Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd

Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd

Traveller (399)
Fora do quarto.
Room & Suite (195)
Outdoor Pool
Pool & Beach (34)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#281 of 374 hotels in Orlando
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located 3.6 km from the Orange County Convention Center, Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd offers an outdoor pool and free WiFi in the lobby. Guests will also be 12 minutes drive from Walt Disney World Resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Vending machine
Bowling offsite
Water park offsite
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

7825 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 71 out of 100
71
Orlando Intl Airport
15.9 km
See all flights
Orlando Sanford International Airport
43.4 km
See all flights
1,288Review207Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 321
  • 375
  • 264
  • 138
  • 190
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
HollyandJason W wrote a review Mar 2020
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is under renovation, the new rooms are more modern. Our room was in d block which overlooks the road intersection, the noise from the road was not a problem for us as we live on a main road anyway but people used to silence at night may struggle without earplugs. Ask for a room which will be quiet at check in as the staff are excellent.

Even though the room had been upgraded there were a few issues which we raised with the staff and they were put right straight away, apart from a bath tap which was loose, the maintenance guy said he would fix that, I assume once we left as it did still work.

Every member of staff was courteous and pleasant, all do a fantastic job of good quality customer service.

Breakfast is simple and self serve. All of the food is lovely although we would have liked meat every day as some of us don’t like eggs which were the staple every day. We did not like the polystyrene plates and cups though with plastic knives and forks. This gave the meal a very cheap feel.

The renovations didn’t bother us in our block, however it’s evident that work is taking place from the waste in the yard. We did encounter some of the workmen who, again, were lovely and always spoke and wished us a good day.

The English may have a reputation for politeness but I have to say every person we have encountered during our stay has gone out of their way to say good morning, have a great day and with a smile. We’ve loved the people here.

This is a budget hotel and you shouldn’t expect 5 star facilities, but you will get 5 star service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JanR2760, Manager at Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Holly and Jason, your review about your stay means so much to us! I love what you said at the end: You will always receive five-star service with us! As you said, we're currently working on bringing you a five-star facility, and we can't wait to have you come back when everything is done. Till then! Safe travels, Jan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DWeber wrote a review Mar 2020
Elkhart, Indiana
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This facility was located in a great location and was very cost efficient but beware that it is under construction. It is old and is in great need of an update but it appears that they are taking steps. So price is fair for an older hotel, clean but under construction.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JanR2760, Manager at Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd
Responded Mar 11, 2020
We are renovating, but we expect to be done by the end of March! When everything's done, the most difficult part about staying with us will be having to check out! In all seriousness, it's always a pleasure to have you with us. Hope you get to see our completed renovations next time you're in town. Best, Jan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
acw07 wrote a review May 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve given this place 3 stars because that’s really what it (the hotel) is aiming for. It’s a cheap place to stay for what will eventually be an expensive holiday (food / drink is not cheap!) so over all so it was perfect for our budget.

I found our room to be comfortable, quiet and clean. You can hear some noise outside the room but I learned a long time ago to just take ear plugs everywhere I go now which always helps me. The air con unit is also pretty loud but it almost acted as white noise and didn’t bother us as we slept. You definitely need it on in the Florida heat!

There were 2 queen sized beds in our room, they were firm which I fine for me. With plenty of pillows which were comfortable.

For what you pay for it, and how long you are in the room it’s perfectly fine for 2 weeks. There is so much excitement to be had with all of the parks which are super conveniently located you hardly expect to be in the room much anyway!

My only criticism regarding the room and word of advice for future travellers is that there are no coffee making facilities in the room. I didn’t ask reception but from reading other reviews I didn’t think it was worth the hassle to ask. If you like to have a coffee outside of breakfast hours, I would suggest taking a mini kettle / travel cup and buying the coffee supplies from the store. There is a good sized fridge in the room to store milk.

My second issue with the hotel was that for the breakfast (which was very basic as described in other reviews) you had to use polystyrene plates, bowls, cups and plastics cutlery. I’m sure this is to cut costs but it bothered me to see so much single use waste. This wasn’t limited to the hotel though I found that excessive single use plastic was used in a lot of places.

Having said that I’m not expecting the hotel to change this, but if this is something that does bother you and you’re trying to be more sustainable I would suggest taking some travel plates / cups / cutlery etc with you. I only took metal straws with me (which were also super useful in the parks)

We had an incident with a blocked toilet on one occasion, my partner went to reception to ask for assistance and within 5 minutes someone had come to sort it out. They even fixed something else that they noticed whilst they were there. Great service.

Didn’t have much other interaction with the staff but the little we did was friendly and polite.

The pool looked nice although we didn’t use it, it seemed to be quite popular later in the day but not so busy, you could always see seats available.

Rooms were cleaned sporadically throughout the 2 weeks. Sometimes every day sometimes it was left a couple days. Didn’t bother us, we had what we needed.

I would recommend to someone staying on a budget but I would also probably try somewhere else next time and spend a little more.

Note: there is a deposit ($100) which is charged on arrival. Not sure if it’s been refunded yet as we only just checked out a couple days ago.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Breakfast seemed to be busiest from 8-9. If you prefer a quieter atmosphere, go around 7:15/7:30.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mkstrang83 wrote a review Jan 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Over priced for low budget room’s the smell of the room smelt like old moldy floors or old carpet. The beds need to be steamed or replaced. At 200 bucks a night. They can afford to replace the carpet to maybe high quality waterproof life proof flooring. They make it I know they do. Save money on carpet cleaning and allergy friendly. Plus new mattresses wouldn’t hurt either.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JanR2760, Owner at Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd
Responded Jan 8, 2020
We know the only thing you want after a long day out on the town is to come back to a nice and comfortable room. That's why we're currently in the process of renovating our last building and expect to be finished with all rooms in March. Finally, you can always request a room with tiles instead of carpet if you have allergies. It's just a matter of letting us know so we can make your stay as comfortable as possible. We hope you'll take a chance on staying in one of our newly renovated rooms next time you're in Orlando. Hoping to see you again, Jan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaymitz wrote a review Mar 2020
Windsor
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here a week with my family. We actually extended our stay 2 nights after staying there for 5 when we could of booked elsewhere. As most say the staff is very nice, seems they would go out of their way when possible to do whatever is needed. Property is nice, pool is solid, they have music and it is open late. Wasn't super busy when we were here. Breakfast was better than a basic, we had meat or potatoes with eggs, bread, fruit, waffles and pancakes. Got us by with no complaints. The room we stayed in seemed recently upgraded. This place was cheap in terms of price but was a definitely a step up from any other 2 star hotel we've stayed at. In walking distance to everything you need, free shuttles although we did not use them. Got suckered into a timeshare to save some money but that was our choice. They did not seem too pushy and that is not the hotel anyways. Area felt safe as well. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay as your family will be out all day but want a step up than a low budget basic hotel this is it. Glad we found it and will be back for sure :)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JanR2760, Manager at Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Jaymitz, we were thrilled to have you extend your stay for another two nights! By the way, you're right: We would most definitely go out of our way to make your stay absolutely perfect. Anytime you're in town, we'll be here to take care of you and your family. Safe travels, Jan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Georgina T wrote a review May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Orlando on a VERY VERY tight budget! On arrival to the hotel, we weren’t greeted by the friendliest staff members, which was not the best start. Our room was extremely basic (which was fine), however, our telly did not work, the room had a musty smell and the sink was grubby. It was explained that the room would only been cleaned every three days, which we did not mind as the room only costed $50 per night. The breakfast was not the best, very dry turkey bits with fried eggs and plain potato wedges. Also with cereal, toast and muffin options with a selection of drinks. The dinning room tables were not cleaned after each customer left, even though there were members of staff just standing in the dining areas - not doing an awful lot, so had time to wipe some tables down. The whole feel about the hotel was unhygienic. I didn’t expect much with the amount of money we paid, but id expect a level of cleanliness, especially in the times we live in! Only tolerated this hotel as we only there to sleep, only had the breakfast for 2 out of 8 days we were there!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
angelflyhiTravels wrote a review Mar 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The Wyndham name should not be associated with this motel. Check in and out was easy but I didn't like the time share pitch after having a long day and checking into my room after 10pm. Next, the room smell was horrible (I wasted a lot of my perfume to try to get rid of the odor but was unsuccessful). The sheets were dirty with hair and stains. The towels and wash clothes had possible pubic hairs. I complained about the smell and sheets to the front desk via phone. I asked for air freshener, clean towels, wash clothes and linens and a possible room change if possible. Front desk staff was friendly but my room didn't change, I wasn't given air freshener but given a set of dingy sheets. Breakfast options were not good it was full of microwavable carb options. I will never stay or recommend this property. My daughter even stated she rather sleep in our rental car instead of the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JanR2760, Manager at Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd
Responded Mar 17, 2020
We work really hard to make sure every room is ready for you when you arrive, so I'm very sorry to hear you had some problems. There are times when we cannot change your room, but as you said, we'll find ways to make your stay more comfortable. I hope you'll give us another chance in the future to show you what a five-star stay at our hotel can look like. Best, Jan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deena T wrote a review Apr 2021
Ormond Beach, Florida
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived on late Friday afternoon around 4:30 or so on March 12. I had a meeting to attend so my husband stayed at the hotel. He tried every vending machine in the hotel to get a bottle of water. The money kept being returned. So he went to the front desk to get some water. No water. He was told to go across the street to the 7/11 to buy water. As a person who had 2 cerebral hemorrhages, he just looked at the traffic on this main intersection and realized he'd probably get killed walking across the street. So he went back into the lobby and started yelling about how he could get some water. A woman offered him a small bottle of water and then then someone who worked in the spa in the lobby gave him a bottle of water.
Breakfast? Forget it. Coffee was good. Blueberry muffins were ok. I guess that's what some people call breakfast.
Overpriced. The beds were comfortable, hence the 2 rating.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go to another hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amy wrote a review Jan 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am usually not picky about little things, The only two good things I can say about this hotel; is the staff was all very nice, and the location was great for easy access to both major theme park areas. This hotel looks fine outside, the groundskeeper makes it look good and the lobby looks good. The room was not in good repair at all. The paint was slapped on the walls, Ok I can deal with that. The room smelled like mold/mildew. The front desk stated he could move us, but we dealt with that too, The shower curtain rod was falling off the wall. The beds and pillows were really uncomfortable. The fridge was not staying very cold, perhaps because the door didn't shut correctly and they didn't check that it was shut so the freezer was iced over when we got there and the whole thing never worked properly (yes we made sure the door was shut after use). Coach Roches can happen and it did. The biggest issue was the smell. The water with the laundry machine made our clothes smell like that too. At first we figured it was just how things were, but our last night was spent at a different hotel in Florida and everything was so much better. Like I said the staff was great, but the rest was not.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We were in the back area on the ground floor, but heard many screaming kids as they walked by our...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clare H wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am not going to lie having read the reviews before I left England I had a lot of concerns.
I write this still staying here and been here 10 days so far .
After traveling for 17 plus hrs check in was easy greeted with a smile and great friendly service .
The room is standard I drive area all rooms have very similar layout. It's what you pay for do not expect a 5 star hotel for the price you pay .
I am traveling with someone who has very bad dust mite allergy.
So believe me if the room was dirty we would know about it because she would be very unwell.
I can not fault the cleaning of our room it is spotless thank you for your help over allergies.
The beds are very comfortable.
We asked for a quiet room and that's what we got perfect .
Now breakfast the thing lots of people seem to have a moan about..
I have enjoyed breakfast and no complaints at all its what it says a quick fuel type buffet it's not meant to be a la carte.. To clear up choice it's fruit loops /cornflakes .
Bagels/ toast .
Pastries/muffins
Panckes /yogurt
Apple's/banana
Boiled eggs
To give an example.
All put out fresh continuously
It's enough to keep most people going.

And if it's not your thing You have I hop , Denny's MC D all about 5 min walk away.
The pool is lovely ,warm and clean .
Laundry room is $4 for wash and dryer .
The shuttle is great to the parks we have used it most days .
It's always on time and not been late easy to find at each park and easy to book .If you come back on earlier bus and want to get dinner just ask to get off at one of the hotel stops on I drive lots of choice for meals.

Would I stay here again?
Yes!
Yes 100% .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JanR2760, Manager at Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd
Responded Feb 17, 2020
Clare, every one of our guests deserves a five-star stay, so nothing makes me happier than hearing you had a wonderful stay in a wonderful room! When we heard you had traveled all the way from England, we knew we had to make your stay unforgettable, and it sounds like you've had a great time so far. No matter how long you're staying with us, you can always count on us to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Hope to see you again soon! Safe travels, Jan, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Pâmela S
1 contribution
Também gostaria de saber, o ônibus do para os parques.
Leopard555 asked a question Jun 2022
South Australia, Australia2 contributions
Hi, is there a resort fee?
Answer from Graeme H
Aberdare, United Kingdom12 contributions8 helpful votes
Yep. In a box in the pool area
Jesse Carrion wrote a tip May 2024
Windermere, Florida2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask to face away from iDrive just to be safe "
Read full review
Richard Kaz wrote a tip Apr 2024
Miami, Florida19 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Before you book a room, check prices in other applications. I ordered a room through Airbnb and overpaid. Breakfasts modest , and eating the same thing for a week ?"
Read full review
John G wrote a tip Mar 2024
Dudley, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go expecting high standards."
Read full review
Laura B wrote a tip Feb 2024
Halifax, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ear plugs! Sounds like a freight train in your room with the cleaning carts and luggage rolling around"
Read full review
N_Y_Mom78 wrote a tip Feb 2024
New York City, New York6 contributions17 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this whole place"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Orlando area.
PRICE RANGE
C$69 - C$136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn universal studios area hotel orlando, comfort inn orlando, comfort inn universal orlando, orlando comfort inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Baymont by Wyndham Orlando Universal Blvd
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaCentral FloridaOrlandoFlorida Center
NUMBER OF ROOMS
328
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd?
Nearby attractions include The Escape Game Orlando (0.7 km), Nick's Parlor Tricks (0.7 km), and Lockbusters Escape Game (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kings Dining & Entertainment, Nile Ethiopian, and Whole Foods Market.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd?
Many travellers enjoy visiting City Hall (12.7 km) and Jack Kerouac House (14.4 km).
Is Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Orlando HotelsOrlando Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in OrlandoHotels near Grand Hotel Orlando at Universal Blvd
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars