We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Breakwater South Beach

AMOMAUS$149*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$242*
US$149*
US$242*
US$175*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Panoramas (56)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,664 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Breakwater South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,207: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Highlights: 1. Staff is warm and welcoming. Loved the manager Juan, the receptionist Tatia, and the porter Pablo. They were all amazing! Very inviting and enthusiastic. 2. If there is availability they will allow you to check in early (even at 6am like we did) 3. Free breakfast every morning 4. Free bike rentals (they have 6 of them) for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Denise S, Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Breakwater South Beach. We're delighted to learn that we were able to accommodate you by checking in early in the morning as if we have the availability, we definitely try our best to accommodate all our guest request. I'm personally excited that you found the staff warm and...

Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

My friends and I stayed at the Breakwater from Friday to Sunday. We stayed in the junior suite and completely loved it. Room was nice. Loved the bathroom. Very clean. Staff was great. Breakfast included. We enjoyed the pool especially on Saturday afternoon with the Dj downstairs at the bar. He played great music ! Big big thank you to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicole f
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear nicole f, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Breakwater South Beach. The entire staff is delighted that you enjoyed your room accommodations as well as the staff, especially Natalie and Michael. When you're ready to return to Miami Beach, please don't hesitate to contact us directly to prepare your future accommodations in the near future at...

Bronx
Reviewed 28 May 2015

The Hotel Breakwater once again, surpassed my expectations. I went there for the Memorial Day Weekend and I had a deluxe room with a balcony. The room was very comfortable. My partner and I had a ball. Breakfast was included and it was delicious. The staff at the Breakwater were friendly, professional and very helpful. Shout out to Juan, Tatia,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tlove66
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear tlove66, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback with the Breakwater South Beach. We're delighted to know that once again, you enjoyed your stay over the Memorial Weekend. The entire team will be happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. I'm certain that they will all raise the bar to a new level of service...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Jewelry taken out of my nightstand. I made a police report when they came with the crime scene investigator they determined they windows do not lock, and that may of been a point of entry. But there is only two rooms on the pent house floor which are right next door with a security camera facing the hallway which is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jerold M
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Jerold M, I'm terribly sorry that you had items removed from your room during the Memorial Weekend. I can assure you that our cameras and in-room safe do indeed work and if you would care to discuss the matter further, you can contact me at your leisure at info@breakwatersouthbeach.com. Again, the entire staff is sincerely sorry for you being...

Skokie, Illinois
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

I booked this hotel last minute. It was clean, everyone was friendly, free breakfast, and across the street from the beach. It worked out perfectly. My complaint is that I could not park there bc street was closed down for a festival. It was also pretty loud at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauriec5580
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear lauriec5580, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Breakwater South Beach. We're all delighted that you found the hotel clean and the staff friendly for your last minute stay. We do receive a lot of positive feedback about the hotel being conveniently located near the beach, our complimentary amenities from the bicycles to the breakfast. I'm sincerely...

Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Worst hotel they don't tell you about the 100 a night fee they charge a night on top of the resort fee they charge and they had bugs in there bed they gave us a hard time accommodating us to a different room

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank vacationtime21
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear vacationtime21, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Breakwater South Beach. I apologize that you were unaware that an authorization for incidentals was required to check-in. I sincerely apologize that you were inconvenienced during your stay and would hope that you will give us another chance to win your business again in the near future. When you're...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 26 May 2015

We were lucky enough to get a quiet room. The location of the hotel is perfect for people who want to hang out at South Beach for a couple of days to get a feeling and a great experience of the place. Staff was really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was boring, not much to choose from and every day the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManuNelson
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear ManuNelson, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent experience at the Breakwater South Beach. We're delighted that your room accommodations were quiet and was a convenient location to your satisfaction. I'm sorry that the breakfast was a bit repetitive for you and will definitely pass on your feedback to the restaurant as they welcome all feedback...

Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

This was my second time staying here and I loved it best hotel excellent very clean staff helpful especially Stanley and natalie they were so nice and treated us very well I will be back again! beautiful deck pool !! Susie 😃

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susiem0625
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear susiem0625, Thank you for returning to the Breakwater South Beach. It is always a good thing when we begin to see a friendly face come back to stay with us. I'm glad that you found Stanley and Natalie's service satisfactory. If you haven't already done so, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservations@breakwatersouthbeach.com when you're ready...

Reviewed 25 May 2015

The room was nice. King sized bed, mini bar, chaise chair. This was my first time in South Beach, so I was expecting late parties, but not so close. They have an onsite club, which was open until 4:00am. Another thing, the elevator was small, hot and slow. This hotel was directly across from the beach, which was very convienent....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Celeste F
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Celeste F, Thank you for sharing your recent stay of the Breakwater South Beach. We're delighted to learn that you found your accommodations satisfactory. I apologize that being near the entertainment wasn't your liking and hoped it doesn't deter you from returning in the near future. We would appreciate it if you can contact us directly at reservations@breakwatersouthbeach.com so...

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

Beautiful scene , love the area, beautiful beaches , this place offers many amenities with the bike service and complimentary breakfast. Looks can be deceiving!!!!!!! Customer service and it's roots values a customer , " Natalie" manager upon check out , would have to be the only one who still understood , after being acknowledging of my entire party having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
csantana116, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Rich B, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Breakwater South Beach. We're delighted that you found Miami's scene to be that of beauty as well as the complimentary breakfast and bicycles. I sincerely apologize that you and your party experienced a challenge with our valet. I have forwarded your feedback to the valet manager in efforts...

713 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (491)
Viewed
Bathroom (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (146)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Aquarium Pool (11)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Oceanfront Room (22)
Viewed
Penthouse (40)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,009 reviews
0.2 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,137 reviews
0.4 km away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#47 of 207 in Miami Beach
2,339 reviews
0.1 km away
Congress Hotel South Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach
#129 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,354 reviews
0.1 km away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#44 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range: $219 - $683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Breakwater South Beach Miami Beach, Florida
Hotel Style:
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Breakwater South Beach staff and other travellers.
38 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Breakwater South Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best location ion Miami”
895chrb, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go to a different hotel”
malcro, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“loved the ocean view rooms but might be too noisy for some people”
moez_b_ayed, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have an outside noise issue!”
foxcatcher, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for ocean drive, and yo will haven seaview too.”
  • room
  • sunrise from room
  • room
  • bathroom / shower
  • terras
lunel5, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
AMOMA
US$149* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$242
Expedia.comUS$175
Orbitz.comUS$175
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates