We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

American Quality Lodge Panama City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
American Quality Lodge Panama City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for American Quality Lodge Panama City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

As we enter the rooms a God awful smell hits you so hard you will turn around, you can smell the drugs from the rooms.. The beds and floors were sinking in.. There were bugs and flys everywhere.. The floors were dirty, the ceiling was chipping off, overall nasty!! Oh can't forget the residents were screaming and hollering nasty gestures... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Dissatisfied34
AQL-Management, General Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you feel that your stay with us did not go well. I do hope that you brought any room concerns to our attention so that we could have corrected them for you. We hope too, that you brought to our attention any guest, at our property that may have offended you or anyone in your... More 

Doraville, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at this motel for vacation and the rates were better than the other motels which were over $110 a nite. The hotel isn't new but its clean. The room had a kitenette with a fridge, microwave and stove top which we liked. We also like the coin laundry and pool. Our remote control needed batteries but we were... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank James P
AQL-Management, General Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments regarding our Hotel and your stay with us. We have been working very hard in upgrading our rooms and your lovely comments let us know that we are moving in the right direction. Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your time you spent with us and we hope that... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was engulfed in BedBugs while I was sleeping. Fits to the overwhelming amount of bits I had an allergic reaction. I suffered a Miscarriage due to the reaction. I was in and out of the local hospital. The pain both mentally and physically was horrible. The manager laughed at me when I tried to speak with her. Apparently, a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChyenneMes
AQL-Management, Public Relations Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review

We strive to provide a comfortable and enjoyable experience for each of our guests, anticipating the needs and fulfilling them on every occasion. Had your concerns been brought to our attention during the initial seven days of your stay, we would have corrected them. After seven nights and while checking out of the hotel, when your concerns were brought to... More 

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. It is unsafe, dirty, old, smelly, full of pests. The mattress are old, bumpy and nasty. The drug dealers parade its amazing..not only at the parking lot, but also in the rooms. No cleaning service in the 3 days I stayed there. When I first got to the room the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tripi2014
AQL-Management, General Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we appreciate all feedback. In the three days you stayed with us I hope you brought your concerns to our attention so that we could have remedied the issues for you. You are correct that we do not have WIFI in our rooms. We do not advertise that we do. Smoking is permitted in our... More 

lincoln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel is disgusting stinky and overall repulsive We paid cash for our room for 2 nights before we caught on to the filth and smoke smell. We didn't even put our belongings down and went back to the office to get our money back they refused to give me half my money back and pocketed 106 dollars. This is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kendrakay21
AQL-Management, General Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt that your time with us was less than expected. It was unfortunate that a guest, prior to your arrival, had smoked in the non smoking room to which you were assigned. We did try, more than once, to have you visit other rooms at our property. Sadly, you refused to look at another room.... More 

1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

This is the absolute worst hotel I've stayed in. The room smelled like smoke. The towels looked they came from different hotels. The sheets were terrible. The pillows were deflated. You can hear people talking through the walls. It looked like there were crackheads loitering outside. The place did not feel see. It may be cheap but you still want... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachael G
AQL-Management, General Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I hope that you brought your concerns to our Front Desk staff so that we were able to help rectify any issues you may have had while you were with us. I understand how a hotel room, at times, may smell like cigarette smoke due to ventilation systems. I do not know why you would... More 

Springfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It smelled like a dead ferret when we walked in. There are furry things growing from our ceiling. There are cinder block walks painted white and the ceilings are disgusting. The bathroom is very dirty and you must wear shoes at all times. Don't go barefoot on the carpet. My friends and I all got sick from the diseases coming... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Michellemcalpine
AQL-Management, General Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review

I am sorry that you feel that your stay with us was less than adequate. I hope that while you were here you brought your concerns to the attention of Management and our Housekeeping Department. This would have given us the opportunity to evaluate your concerns so that we could have made your stay more enjoyable. I can assure you... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

It has got to be tough to operate an aging Motel...In it's day this motel must have been the BOMB! Kids jumping in the pool, moms sunning themselves poolside on aluminium tubed and web strapped chaise lounges. Dads spreading out the ESSO road map on the hood of the 1959 Ford Galaxy 500 planning the next leg of the trip.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HavanaHal
AQL-Management, General Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate your comments and suggestions. As the new General Manager, I appreciate your lovely comments regarding our friendly staff. We are doing renovations, at the moment, and I am very sorry that you did not get the opportunity to experience one of our upgraded... More 

Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

When I searched for a hotel I found the prices to be better at this hotel than the others. The room was basic and clean and included a small refrigerator and microwave which was good. There is a coin laundry room and game room that I liked too.There is pool but it's too cold outside to think about swimming. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor L
valulodge, General Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I have recently taken over this hotel and am so glad to read that the changes we are making are being noticed. We hope that on your next visit to our hotel you will see even bigger and better improvements. Thank you again for taking the time to tell others about your... More 

Hartford City, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Do not stay here! it's the hood of Panama. disgusting! yucko! dirty and scary! loud! you can hear your neighbors thru the cinderblock walls!! keep going. I've learned my lesson to book on line!!!!!!!! the door barely shut. looked like someone had broke in before. ! everything smelled of smoke in the lobby. furniture was dirty too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy A
valulodge, Guest Relations Manager at American Quality Lodge Panama City, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to hear of the difficulties you experienced. Please accept my sincere apologies for these shortcomings. Again, I greatly appreciate your bringing the issues to my attention. If I can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to call me. More 

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.5 km away
Econo Lodge Panama City
Econo Lodge Panama City
#31 of 33 in Panama City
31 reviews
0.4 km away
Hathaway Inn
Hathaway Inn
#28 of 33 in Panama City
71 reviews
7.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ramada Panama City
Ramada Panama City
#25 of 33 in Panama City
314 reviews
0.4 km away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#10 of 33 in Panama City
58 reviews
6.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#4 of 33 in Panama City
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about American Quality Lodge Panama City

Address: 4810 W Highway 98, Panama City, FL 32401-1033
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Price Range: $68 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — American Quality Lodge Panama City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your American Quality Lodge Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Quality Lodge Panama City Hotel Panama City
Valu Hotel Panama City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from American Quality Lodge Panama City staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Detroit, Michigan

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from American Quality Lodge Panama City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 108 was amazing”
 of 5 bubbles xxbriscgirlxx, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there”
 of 5 bubbles kathyhansen38, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Get a pool side room, most of the extended stay guest are on the back side.”
 of 5 bubbles Jana3129, 13 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here!!!”
 of 5 bubbles mmc3337777, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Stay on the front side of the hotel if you can. The back side is facing a residential neighborhood. If you go with the effeciency styled rooms, bring your flip flops because that side is sandy.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesmV1351MR, 13 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay