We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunbird Suites

Hotwire.comUS$155*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunbird Suites
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 186: English reviews
Start your review of Sunbird Suites
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stay away from this place. We rented through VRBO, the pictures in the add and the room that we checked into we completely the opposite. The room was terrible. The furniture was old and stained, ceiling tiles were missing, carpet was dirty, food crumbs underneath the couch. Thank goodness the management company relocated us to a much better place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Independently owned units can differ dramatically and if issues arise a solid management Co is crucial. For instance, the air conditioning for the West tower is under repair resulting in no AC for 9 days. A reputable Co can find other accommodations in the other tower or an alternative property. Another example; Sunbird 1107 E is nice enough, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1JustKat
ResortCollection, Manager at Sunbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, yes there are other management companies that manage different units at the Sunbird Suites and also other owners that manage their own units. We thank you for your cautionary advice and hope you give us a chance for your next vacation. Thank you again and have a great day!

Elgin, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second time staying at the property and normally it is nice and quiet with a good location. Unfortunately we were down for bike week and the weather was unseasonably cold so it wasn't fun this time around instead noisy and busy. But again the Condo was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joefirm01
ResortCollection, Manager at Sunbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, I do apologize for the untimely cold front and the loud thunder beach. Thunder Beach is a very big 3-4 day event that happens twice a year in Panama City Beach and I just wanted let you know for your next vacation planning. Again, I thank you for your comment and hope you...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Experience overall was good. housekkeping price was not included in my purchase thru Groupon, Would have preferred to know total cost when I purchased. I like to pay total cost in advance.the facility was good. It was Groupon that sold me the basic reservation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wjoh101051
ResortCollection, Manager at Sunbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, the Summit Resort is a great resort as well and is centrally located to the hot clubs and attractions on Thomas Drive. We are pleased to hear your stay was an overall good stay and hope you try Sunbird Suites next. Thank you again for your review and see you next time.

Reviewed 7 April 2017

The Air Conditioning did not work for the entirety of our stay, by wife went to the reception/ check-in desk and they informed us that it was in internal issue and they only handled issues outside of the condo. They told us to contact the number inside the room for repairs. NOTE: we were unable to contact anyone with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas C
ResortCollection, Manager at Sunbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your feedback concerning your recent stay. Unfortunately, the units at the Sunbird are managed by different rental management companies and it sounds like yours was one of them. And when this is the case, each company, who is hired by the individual condo owners, has their own maintenance teams that handle maintenance issues. The...

Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Absolutely love this condo. The grounds are 100% locked down so safety wasn't an issue. Feels great to have beach access from where we lay our heads. Good to meet new people and have fun with the ones you bring on vacation. Feels like a family environment without all of the fussing😂

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peachey35
ResortCollection, Manager at Sunbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you great review. Our 24-hour on site security is very adamant about the safety and risk management of all of our guests. We do have our private beach accesses to ensure security and safety. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself without a fuss and we hope to continue that experience on...

Whitefish, Canada
Reviewed 26 March 2017

very nice view enjoyed our stay clean room enjoyed our wfi all pools need to be heated they were to cold hot tub would have been nice did not get proper arrival iinformation location very good were able to walk lots places friendly people indoor pool would be nice thank you for a great holiday

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sport2000
ResortCollection, Manager at Sunbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are conveniently located to Walmart for grocery shopping needs, restaurant, shopping outlets, and bars/clubs. We thank you for your comments and we will ensure to pass along proper information during our checking in process and hope to satisfy your needs on your next stay. We thank you again for choosing Sunbird Beach...

Reviewed 12 February 2017

Beware, off season is when all painting and repairs are done. The workers were loud, rude and messy. The room was dated and living room furniture was very uncomfortable. That being said, the view was great, the beach beautiful and the other guests very friendly. There is no wifi

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dianna S
ResortCollection, Manager at Sunbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I do apologize on behalf of the on-site management company for the inconvenience and behavior of the workers. We do these repairs during off season due to low traffic and occupancy rates. Please feel free to give us a chance and let us know what we can do for you during your next vacation...

Palm Bay, Florida
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Loved our view! Never had any problem with the staff. The lady at the HOA desk was polite. For being, what we were told was, the oldest condo in PCB and the first one there, it was in very good shape. Enjoyed the swings on the beach and the grills and the heated pool! I would add a jacuzzi or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vcntrygrlv
ResortCollection, Manager at Sunbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so for your fantastic review. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Sunbird Resort. Sunbird is one of the original resorts on the beach, but offers fantastic views and comforts of home. Sincerely hope to have you as our guests during your next trip to Panama City Beach.

Tyler, Texas
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Booked a top floor (12) one bedroom and was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. There are plenty of places to shop and eat within walking distance. Three pools, tennis court, shuffle boards and a workout room. It's located right on the beach so you just walk outside and your right there. White powdery sand awaits you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry_Lin_Reynolds
ResortCollection, Manager at Sunbird Suites, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your wonderful review. I represent the on site management company and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time!

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
1.0 km away
Top of the Gulf Suites
Top of the Gulf Suites
#73 of 83 in Panama City Beach
137 reviews
0.4 km away
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Resort
#16 of 83 in Panama City Beach
306 reviews
0.2 km away
Laketown Wharf Resort
Laketown Wharf Resort
#19 of 83 in Panama City Beach
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Majestic Beach Towers
Majestic Beach Towers
#17 of 83 in Panama City Beach
628 reviews
0.3 km away
Shores of Panama Resort
Shores of Panama Resort
#75 of 83 in Panama City Beach
209 reviews
1.3 km away
The Summit Condominiums
The Summit Condominiums
#60 of 83 in Panama City Beach
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Sunbird Suites

Address: 9850 S Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4248
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Price Range: $188 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunbird Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Sunbird Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Hotel Panama City Beach
Sunbird Condominiums Panama City
Sunbird Condos Panama City Beach Fl
Sunbird Panama City
Panama City Beach Sunbird
Sunbird Suites Panama City Beach, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunbird Suites staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Albany, Georgia
28 days ago
Hackleburg, Alabama
1 month ago
Ottawa, Canada
4 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Sunbird Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Tip, pay a little more and stay at a nicer place. NOT worth it.”
C4812NYthomasc, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“get ocean view”
sport2000, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here!”
A7077JVsc, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in 601W!”
W6088KIemilyp, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The view from 11th floor was the best!!!! The owner was very nice to deal with!”
beatle000, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$155* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$155
HotelsClickUS$158
getaroom.comUS$155
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates