We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Show Prices
#7 of 37 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,234: English reviews
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2015

The people were very nice. Unfortunately, the room was infested with German roaches. We did not complain about it at the time b/c we thought all the rooms would likewise be infested. We stayed upon recommendation of others. We concluded that next year we'll travel b/t Tampa and Ocala going home at night.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Robin M
Nurjehan S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

Our dear guest, I am very sad to hear that you did not have a satisfactory stay with us. Let me assure you that the HoJo team strives very hard to give the best we possibly could give to every guest that walks on our grounds. Being Florida, bugs is an unavoidable issue. That is why we have contracted with... More 

Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Was there just for one night, it is an old hotel but was clean, the people are nice and helpful, I ask them to give a no smoking room because they had put me a wrong one and the change it no problem, the breakfast was good.

Helpful?
Thank CarlosOColon
Nurjehan S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

Dear Guest, You write "old hotel but was clean, the people are nice and helpful." Thank you for sharing with us your experience of the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. The HoJo team strives very hard to make every guest that walks on our grounds to have a 'happy' experience. I am so glad we were able to please you.... More 

Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2015

one of the best stays I've had at a hotel! the staff could not have been more accommodating and pleasant. a special gold star for zaida, who helps with the breakfast. the beds were very comfortable, the rooms were clean and quiet. the pool was clean and warm. we had a very nice stay! would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Karen R
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

"One of the best stays..." is what you, our dear guest, experienced at the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experience with us. The HoJo team, and yes, Zaida is excellent, does strive very hard to give every guest that walks on the grounds of Howard Johnson have an 'excellent'... More 

Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Everything was perfect & conveniently located off of I75. Our room was a King pet room, room 135 & it was clean & cozy, kudos to the owner for actually spending $$$ updating his facilities, u r a caring person & it shows. Kudos to your housekeepers for the cleanliness, WOW! I was amazed how the rooms are so clean,... More 

Helpful?
Thank 69Babydoll
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

"Everything was perfect... Love it! Love it! Love it!" is your experience, our dear guest, of the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. We truly thank you for sharing your experience with us. We unequivocally realize that making you, our guests, 'happy' is the key to our survival because you do have a choice. In fact, some places are but an... More 

Starke
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2015

The staff was very friendly. Even through Faith(front desk person) was new she did an aswesome job. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Lsolze
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

Our dear guest, The Hojo team thanks you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. You state that you "would recommend this hotel to anyone." We truly thank you for stating that. We strive very hard to make every guest that walks on our grounds get the best product... More 

42701
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2015

The employees were very helpful, my biggest concern was the carpet was very dirty! Will probably stay again for the convenience of the location!!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank jackp180
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

I thank you, dear guest, for sharing your experience with us. My records indicate that you stayed 4 nights with us. Also, the records show that you did not mention or bring to anyone's attention your dissatisfaction with the carpet. We would have gladly changed you to another room to make you 'happy.' At the time of check in, one... More 

1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We stayed in the completely renovated building. EVERYTHING in the room was brand new! A/C was central controlled, BR was spotless, TV and cable were great. Lights had USB plugs. Just wonderful for a cheap hotel. My only gripe was the free continental breakfast. Had NO meats, no eggs, sausage, bacon. Only cereal, waffles, yogurt etc ... and they DID... More 

Helpful?
Thank P Albert C
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

Our dear Guest, The Hojo team sincerely thanks you for sharing with us your experience at the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. Yes, we are completely renovating the place in order to give you all the best we possibly could give and be the 5/5 motel in Economy motels around here. I am sorry we disappointed you with what we... More 

Owingen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2015

We had two rooms with two double beds each for two adults and two kids. The motel does not differ much from other motels we visited during our holiday trip through Florida. We booked via internet and got a very reasonable price - around US$ 50 per room. Before arrival we were contacted via telephone and told that our rooms... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank 147jenss
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

Dear Guest, "Overall we got a good value for the price," is your experience of the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. The HoJo team thanks you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take our guests' reviews very seriously because we know that only you, our guests, can help us get better and be... More 

Columbia,Sc
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Had a very nice stay,quiet and close to all shopping.Room was clean and cozy.When I make my next trip to Ocala I will stay at this hotel.Also they have a restaurant on sight.Breakfast free in the morning and dinner at night,not costly.Just off I-75,very close.

Helpful?
1 Thank James T
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

Dear guest, your experience of Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala has been "very nice stay, quiet and close to all shopping." You also add, "Room was clean and cozy." To add to the comfort, there was complimentary deluxe breakfast and dinning place right on the premises, home-cooked food at reasonable prices. The HoJo team thanks you very much for taking... More 

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 37 in Ocala
292 reviews
2.7 km away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#12 of 37 in Ocala
256 reviews
21.0 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
20.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
20.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Price Range: $77 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
3 months ago
Palm Coast, Florida
over a year ago
Marshall, Wisconsin
9 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best Staff Ever!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles ursusborealisoz, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ROOM409(dbbl beds)”
 of 5 bubbles jacksonji, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have a pet with you, make sure you ask for a "pet-friendly" room.”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseS133, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing office were quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 49rosed, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The entire hotel was well taken care of just as the guests were.”
 of 5 bubbles Okc_Navigator, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay