We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Black Dolphin Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Black Dolphin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 405: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The black dolphin has found the way to create a true dream stay experience for lucky travelers. The easygoing yet masterful host Sheila, Brett, Mackenzie, Taylor and Patricia nurture every inch of the property with thoughtful upgrades and nuances. I like them personally very much and feel welcomed every time I visit. It's becoming a must stay every year on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro G
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It is our greatest pleasure to pamper our guests and we are so grateful for your kind words regarding our unique brand of hospitality, our special touches, and our thoughtful upgrades that make the Black Dolphin Inn so special. We truly enjoy our...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a memorable breakfast here. Not only for the delicious, innovative menu choices but for the beautiful setting/atmosphere and staff. We did not stay here - however on weekends - non guests may come for breakfast. Just call ahead so they can plan for you. The small private dock - a stones throw away - is perfect for watching...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LISA C
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for sharing your recent dining experience with the TripAdvisor community. I am delighted that you enjoyed our Full Southern Breakfast - which is served from 8:00am -10:00am on Saturday's and Sunday's. As you mentioned, advance reservations are required for outside guests a day or two prior to the weekend of their choice...

Lake Worth, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located on intracoastal waterway with dock for drinks or 20' boat tie up. Close to inlet for boating. Gret entry foyer. Building is breathtaking in size of rooms and quality of renovations. Breakfast made from scratch. Really nice people with a lot of local knowledge.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank baldeagle8502
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciated your generous comments regarding our waterfront location, the exquisite reconstitution of our historic estate, and our made from scratch breakfast. It was also nice of you to mention our detailed oriented staff whose kindness and attentiveness has been the cornerstone of our...

Ocala, Florida
Reviewed 4 November 2016

The Inn is in a great location close to dining, shops and the beach. Situated across the street from the intracoastal waterway with unobstructed views the inn is very peaceful and relaxing. Our suite was super clean and spacious with 2 tv's and a jetted tub in a great sized bath.. The king bed was very comfortable, lighting was terrific...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam12521
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciated your generous comments regarding our idyllic location, our tranquil ambiance, and our picturesque views of the Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway. In addition to this, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our comfortable bedding, terrific lighting, and our unique brand of...

Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Black Dolphin B&B is a beautiful and charming respite in this crazy world we live in. On the waterfront in New Smyrna Beach, quiet location with many dolphin visiting their dock area. Accommodations were 5 star across the board. The owners of this lovely property made us feel at home and we were treated as if we were the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shalimar713
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for choosing to stay at our award-winning boutique where guests travel not to escape from life - but rather to indulge in it. Authentically unique in location, amenities, and cuisine, the Black Dolphin Inn is truly a great place to relax and unwind from the daily stresses of life. We are delighted...

Reviewed 31 October 2016

The Black Dolphin Inn is a combination of lovely Spanish charm and elegance, from the luxurious rooms to the amazing atmosphere and gourmet breakfast !!! The owners, Brett and Sheila made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. Their daughter MacKenzie [ an AWESOME chef ] and son Taylor were just as friendly and charming. After a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elizabeth S
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for such an amazing "10 Star" review and I am so pleased that you were able to delight in every exquisite detail of our operation. Every guest that stays at the Black Dolphin Inn is special to us and we are truly touched when guests feel as if they are an extension...

New Prague, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I truly wish I could write a review about the Black Dolphin Inn after our stay there...but unfortunately, we had our plans interrupted by the arrival of Hurricane Matthew, the very day we were to start our stay. After monitoring the hurricane situation all the way down to Florida on the plane, when we landed, we had no choice but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camille C
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! I have to admit that we rarely receive feedback from guests who have never stayed at our boutique inn - and your review was truly meaningful as it spoke to the character, integrity, and moral compass of our business. Simply stated - offering our guests a refund of their deposit or the option of...

New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Had the great pleasure to eat breakfast at the Black Dolphin recently. Not only is the atmosphere amazing but the food was incredible!! They offered about 6 or 7 entree choices. Our group of 6 had most of them. We were all amazed at the food and the unique choices offered! Incredible!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marknsuzy
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for sharing your recent dining experience at our award-winning boutique inn via your TripAdvisor post. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our Full Southern Breakfast which features 5 locally sourced entrees- along with some special treats that our chef cooked-up for this weekend dining extravaganza. It was a pleasure...

Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Our room was elegant and cozy, with a wonderfully comfortable bed. We had a view over the waterway and saw many waterfowl and porposes. Sheila, the hostess, was very efficient and friendly and the breakfasts were delicious. She served us grits, on the second morning, and this was not my favourite. However, everything else I enjoyed completely. One our last...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank surfmann14
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! It was such a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your travel experience at our award-winning boutique inn. We appreciated having the benefit of your wonderful comments regarding our elegant rooms, comfortable beds, and delicious breakfast. Thank you for singling out my wife Sheila...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The Black Dolphin is the perfect combination of sleek and chic, while remaining warm and inviting, truly one of a kind! Such a treat and fantastic addition to a great beach town. The brunch experience was truly unforgettable followed by relaxing on the dock and taking in the views on the water. Once you're there, it's hard to leave... highly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nina A
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for your visit and for posting such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. No hotel better captures New Smyrna Beach's unique island vibe better than the Black Dolphin Inn and we sincerely appreciated your generous comments regarding our interior design, warm and inviting ambiance, and of course - our amazing Full Southern Breakfast...

278 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (146)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (93)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
685 reviews
2.9 km away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
783 reviews
2.7 km away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort 2
Coconut Palms Beach Resort 2
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
333 reviews
3.0 km away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
212 reviews
0.4 km away
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and Breakfast
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and ...
#2 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A quaint Old Florida beach town is the setting for this elegant Spanish-Isle boutique inn overlooking the Indian River on Florida's East-central Atlantic Coast. Opened in 2013 after an extensive renovation,the Black Dolphin is the recipient of the 2014 Traveler's Choice Award as one of the Top 10 Inns in the US, 2014 & 2015 AAA Four Diamond Award, 2013 & 2014 BedandBreakfast's Top 10 Beach B&B's worldwide, iLoveInns's Top 10 Romantic Inns in the US, Fodor's Choice Award, and the Guardian's Top 10 B&B and Guest Houses in Florida. The 14-room inn gets its name from the plentiful dolphin who gracefully patrol the waters off its dock. Accommodations include guest rooms and suites with balconies and outdoor terraces, elegant Euro-style bedding, and spa-inspired bathrooms with jetted tubs. Furnishings vary in each room with original artwork and antiques tastefully integrated with modern sensibilities and decor. Eight of the suites and guest rooms are equipped with wet bars. Guests share the modern and expansive Great Room on the first floor level which includes a bar, open kitchen, sitting area and breakfast room. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily with a full Southern-style breakfast on weekends. You are within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in New Smyrna Beach's historic downtown and a short distance from the seaside community's sprawling beaches, surf shops, and Flagler Avenue's beach-side galleries and eateries. Overnight dockage is available for guests with boats , and fishing opportunities are abundant in the backwaters and bays of the Indian River and nearby Canaveral National Seashore Park. Or just sit on the dock, sip a glass of wine, and watch the dolphins swim by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Dolphin Inn

Address: 916 S Riverside Dr, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168-7449
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: $219 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Black Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Dolphin Inn New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Dolphin Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Black Dolphin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There really do not seem to be any bad rooms. Some have better views but the ambience of the place is everywhere.”
 of 5 bubbles baldeagle8502, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were in 105 with a private entrance”
 of 5 bubbles Pam12521, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great views of the river from many of the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Marknsuzy, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a premium room with balcony and water view.”
 of 5 bubbles surfmann14, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a view of the intercostal”
 of 5 bubbles HarryV610, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay