We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 411: English reviews
Start your review of The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
 Click to rate
Parma, Italy
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was my 3rd time at the Wrightington and there is a noticable difference to my first stay, which was approximately 2 years ago. The room itself was OK, not very big, but tidy and the bed was comfy. However, the bathroom had not been cleaned very well judging by the quantity of hairs around the toilet area and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here on Thursday night with my other half for a quick break away and it was great. Relaxing, a beautiful room and really friendly staff. The spa was clean, thankfully it was nice and quiet too, and the staff were friendly. We'll definitely be back soon. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weymo81
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, your comments are very much appreciated and will be passed on to the team. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind Regards,

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 1 night. The room was very well presented and comfortable. We used the leisure facilities, but had to get towels from our room as they didn't have any at the leisure club. The evening meal was excellent. At breakfast we decided to have smoked haddock. We were surprised to receive such a large piece of fish. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liz e
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope very much to welcome you back in the near future. I will certainly feedback to the leisure team about the lack of towels, my apologies for the inconvenience caused. Regards,

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
12 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend visiting the area for a wedding. The location is great, facilities where good - gym and pool are better than most 'hotel gyms'. Check in was at 3pm which is quite late conversely check out was at 10am on a Sunday! We found this antisocial. Staff where pleasant and helpful. Breakfast at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities. With regards the price of breakfast I can assure you that we are very competitively priced with other 4 star hotels locally and regionally. We certainly do welcome all suggestions that our customers have, if you have the...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for a night for a family 40th room was smartly decorated and the beds are really comfortable staff were very friendly and helpful food was exceptional would highly recommend a stay in this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyacky
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Mr & Mrs Atkinson, We are thrilled you had such an enjoyable time and are very grateful for you leaving us such a lovely review of the hotel. We really hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards,

manchester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I really like this hotel, luxurious rooms, fantastic restaurant & bar and a large well equipped gym with pool. Only slight disappointment is that breakfast does not match the high standards of the restaurant; selection is narrow, staff are not as skilled as restaurant staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sparko100
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and kind words, we are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately I am unable to see when you stayed with us from you Tripadvisor profile but I can advise that we have recently enhanced our breakfast offering substantially. We offer a Full English hot buffet and many items such as...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night, the room was beautifully decorated and very clean. It had a small balcony overlooking the courtyard and was very quiet. I had room service and the food was very good. The only negative is that the room was extremely cold. I had the heating turned all full all evening and still needed a fan heater, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank balimoon
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to receive your very positive account of your stay with us, thank you very much for reviewing The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club. We must apologise however that you didn't find the room temperature to your liking but we are pleased that the issue was dealt with promptly. We hope that you return to the...

cumbria
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here mid week in an executive double room. Reception staff were friendly but there was confusion over when we were meant to pay, either on arrival or departure? The room was a nice size with all the usual amenities. I got a couple of drinks in the afternoon, first from the bar downstairs but then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaisieMooD
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. On occasion the location of breakfast does change due to private hire of certain areas, you really should have been informed upon check in though? Our sincere apologies if this was not the case and I...

Ashton in Makerfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came for a couples spa break which included a back massage each, use of leisure facilities, three course meal, room and full English breakfast. We were not happy with the first room they gave us there was a musty smell in there. We asked to be moved at reception and they did without hesitation to a much nicer room on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathrynpotts
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club. We are delighted to hear that you will be returning soon and that you have enjoyed your stay. We very much appreciate the things you have raised, please be assured we are looking in to them. We certainly appreciate hearing your rounded review as this...

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Didn't realise how nice this place actually is. Managed to book a double room for our staff admin team Christmas night out. The Christmas party could have been better as it felt like we had just been crammed into a small room with lots of others . The bedroom itself was big, with one of the most comfortable beds I've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joannemarshall890
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Ms Marshall, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, I'm delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that we were able to offer you a later checkout. With regards the Christmas party night, we were exceptionally busy this year but I am sorry you felt a little cramped, I will pass on...

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightington
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
4.5 km away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
4.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 km away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
897 reviews
7.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lancashire Manor Hotel
22.1 km away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club is set in picturesque countryside, yet just seconds from Junction 27, M6. This modern 73-bedroomed hotel offers award-winning cuisine, extensive conference/banqueting facilities and boasts one of the finest leisure clubs in the North West with indoor pool, gym, sauna, steam room, aerobics, hair salon and beauty salon. With an elegant reception, foyer area and landscaped courtyard...the perfect venue for business and pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club

Address: Moss Lane | Wigan, Wrightington WN6 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wrightington
Price Range: $96 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wrightington Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Wigan
Wigan Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
merseyside
9 months ago
Blackpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Blackpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Blackpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back by the Gym very Quiet”
 of 5 bubbles carolineLancashire, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask staff to heat room before arrival!”
 of 5 bubbles Yamahar1, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Accessibility not too good if you have no one with you.”
 of 5 bubbles 883avisl, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't book a room here if you have someone with a disability in your party, you'll regret it.”
 of 5 bubbles downrightjas, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Top floor room if you are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles victoriac840, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5