We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Micanopy
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 240: English reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The mansion is a beautiful home. After enjoying the quaint town, I slept deeply in the comfortable bed and peaceful environment. Home made cookies and wine on period glasses was a wonderful touch while relaxing on the second floor porch. My only suggestion is keep bottled water available for guests not inclined toward sweet tea.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JAG1992
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us but sorry you missed seeing the water . We do provide filtered water along with the iced tea and lemonade in the guest refrigerator. There is also a water cooler right next to the refrigerator that dispenses bottled distilled water. Hopefully, you will return for another visit so we may...

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I were looking for a quick get away not far from home but far enough that we could enjoy the time alone. I have always wanted to stay at the Herlong so I thought what a perfect time. We booked the Iris Suite as well as their Candlelight dinner, which was served right in their dining room....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 226Rachel
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

It was delightful meeting you both and I am so pleased you both enjoyed having "the whole mansion" to yourselves. I will definitely relay to Janina how much you enjoyed your Candlelight Dinner. We look forward to your return visit as it would be a pleasure to have you both "play house" at The Herlong again.

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I recently flew from Seattle, Washington to Florida to attend the wedding of my beloved friend. I was looking forward to this event for several reasons: This is my dear friend who, late in life, reconnected with the Love of her Life and was marrying him; the Blessed event was being held at an Historical Mansion in a charming little...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Cynthia P
KiKiManhattan, Manager at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

I am the manager for this property and was there for this entire event . I know the owner very well and she is never rude but has to be strong when handling problems. As an example I witnessed the owner going out to ask the groom to stop cutting down the manicured jasmine from the gazebo. She never once...

Ocala, Florida
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Don't have a wedding there..... Owner was rude to guest, florist and the bride! The bride spent a great deal of money to rent this property for a wedding. Big disappointment for so much money! Because of the owners' lack of people skills and business sense, the rules kept changing on a hourly basis. Even though the bride rented the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Decadentfriends1
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

We charged $1,500.00 to use the Herlong Gardens and Front Veranda for a Wedding and Reception- please note that we provided all the Tables and Chairs (which would have cost close to $500.00 to rent from an outside venue) -this also includes the use of the Long Hall with the 2 bathroom facilities (and there are no hidden additional fees...

Amelia Island
Reviewed 16 May 2013

No, I didn't get to stay at the Herlong. And after my experience with them so far, I will never stay there. Back on Feb. 28, I was desperate to find a room in the Gainesville area for my son's graduation from UF on May 3. I finally found the Herlong Mansion and made a reservation for two rooms for...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Sharyl W
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

I have read this review with overwhelming disappointment. Graduation Weekend is one of our busier weekends and, therefore, we have the one night non-refundable deposit and 60 day notice policy in place. This reviewer knew this at the time of booking and joked that even if her son wasn't graduating they would still be coming. Unfortunately, they did cancel after...

Pinellas Park
Reviewed 25 April 2013

OMGosh, talk about getting away from it all and going to an unspoiled old town in Florida. We spent a very nice long week-end there to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary, and stayed in the Azalea Suite. The grounds were beautiful, and the "house" was more like a warm and cozy "home" than a house. The pillow top bed mattress...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beverly M
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

It was a delight having you as quests to celebrate your Anniversary. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Mary Esther, Florida
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This is the worst B&B we've ever visited! The room appeared to have never had a "deep" cleaning--especially the bathroom. The furniture was very cheap. The entry door to the room had a wide crack between the door and frame, such that you could see into the room from the hall. I had to put a blanket over it to...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Bob N
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Well, after just now calling to speak with Mr. Newburn and being met with such shocking rudeness and a loud Hang Up I find it impossible to respond to this review as it is so full of incorrect statements. We deep clean our rooms religiously and we are furnished with antiques and high quality furnishings. Our doors are solid wood...

Muskegon, MI
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My husband and I stayed one evening at the Herlong. The good: the staff was courteous. The cookies were yummy. We appreciated the wine in the afternoon. The not so good: this b&b is way overpriced. We paid $149 for one night. Our room was musty smelling. I enjoyed the porch off our room, but needed to clean the chairs...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mhendon
KiKiManhattan, Manager at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you felt the $149.00 price which includes a full prepared breakfast served in our dining room plus the wine and fresh baked cookies served in the late afternoon to evening with sherry and port always out in the music room "way overpriced" - We have not raised our prices for over ten years even though gas, food,...

Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The Herlong Mansion is truly a gem. The owners have preserved its grace and improved the home with meticulous attention to detail. The rooms are cared for with love and the trees and gardens are wonderful. Sit on the veranda with a glass of wine or cup of tea and feel your pulse slow. Stroll the grounds in beloved peace...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen D
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Great Pictures Stephen...Thanks for posting them so everyone can see the lovely wildlife and birds we have all around here. It was really nice to have met you and I am Thankful to Carole for selecting the Herlong Mansion to celebrate your Birthday with us.

Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My wife and I were looking for a place to stay for the night in Micanopy. It was our second wedding anniversary and we found the Herlong Mansion online. We called repeatedly to no answer for the better part of an afternoon. We called every number that was available and finally left a message for callback. No call took place....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Russell H
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

THIS REVIEW IS FROM SOMEONE THAT DID NOT STAY AT THE HERLONG. We are so sorry you were unable to stay with us and enjoy the Herlong Mansion for your anniversary. Our front desk is open from 7:30 AM to between 4-6PM during the week and to 7-8PM on Weekends. We always answer the phone and respond to messages during...

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (54)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Micanopy
15.1 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
14.3 km away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#23 of 45 in Gainesville
1,271 reviews
13.7 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
14.1 km away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville I-75
15.6 km away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#7 of 45 in Gainesville
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Herlong Mansion Historic Inn and Gardens is an Award Winning Bed and Breakfast and a member of Small Elegant Hotels Worldwide. Surrounded by ancient Magnolia trees and Oaks dripping with Spanish moss this Old World setting offers a peaceful sanctuary along with the Wide Verandas with porch swings and old fashioned rocking chairs. Southern Style Breakfasts and Southern Hospitality at its friendliest. Complimentary refreshments available at all times with Wine and Cookies in the evening. AAA rating 3 Diamonds and 4 Diamonds for bedding and furnishings ... more   less 

Additional Information about Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 402 NE Cholokka Blvd, Micanopy, FL 32667-4107
Region: United States > Florida > Micanopy
Price Range: $106 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Herlong Mansion b&b Inn
Herlong Mansion Hotel Micanopy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Miami, Florida
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms were charming and had so many different features. Inquire”
 of 5 bubbles stephanieB6503IJ, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Micanopy is a quaint small Southern town with more than its share of shops and restaurants”
 of 5 bubbles johnmC6362DE, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Facing the front of the Hotel towards the street best option.”
 of 5 bubbles LarryandMaureen, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“One handicapped room on the first floor with the rest on the second and third except for one outdoor cottage and a duplex. No elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Naturalbill, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pumphouse Cottage was my favorite.Very peaceful and quiet was just surrounded by trees and garden.”
 of 5 bubbles djunique073, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5