stand in the long line again just to get room keys.

Room is ok for the price, the other reviews that mention the music from the pool is true, just beware if this is something that bothers you.

Overall the location doesn’t out weight the management not doing there job and handling the problem with check in. Too much money for bad customer service and loud music until 11pm.

First and last time at a Kimpton for us.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ericka N, General Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Responded Jan 9, 2020
31suzannel: Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback from your stay with us and I do apologize for the frustrating experience you had with us during your first visit to the EPIC Hotel. I sincerely apologize about the situation at the time of check-in in which we did not have your room ready by the guaranteed 4pm check-in time, and that is entirely on us. This situation during your time of arrival is not the standard that we hold ourselves to as a team, and internally we are using feedback such as yours to ensure that this is never a repeat matter.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SPfromNYC wrote a review Feb 2021
New York City, New York14 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Kimpton Epic is one of my new favorite finds, as they are the complete package. During Covid, there are limited services in most hotels, and this hotel finds a way to make it all work. If you need an additional refrigerator, they bring it. Hot water heater for tea, they bring it. Extra towels, shampoo, or any other amenity, and its there in your room quickly. The rooms are fantastic and stylish with tons of charging outlets, and with spacious balconies that allow you to soak in the great location downtown. (And to allow fresh air into your room, which is a great thing during a pandemic.) The pool area is great, and the spacious layout of the entire hotel makes you feel secure during times when space is a necessity to staying safe. The quality that puts the hotel over the top for me though is the absolutely superlative staff. I need to name them because over the course of multiple stays over the past months, they were the difference of me staying safe and comfortable and I'm certain many guests feel the same. Gabriel, Robert, Melissa, Donovan, Monica and the rest of the staff, thank you for how patient, understanding, helpful and caring you are to all of your hotel guests.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Anything on the water view side is fantastic. Junior suites have the best layout but a more...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ericka Nelson, General Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Responded Feb 21, 2021
SPfromNYC: Wow! wow! wow! Now this is what I call a Five star review! I want to print this review out and hang it in my office! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review following your stay, I really do appreciate it. We have worked tirelessly to try and make our guest feel as safe as possible while still providing the EPIC experience. I thank you for taking that into consideration and being patient and appreciative as we all work thru the new normal with some of the limitations we have in place. I do hope we can continue to welcome you back for more safe fun and Kimpton moments!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
533eri wrote a review Nov 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia19 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
So we stayed in November, the location is unbeatable, your by whole foods, tons of restaurants, very walkable location. So I get it in the time of COVID-19 no one is coming into clean the room, but I thought they could have left clorox wipes, extra soaps and towels so everyday we didn't have to constantly request them. The exit door you had to open yourself, no door man was there constantly. YUCK! Our TV did not work till the last day. We had people in to repair our TV everyday. so annoying in a hotel of this level. And the noise construction was terribly loud next door and to make it worse drunk people fighting in the hallway. I felt I was in a Motel 6!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view, but our TV did not work and people were fighting in the hallway...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ericka Nelson, General Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Responded Dec 3, 2020
533erI: Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review following your stay with us, I truly appreciate it. I wanted to apologize for some of the issue you faced during your stay, such as the TV issue and the Noise from construction. The TV I hope you reported to the desk so engineering could fix the issue, typically that is a quick fix and just a matter of resetting the box for you. While I know the noise from construction is not pleasant, please keep in mind we are in the heart of downtown Miami and naturally that will bring in city noise such as sirens, car traffic and construction from neighboring buildings. Additionally, as a green friendly hotel we replenish the towels and linens by request to try and limit the environmental impact they create. I do hope when we are finally out of this Covid phase and back to some normalcy that we have a chance to welcome you back and show you the full EPIC experience!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert P wrote a review May 2021
Rochester, New York40 contributions41 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Should not have to ask for toilet paper, soap (you’ll get one small bar to carry from sink to shower), towels and other necessities at a place at this price range. This isn’t a gd HI Express. Requested room to be made up...never happened. Asked again, didn’t happen. AC doesn’t work properly and makes an obnoxious sound when fan is high. Don’t let the fancy cars out front fool you, you can do better than this place. Overall this was a disappointing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ericka Nelson, General Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Responded Jun 5, 2021
RobertP942: Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay here at the EPIC hotel, I really appreciate the feedback. I wanted to apologize for the disappointing stay, we never want this for any guest. I know how frustrating and unusual some services are right now with Covid protocol still currently in place. We are aiming to be done with the safety measures soon so we can return to normal operation and service that our guest expect. I do hope in the future you can give us a chance again to show you the stay was an exception and limited due to Covid protocols.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
katjafirehill wrote a review Jan 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands40 contributions68 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Me, family and relatives visited Epic Hotel a few days before leaving for cruise. The hotel is stylish, clean and rooms are big enough for 4 if travelling with kids.

No balcony in the rooms. Big bathroom but only a curtain between the beds and the tub. A strange to hear every sound from the bathroom when you lay on the bed.

The location is poor. There is no garden or shops near by. You can only find sky highs and offices here. South beach is a long way away. Epic is good only if you just stay for overnight before a cruise (conveniently located near cruise harbour) but otherwise I would not want to stay here during my holiday.
Also one thing, we paid our visit in advance and they came up with the "resort fee" when we chequed out. It was $60. They explained it was bevause of the pilates etc classes in the premises. But this they conveniently forgot to tell us when arriving (and there was NO info in the hotel book or elsewhere) that there could be group excercise classes that we could attent to. So, to us it seemed like this $60 was just an extra cost they wanted to yank from tourists. Because of this small thing it left me and my family a bad taste in the mouth and I would not recommend EPIC to other traveller. There are several hotel to go to that are honest in their priceing and not come up with any extra additional costs. Pity.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ericka N, General Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Responded Jan 9, 2020
katjafirehill: Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback from your stay with us. I do apologize that we were unable to exceed expectations before heading to the cruise port, however I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our newly renovated hotel rooms throughout the evening with us! Although downtown Miami has many high rise buildings and offices, we are still located in a great location with the Bayside Marketplace, Brickell City Center, and many other restaurants and bars in walking distance. Additionally, I do apologize about the confusion in regard to our Guest Amenity Fee. The $32.77 fee is disclosed on all third party websites, as well as our Hotel Website, and includes access to the coffee & tea in the morning, wine hour in the evening, WiFi, a class at the Exhale Spa, and much more! I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with us in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flor C wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all, I have to say that this is the place to stay if you want excellent service, great amenities and you want to be close to South Beach but far enough from the craziness of it. I came here with my husband to celebrate his 51th Bday. We also stayed here because it is relatively close to Loan Depot Park and we attended a World Baseball Classic game.

When i made the reservation, I stated that i was going to be celebrating my husband's birthday and I would love if they could help me make it special. THEY DID NOT DISAPPOINT Samanta greeted us and congratulated my husband on his bday. She upgraded to this amazing corner suite on the 28th floor and explain to us all the benefits we had as I was taking advantage of the Amex Fine Hotels perks. I attached some pictures of our room and views from the suite so you can judge for yourself. They gave us a 25% discount to dine at Area 31, the hotel restaurant and a 50$ discount towards a Spa service
Pool is really nice and located at the 16th floor. They have plenty of chairs. Also on this floor you can find the Spa and Area 31, where we got breakfast almost everyday as we had 60$ towards daily breakfast. Breakfast was great!!! If you like strong good coffee get the double espresso. Juan and Pedro were our waiters and they were amazing!! They treated us like family.

Every afternoon someone will come to our room bring us free bottled waters and some ice. I really appreciated that since the bottled water in the room costs 10$. At the lobby in the mornings they have american coffee to grab and go. They also have wine happy hour at the lobby Mon through Friday! To top it off... they left a bottle of Pinot Noir and some delicious chocolate truffles in our room for us to celebrate my husband's birthday! My husband was so happy and surprised with the gesture. It meant a lot. I want to thank everyone for making this weekend extra special for me and my husband. Very thoughtful things like that make a difference and we would definitely come back and stay here again. Thank you Samantha from Front Desk and Juan and Pedro at Area 31! You guys are rockstars!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ericka Nelson, General Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Responded Mar 20, 2023
Thank you for such an amazing review! Let me start off by wishing your husband a very happy birthday! I am pleased to see that our staff helped make your stay special. We hope to see you again soon! Please reach out when you are looking to make your next reservation so we could assist you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin Z wrote a review Jul 2021
Charlotte, North Carolina5 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is beautiful and the bed is the most comfortable I have ever slept in but the good things about this hotel stop there for a business traveler. There is no desk in the room, just a round table with kitchen type chairs. There is not a lot of work space and it is not comfortable to sit at with a laptop for any length of time. When you call for room service or the front desk the calls go unanswered and you have to call back sometimes 5 or 6 times to get an answer. The hotel restaurants are overpriced for the food they serve and they don’t do separate checks for guests on expense accounts who need that. I ordered room service and my Wagyu burger ordered medium took almost 2 hours to get as they sent the wrong sandwich first and when I finally got it, the burger was burned and so dry I couldn’t eat it. The elevator requires a room key to go up and every guest I was in there with had to try multiple times to get the elevator to recognize the card. With so many hotel choices in the area I would not stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ericka Nelson, General Manager at Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Responded Aug 10, 2021
robincB4111BM: Thank you for the honest feedback following your stay, I really appreciate it. I apologize for the issues you faced while with us as we never want this for any guest. You did bring to attention some points we will address amongst my team. I do know the key issue is about to be resolved, it was the last stage of our remodel process that is nearly complete and we expect the new system in place before the holidays. I do hope in the future after we address the key issue and get our full staff back following the Pandemic, that we can welcome you back for a true EPIC experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Teacher91 ❤ asked a question May 2023
Temple, Texas46,261 contributions359 helpful votes
How close is the hotel to the Carnival Cruise Port?
10 contributions5 helpful votes
10 mins to the cruise Quay in miami or 30 to Fort laur
dvb1909 asked a question Nov 2022
Doncaster, United Kingdom27 contributions22 helpful votes
Good eveving, Is this hotel family friendly we are travelling from the uk on the 26rh december?
Answer from Thomas K
Columbus, Georgia81 contributions60 helpful votes
The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating and I am sure they would extend this to young kids as well. Keep in mind though that this is a rather upscale hotel so to my knowledge there is no dedicated kids pool and the restaurants/recreation infrastructure is clearly oriented towards adult needs.
K D asked a question Sep 2021
Ohio99 contributions33 helpful votes
Anyone have info on how the beach is, how far of a walk, and conditions, etc?
Answer from K D
Ohio99 contributions33 helpful votes
Thank you. Sorry I hit the wrong vote button!
Answer from D W
McKinney, Texas65 contributions4 helpful votes
I can’t answer this question. Doubtful, but call the hotel directly.
Answer from JSuth2000
Delray Beach, Florida593 contributions311 helpful votes
Weed isnt legal in Miami. That being said you are in Downtown Miami, and anything goes. The hotel is huge and clean I cant imagine you would experience this but if you did they could find you another room.
Paige P wrote a tip May 20
62 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go down to the pool early on the weekends if you want to secure a seat."
Read full review
Nicole G wrote a tip Apr 2024
Austin, Texas, United States4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Who is from sunrise to sunset."
Read full review
Angela M wrote a tip Apr 2024
11 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t have breakfast there. Get extra pillows. Enjoy the pool and food at pool!"
Read full review
Edward G wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check what events will be hosted at the hotel before you arrive. The pool and Bar at Area 31 might be closed."
Read full review
Neil K wrote a tip Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom44 contributions47 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid adjoining rooms as the walls are like paper and you can hear even a normal conversation."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Miami area.
PRICE RANGE
C$324 - C$489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
epic hotel kimpton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaMiamiDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
411
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Kimpton EPIC Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kimpton EPIC Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Room Escape Miami by Fox in a Box (0.5 km), Royale Society Hospitality (0.1 km), and mySpa (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kimpton EPIC Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Kimpton EPIC Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kimpton EPIC Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kimpton EPIC Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kimpton EPIC Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Americano, Steak Brasil Churrascaria, and Fratelli Milano.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kimpton EPIC Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kimpton EPIC Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Kimpton EPIC Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Kimpton EPIC Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Miami HotelsMiami Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MiamiHotels near Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars