We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Colony Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,025 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Colony Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 684: English reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

I thought this hotel would be great due to the location, but that's literally the only thing great about this hotel. Some of the rooms are newly renovated, but the others are small and old. The weekend I stayed the elevator was out so I had to carry my luggage up three flights of stairs with no one from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley D
Eddie N, General Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ashley. We are sorry to see that you experienced some services issues with one member of our staff. We take this reviews seriously in order to make corrective measures. We wish you the best in your endeavors hoping to see you again in the near future..... Best Regards Claudio Guadagno Hotel General Manager

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is not fancy I would compare it to a dorm room with Queen/king bed options. The bathroom is small - shower, small cabinet mirror, wall plug is by the door (very weird placement and unusual you have no were to place the item you plugged. We stayed the weekend and the cold water was not working- it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmao1217
Eddie N, General Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comments, however it seems that at what point this issues were brought up?.... Service by definition is the ability for the hotel to resolve guests issues and concerns within your stay..... Wash cloth are given to every room based on the bedding type. We provide additional one upon request.... I am not sure that...

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

I booked this hotel friend of mine gave a great review. We were not happy I don't understand how this hotel not keep fresh towels. And the linen was not clean on the bed hair in the blow dryer from previous guest. Should've stayed at the Avalon😡

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LOVELIFE20
Eddie N, General Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the review, we are sorry we didn't meet your standards however we would have loved the opportunity to correct them while you were our guest. We do offer cleaning services on a daily basis and additional towels are available. I will address the staff so this issues are corrected... We wish you well in your endeavors...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Hotel is old, outdated, problems with elevator, rooms small, should have listened to my friends, location is great and price but everything else falls short. Would not stay here again. Delano here we come.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthonyelliott
Eddie N, General Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comments, The hotel was built in 1936 we do agree that our property is a landmark, our rooms are clean and functional, our elevator might have been serviced while your stay, regarding the size of our rooms that is not a service related nor can be used against us. We are sorry you feel...

Wakefield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Located in the Art Deco area of Miami South beach arrived after taking eastern carriabean cruise would not let us checking till pm very noisy loud music all night cops constantly in hotel dealing with incidents awake all night disturbed by the drug dealers and put my suitcase to secure the door and to top it all after a bad...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank amberWakefield
Eddie N, General Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, First we are shocked at the comments made, in order for someone to make allegation of drug dealer and or illegal situations you must provide proof otherwise your are profiling people and that is not appropriate to our patrons... Please note that we do not run the restaurant nor we have anything to do with the staff or issues...

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

The rooms are okay looking but if you have more than two people staying in the room make sure you ask for extra towels right then and there. When my friends and I arrived, we were told to pay an extra $35 because there were more people than expected. So we paid the extra. Then we found out that there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Latonya H
Eddie N, General Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review, we provide enough supplies to each unit... We are however surprised as our staff has additional supplies at the desk area, Just in case our guests need additional toiletries and or towels.... However Ms Latonya we did speak with the booking agency and explained to them our point of view ..... and we provided...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

For this to even be called a hotel is poor. The rooms are awful. Our room had hairs all around the sink taps, and all over shower - please see attached photos. The noise that comes into the rooms is enough for you to want to jump out of the Windows. I have never stayed anywhere so bad. They claim...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andymull1
Eddie N, General Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for you comments, however I am wondering why you never asked to be move to another unit? Our hotel has new mattresses in 90% of our rooms as we are updating our beds.... Not allowing the hotel to make corrective measures is not fair to make such comments.... If weren't able to accommodate you we have options...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryasia B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Quite old-fashioned and small inside. But clean, classic art-deco architecture and in the most central location on Miami beach you could ask for. Looks great from the outside - great for pictures. Staff reasonably helpful but not especially so

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harrymonaghan
Eddie N, General Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns, we are pleased we met your expections and taking your comments at heart to improve in our services and provide our staff the training needed to exceed as a hotel in a very competitive market. We again thank you Best Regards

Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Elevator not inspected in over 2 years... Ice machine is not working... Dirty and small rooms... Customer service is horrible... Long wait for everything... Didn't want to give me a beach towel cause they were upset... It doesn't look like the pictures online

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shanta F
Eddie N, General Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your comments however we do not agree with its context. The elevator is current and we have the documentation to prove it. Second beach towel are always available to our customers... Based on your stay and our location we are a busy spot as every other hotel in the strip, there are time we suggest our...

493 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (325)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (139)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (130)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (26)
Viewed
Oceanfront Suite (31)
Viewed
Ocenfront Palms Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#164 of 206 in Miami Beach
506 reviews
0.1 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#91 of 206 in Miami Beach
815 reviews
0.1 km away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#189 of 206 in Miami Beach
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#29 of 206 in Miami Beach
1,102 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach
0.0 km away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#50 of 206 in Miami Beach
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
Columbus Restaurant
Columbus Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Address: 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range: $166 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach
The Colony Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Hotel Style:
#112 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Colony Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Adelaide, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Colony Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a Room facing the back alley for quietness and comfort”
 of 5 bubbles Stolarchos, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“3rd Floor or above otherwise its loud”
 of 5 bubbles alr22508, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No rooms are good it's a 24hr drug den with Our music playing all night long yuk”
 of 5 bubbles amberWakefield, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't book here.”
 of 5 bubbles 59earleneg, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be away from the front of the hotel, what you loose in views you make up in sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles BillD983, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5